We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Ends, Life Begins.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erangal Beach, Madh Island, Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 061, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Solapur, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“City Ends, Life Begins.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I just returned home after attending a conference at on MRI at Hotel Retreat at Mudh Island in the city of Mumbai. When you look for it in the map of Mumbai city, Mudh Island is a triangular strip of land-mass that juts into the Arabian Sea like a lancet. Hotel retreat is located at the tip of this island – far away from the madding crowd of this giant among metropolitan cities. When I slipped into the ubiquitous black-yellow cab and blurted ‘Mudh Island’, the cab driver gave an incredulous look. The expression on his face seemed to wonder why on earth any body would like to book a hotel room so far off when much better hotels are available in the mainland. Little did he know that it was the organizers who chose this hotel for the conference and not me. But once you reach the hotel after a long drive through a narrow road, you will find it worth the trouble. The hotel lives up to its theme, ‘City Ends, Life begins’. The hotel staff is courteous, well-groomed and appears genuinely pleased to receive you.

The rooms are neat and tidy but the electrical wiring and plumbing need attention – lights flicker when switched on, phones crackle with annoying background noise while the taps in the bathroom look jaded and worn-out, bereft of any shine.

According to me, the chief attraction of this hotel is the swimming pool – easily one of the biggest I have seen. The cascading water-fall along with scores of seagulls, swallows and crows make swimming here an unique appearance. We had a tough time getting our 12-year-old son out of the pool! It was a delight to watch the seagulls land majestically at the edge of the pool with crumbs of seafood in their beaks and wash them in the pool water before gulping it in. These winged friends do not seem to mind sharing the pool with you at all as long as you keep a safe distance!

The convention centre is typically modern and hi-tech enough with almost perfect audio-visual experience. Two and half days of exhaustive lectures went on without a single hitch.

Now, the flip side. The all pervading stink of drying catch of fish on the beach, if one can call it a beach at all, can be really annoying. But what can the hotel management possibly do for that? It is after all a question of livelihood for the scores of fishermen who are in fact the original inhibitors of this island. Fortunately, the smell does not bother once you get into the air-conditioned cocoon of the conference hall, your rooms or the dining venues.

The hotel is in urgent need of paint from the outside – paint seems to peel off from every where.

This hotel is worth a try, in spite of the negatives – the serenity and quiet of the place makes every thing else tolerable. So, if you are tired Mumbaikar, just hop into western line local train, get down at Borivali or Malad station, hire a cab and spend a peaceful week-end before plunging back into the mad rush and din of ‘Amchi Mumbai’ on Monday morning. Good luck and have a happy week-end.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist whether phones in the room are working well and whether you can charge your cel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    55
    16
    22
See reviews for
52
31
3
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

In the mid 90's this place used to be one of the top resorts in Mumbai - it is in Mumbai and gives a feeling of being out of Mumbai at the same time.. Right next to the sea, good location, surrounded by palm trees and greenery..what more could you ask for..
Only thing, the hotel is not what it used to be earlier..The management has not paid enough attention in upgrading, maintaining the property..
Beds are hard and not very comfortable, food is average and frightfully expensive, Can you imagine an average buffet - nothing close to 5 star buffets - for Rs. 1200 + taxes.
And if you are a Gujarati / Jain or strictly vegetarian - you will not be able to tolerate the stink of the fish which is all over the hotel due to the fishermen drying fish in the area..
Just an average hyped up resort badly in need of a refurbishment..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is quite nice overall. The drive to the hotel is also interesting. The rooms are well appointed and the service is good. The only drawback is the the smell of the dried fish during the day. It can get quite strong. Though it's not there towards the evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

First the good things:
Location is excellent (bang on the beach). Far away from the city (you can laze around in peace). Swimming pool looks good from the room window.

