We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA International Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA International Guest House
Save
You added YWCA International Guest House to your Saves list
18, Madame Cama Road | Fort, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was small, had a balcony, and was clean. There is a cabinet with lock provided to lock your stuff if you wish. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Just went there to sleep, so it was fine. People mentioned rules in the previous reviews, but we were not informed of any and had no issues. We ate at the dinner buffet one night, and it was good. Breakfast was good too - omelets, toast, cereal, etc. For the price and the location, you can't beat it. They also stored our luggage for the day since our train was later that evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    77
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
40
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four have stayed four nights at the start of a month long trip and the last two nights. We did the same two years ago. We love the 'family' rooms with four beds next to each other and the balcony overlooking the socker field/school yard and with a huge tree just outside. Waking up to the sound of laughter and birds combined with the bustling streets of colaba just outside is a great mix. Friendly staff and spotlessly clean room make us longing to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I made booking for June and they want immediate payment in February

I told them, I will make payment in Mid April and they were not willing to wait

YMCA in Mumbai and Delhi don't ask for advance payment and they trust their guest who can pay on arrival.

However YWCA wants advance payment and that too over four months in advance.

Breakfast is ordinary and cold. Dinner is for name sake Dinner

There are other better options to live in this area, Hotel Residency and Hotel Diplomat are of similar costing to YWCA though dinner is included in YWCA only, but dinner at restaurants near by these hotel's and also near YWCA is worth having than dinner at YWCA

Room Tip: Standard room is better than Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room No. 205: 02.01 to 04.01.2014
Room quite small with twin beds and cupboard. TV has a "Mind Your Head" sign [that says it all]. Secured balcony provided [good for smokers]. Well lit
Good bathroom but all water seeps all over cause of faulty shower curtain placement [an inch inside the shower area would fix the problem].
Asked for wiper but not provided.
Buffet breakfast and dinner provided is highly inadequate. Lacks variety.
Timings are very stringent. Needs to be more flexible.
Reception staff friendly and helpful.
Was surprised to see Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence [Very Good].

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived at this guesthouse without booking and we waited to see if they will have a double room.Finally we got one not that we liked so much but were promised to have a better one for the same price the day after.We got a better room .But even if we take into account the breakfast and the dinner their rooms are too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have stayed here many times and it is a fine stay in Bombay The staff realy care for you from check in to check out!!!Rooms are immculately clean full of peace and most have balconies overlooking busy Madam Cama Road Includes breakfast and dinner It is god value for a fine stay in thecity where acommadation is very expensive The staff are ab lovely as well

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

As my previous stay in October 2012 was satisfactory, I came back to YWCA Mumbai in October 2013 for total 9 nights with 4 nights' interval for short trip to Kerala.

Excellent location in old Bombay atmosphere, I found this place is of great value - safe, clean and spacious room with AC and balcony, choice of food in restaurant (veg and non-veg) which changes everyday, Indian and foreign customers mixed, and even newspaper (The Times of India) at your door step daily.

Appreciated Mr Anand and staffs- front desk, floor, cleaning, restaurant and security - are all professional on their task.

I did not have any difficulty on payment on line neither.

Surely I will book this place for next visit in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Love 5th floor's main road side room with a view on National Gallery of Modern Arts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#89 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#17 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#2 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 stars 3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#5 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,873 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#25 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#57 of 402 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA International Guest House

Address: 18, Madame Cama Road | Fort, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 337 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA - International Center, Mumbai is a medium size guest house situated in the heart of the Commercial Capital of Mumbai City, a five minute walk from the Gateway of India and within short distance of the city's prime spots - Churchgate/CST Railway Stations, Nariman Point, Queens Necklace, Jehangir Art Gallery, and Museums. Apart from well furnished air-conditioned rooms,we also have fully equipped, air-conditioned conference rooms for full day and half day programs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ywca International Guest House Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YWCA International Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.