We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great interiors, fantastic location..just about ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord

Gaylord
Veer Nariman Road | Churchgate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
022-2821269
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 9,668 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cuisines: Indian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great interiors, fantastic location..just about ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The ambience and the look and feel is good. Add to that the location (just near to the fantastic Marine Drive). The food is nothing great but pretty ok. A bit on the pricier side. Worth a try though

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    101
    35
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An indian restaurant in Mumbai, full of Locals - RESULT !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After a lifetime of curries eaten around the world, when we visited Mumbai I was pretty nervous about how having one 'on home turf' to be honest. No need we had an amazing lunch where my wife & I were the only westerners in there & it was packed full of locals. We had a set lunch , which was more like a banquet & the service was amazing. A lifetime memory to stay with me for ever. Gaylord came on recommendation from a friend who visited in the sixties......

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Lovely interior but food wasn't great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were staying on Marine Drive and wanted to find a place for dinner. Our hotel suggested walking up the road where Gaylord is, and when we saw it my husband remembered reading about it in the guide book, so we went in. (The other restaurants in the vicinity were not enticing.)

The outside was rather miserable where they seated us. The waiter said the inside was full. No idea why he said that because when we said we didn't like sitting outside they said to come in. And there were tons of empty tables! We were seated at a lovely table against the wall where we had a great view of the whole place. And how interesting! Lots of Indian families out to dinner. Didn't feel touristy at all. Lovely chandeliers and generally an air of a well-kept restaurant with comfy seating. We really enjoyed the interior!

We ordered the chickpeas in a sauce (I don't remember the name of the dish) and corn in coriander and mint. Both were not good at all. The sauces were grainy and both tasted the same. I was expecting a big contrast between a Channa (chickpea) dish and the other with mint and coriander, but no, they tasted the same: of too much cumin and not much else. Very disappointing. And the corn was hard like dried maize.

We did, however, notice the table next to us eating the creamed spinach and the paneer, and these were both dishes suggested by our waiter, but we had eaten so much paneer in the days before that we wanted something different. The table next to us polished off their food, so perhaps it's best to go with the waiter's suggestion?!

Even though the food wasn't great, the evening spent in the restaurant was very enjoyable... until we paid with a credit card. Coming from South Africa we are very aware of credit card fraud, so we were dismayed when the waiter whisked away our credit card and disappeared for quite some time. My husband eventually went off to find him in some back office where the credit card had been processed without a PIN, and this card requires a PIN! So who knows what else they could've used it for. They were adamant that there had been nothing untoward, and perhaps for locals this is the norm. But for us it put a bad taste in our mouth, and while we had thought we'd come back again the following night because we had so enjoyed sitting there, we changed our minds immediately.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food and nice staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Was there for a Beer and a sizzler.. The staff was nice and the food was tasty... the price was just right was the place and the area...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sumptous n delicious food always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

the pasta was fantastic nd the service is prompt.liked everything abt this place.close to marine drive nd walking distance to my hotel

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.