We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Butter full Pav Bhajji” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sardar Refreshments

Sardar Refreshments
166A, Tardeo Road Junction, Near Kailash Picture Company Private Limited, Tardeo | Opposite Bus Depot, Tardeo, Mumbai (Bombay) 400034, India
(+91) 22 23530208
Improve this listing
Ranked #637 of 9,667 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Butter full Pav Bhajji”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

If you want to eat pav bhajji punjabi style then this place is best. The service is quiet poor and takes around 30-40 min to serve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    42
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Huge slab of butter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nothing beats the huge slab of butter in the pav bhaji but the quality seems to have gone bad.

Hygiene conditions are pathetic. So take away seems to be the best option. Or if eating there, make it quick

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Open more branches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Although it's a long wait it's worth waiting for. Best pavbhaji in Mumbai although the pavbhaji floats in butter. It's a hole in the wall with limited seating arrangement.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The quality is not half as good as it used to be!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I've been visiting this place since 2008 and once in a while i still do visit it , but i must admit that their quality and taste is no more the same
The service is pretty slow , if you call for a masala pav they take about 30mins to serve the same!
The prices have gone up and the taste and service do not match the prices!
A total disappointment is what i'd call my last visit to sardar pav bhaji!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oonchi Dukan,Pheka Pakwaan !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After getting lots of reviews and recommendations, our group of friends visited this place. The first issue we faced was the car parking, considering this joint is very near to the main junction and very busy all the time of the day.
Post managing the parking somehow, we entered the place around 8pm on weekday. The place was completely packed and soon all vacant seats got occupied. The concept of individual table doesn’t exist at this place, if your table has any empty place be sure someone would be joining you soon. Hence those who are looking for privacy should simply avoid this place.
We waited for approx 10 minutes before someone came to take our order. Till that time we have just waited and could not see any one to place order. The waiter arrived without menu card and told us that they have only Pav-Bhaji to serve, but later on, on our request he handed over the menu card which was not in very good condition (understood why he was not carrying it at first place!!).
After approx. 10-15 minutes of our order we got plate of Bhaji, as expected, the butter was floating on it, and after one minute we got our Pav’s, they too were drenched in butter. Our first reaction was that the Bhaji and Pav both were cold and the way Bhaji got served was not at all presentable.
The reason of such wait and cold serving of Pav-Bhaji was the prepration of them. The shop prepares the Bhaji and serves it to all at a same time like ‘Langar’. You can assume around 30-40 people sitting there and all are getting served together with Pav-Bhaji, and post completion of your batch, new batch of 30-40 people will sit and have Pav-Bhaji.
The taste of the Pav-Bhaji was not very exceptional but it was good and can be tried once. They put lot of butter in Pav-Bhaji and they have common Bhaji, so by default you will get butter even if you ask for no butter or less butter. You can get the Pav’s without butter, so people who are concerned about their waist-line, should be cautious. But putting extra butter in Pav-Bhaji is their USP and they do that very lavishly.
Food was good but service was not at all good, overall the experience was not very great and I would term it as “Oonchi Dukan,Pheka Pakwaan”.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardar Refreshments also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Sardar Refreshments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardar Refreshments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.