We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Decent Hotel near Mumbai airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Peninsula Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sakinaka Junction | Andheri (E), Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Pune
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good and Decent Hotel near Mumbai airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is an excellent stay for business travellers just beside Sun and Sand hotel. The recommended line of action is to make the reservation in advance. The staff is very cooperative, food in the restaurant is excellent, room service is awesome.

The hotel rooms are very neat , well maintained and are fully loaded with all the amenities needed for people travelling on business purposes like internet, stationaries etc.

I highly recommend this place for safe and no hassels hotel to stay with family for all fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    56
    29
    10
    11
See reviews for
10
16
11
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed here earlier also and I like the hotel. Its really value for money. Very good service with really competitive price. I was in business trip, but I shall recommend this hotel for family trip as well.
Breakfast was really very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

the hotel is located in the worst & the most traffic congested area of mumbai ( saki-naka) this hotel even though is a farily decent one what kills it is the location. there is absolutely nothing to do in this area and once in the hotel do not even think about heading out as you will be lost & wont know where to go or what to do . the upcoming business hub (its what this area is called) has atlest 3-5years till this part of the city develops . this hotel is OK if you are on a transit flight and have only few hours where you may just take a nap in your room...THATS ABOUT IT .

a great effort and very bold move by the owners of the hotel/property to set up here but i highly doubt it would ever last ......

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Excellent Location. One of the best Hotel in Mumbai. Excellent Staff. room, services. Good Restaurant. 25 Mins from airport and half an hour from railway station. Perfect Budget Hotel

Main market is walking distance. Perfect Location. All sort of banks are nearby

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times now and all that I can say is that I do not stay here by choice. It is a last resort if the Holiday Inn next door is full.
The rooms have a weird smell to them. Something like pine disinfectant........there are stains all over everything, and the sheets on the beds whilst clean, have gone a slightly grey color
as they are quite old. The service at this hotel is not very good at all, and particularly in the downstairs restaurant where breakfast is served, the waiters seem to battle to even speak English.
When I checked in I specifically asked that I be put in a quiet room, and was put into a poky little room on the second floor. It certainly was not quiet.....I in fact had to take sleeping tablets the first 2 nights that I was there, due to noisy guests with their TV' s at full volume at 1am and shouting/talking loudly slamming of doors etc.. When I arrived back on the 3rd night there was a huge party right below, making it impossible to even think it was creating so much noise.
This was the last straw and I was moved to a "suite", which although bigger, was no better than the original room that I was in.
One redeeming factor about this hotel, is that the second floor restaurant, called Vividh, is an absolute gem. Their western food is not great at all, but their Indian is fantastic. Particularly their kebabs and grilled food (starters). They have some of the biggest Tiger prawns I have ever seen and they are really good. The chicken grills are also pretty much all great.
I would not recommend this hotel for international travellers coming to India.
In respect of value, the rooms here are priced at about the same as the Holiday Inn across the road, and there is no comparison between the 2. The HI is like a palace compared to this dingy place.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had my wedding reception arranged and will have to tell you, the entire experience was too good. Its dam value for money and the staff is extremely polite and helpful. The ameneties are exceptional. Must say you will never realise that its right in the heart of the noisy sakinaka. Go for it people...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and not much impressed, as it is not value for money they have asked, let me make it more clear, hotel is Ok in general but if u compare the money they charge as room rent it is not value for money, internet connection is chargeable (exceptionally high), in room dining menu is killing in term of price, everything is overpriced.
Most funny part is that u don’t have to put alarm if u want to get up in the morning because walls of the room is so thin (or i guess it is just a dummy wall between two rooms) that u don’t have to put alarm by urself and u can easily woke up by alarm of the guest who is staying in the room next to you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Grand Hotel

Address: Sakinaka Junction | Andheri (E), Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Peninsula Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Peninsula Mumbai
Hotel Peninsula Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.