We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a change !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pangat

Pangat
Nancy Colony, Borivali East | Radhe Govinda Building, Mumbai (Bombay) 400066, India
+91 22 2967 5522
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,729 of 6,768 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: $5 - $10
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Nagpur, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not bad for a change !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

On the way to Sri Lanka . Visiting younger brother at Mumbai . He took us to Pangat Restaurent at Biriville.East .
I had Chicken thali .
Kokani food is a bit spicy as it is supposed to be .
Chicken was stringy and hard to chew . On complaint one more helping with two pieces of chicken was served on the house . Unfortunately one of those pieces also turned out as bad as the previous ones !!!
Priti had ordered Fish Thali .
Malwani preprations .

I had chapaties , she had vadas .

It is better to order fish thali and vada rather than chicken thali & chapaties .

Busiess like atmosphere . You come, you order , you eat & you leave :-)

O K for a change ,

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not Recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After hearing a lot about Pangat (Borivali East) & seeing customers waiting outside for their turn ,I decided to check it out once. My experience was not good at all. They are specialised in Malwani/ Konkani sea food. Ambiance is average. It’s not spacious as they have tried to accommodate maximum seating in the available area. Food is reasonably priced , however below average in taste. Everything that I ate was excessively oily & spicy. Tanduri Pomfret was nothing but a burnt fish, I could see only fish bones left in it to eat. Chicken was full of garam masala & more than chicken I could taste only garam masala. Those who eat/cook sea food at home frequently will never eat fish here. Customers waiting outside pangat ,always make me wonder why would anyone wait for long to eat sad food. Surprisingly I have seen customers waiting on many occasions. Well not everything is bad , I love their Tanduri Chicken & order it frequently. Their Chinese food is horrible. To conclude if you are experienced sea food lover then please avoid this place, there are better choices like Gazali, Mahesh lunch Home. If you stay near around Pangat & need a break from cooking at home then order for home delivery of Dal Khichadi & Tanduri Chicken , it will make a good meal for you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The restaurant closes at 0330 PM, at noon and we arrived at 0250PM. The staff were in a hurry to close, yet courteous in all ways. The restrooms were clean. We ordered sea food and it was served in a jiffy. The food was good and reasonably priced. the restaurant though is a bit small, and we used the A/c section, which is a bit quieter that the non-ac area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
514 reviews 514 reviews
460 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“For Seafood lovers, Veggies stay away.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Pangat located on Gorai road serves authentic Malwani food.It is well known for its seafood.The ambience is reasonably good. Though its predominantly a nonveg & Malvani food joint it also serves punjabi & Chinese dishes I had for a long time avoided this restaurant inview of it being a non veg specialty one.and was surprised to see so many veg options. I ordered "Valchi Usal" and "Vade". For dessert we had Kharwas a milk preparation.In all it was a mixed experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Strictly Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I am a big fan on malvani restaurants and I make it a point to keep trying all the new (small/big) joints that keep coming up in and around where I stay.

I bumped into Pangat by chance, but then made it a regular habit to visit it for weekday lunches until I had tried all their dishes.

+es:
- Decent choice of malvani dishes
- Good choice of punjabi and chinese to go by for the odd one out in your group who does not like malvani food
- Fresh meat on Sundays

-ves:
- Meat quality not so good on weekdays (meat is rubbery and tough)
- The overall ambience, taste, service and quality is strictly average and there is no usp around its offerings

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pangat also viewed

Navi Mumbai, Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Pangat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pangat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.