The bad ones!
Difficult to get conveyance (to and fro). There is no travel desk. In case you need a cab, the receptionist gives you a OLA cab number and you have to fend for yourself or you are at the mercy of the security who will try to get one cab or a rickshaw passing by the hotel.
Erratic network connectivity (both mobile and internet). Mattresses are poor and you can actually feel the springs in it!!! Food is extremely expensive, Buffet - 1200++ per head (single meal)!! Breakfast menu is very limited and the quality is average. Very limited TV channels (DTH).
Don't be surprised if the receptionist asks you for a security deposit even after you have paid the entire room rent in advance. This to me seemed like they must have had some bad experiences in the past where the guests would have run away without paying for the F&B (pun intended!!).
All in all, if you want to remain cut-off from the world and want to laze around and don't mind spending a bomb for nothing, then this surely is a place to be.

Room Tip: Scenery/Sunset from the pool facing room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings,

Thank you for staying at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, Mumbai and for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your constructive comments and rest assured, the gaps highlighted through your feedback have been carefully noted. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of all our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our discerning guests.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused and would request you to give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit.

Look forward to receiving you at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, Mumbai.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Well this place is not that bad.
A. The stink around is bad but then one gets used to it. The stink
Is due to drying of fish by local folks outside the hotel walls towards the beach side.
B. the pool is good size, but once in awhile you might find the pool surrounded by seagulls!

The place is fairly green. Sea beach is fairly clean but once can't get into water as the waters are rough as we'll dirty.
So when you go to this I resort, you can't use the beach. Pool is ok. Due to stink you can't laze out much.
I am was told my management that in jan to April the stink is less as the wind direction changes.

Rooms are fairly ok sized.
A gym is existing and is functional.

Room Tip: Look for pool facing rooms on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, Mumbai as your accommodation choice and for taking the time to share your compliments with us.

It is heartening to note that you had an overall pleasant stay and appreciated the hotel and its facilities. Your feedback is most rewarding as it is our endeavour to ensure that our guests have memorable experiences each time they stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope that Retreat Hotel Mumbai remains your preferred hotel on all your future visits to Mumbai.

With Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited the Retreat in November 2013. Our group consisted of my wife and 12 year old daughter.
On arrival we were greeted by the front office staff and the front office Manager Mr. Gill who from the outset were polite, friendly and could not do enough for us.
The staff of the coffee-shop and restaurant were very polite, friendly and very attentive. The food was excellent and served up a good variation of vegetarian and non-vegetarian food. For guests looking for non-spicy or mild food the a-la-carte menu did provide suitable choices.
The pool and surrounding areas were well maintained and staffed by friendly staff. It was excellently located with an open air Jacuzzi adjacent to it.
The rooms were immaculate and well serviced by the house-keeping staff. The views of the sea and pool were fantastic and watching the sunsets every evening was magical.
The proverbial ‘elephant in the room’ was the much mentioned overpowering smell of fish during the day. This depends on the direction of the wind and generally it is strongest between noon and 4pm. It is a good example of land and sea breezes occurring during the day. However there was one day that the smell did not exist at all. This was as a result of a northerly wind that persisted for most part of the day. As a person grown up not far from a fishing village, this was not too much of a problem for us.
In general our stay was extremely enjoyable, comfortable and we will return in a heartbeat if circumstances permitted.
Our great appreciation to all members of staff in the various departments and a word of admiration to members of the Management team lead by Mr. Alves who made the whole operation seem seamless and effortless yet highly enjoyable.
It is a place easily accessible and not too far from the noisy city and suburbia of Mumbai and is meant for a relaxing stress-free time. It was a a true Retreat for us. Well done to all involved. You should all be proud for the service and experience you offer at the Retreat ! Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Retreat Hotel, Mumbai.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that you have taken fond memories of your stay with us.

Your feedback is very encouraging and will inspire us to continue creating moments of joy for our guests.

It is very encouraging to learn that The Retreat Hotel, Mumbai will be your preferred hotel in Mumbai.

Thank you for recommending us. The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to The Retreat Hotel, Mumbai.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Was at this place for a short diwali break.
The place would have been great but for its location. As you approach the resort and get down from your car, a terrible stink envelopes you and the stink is there for you the whole day...

The biggest disappointment with this resort is the stink of drying fish all around. You cannot stand the stink if you are a vegetarian. The main drawback of the stink is that you will not wander out towards the poolside which is very well laid out & maintained.

The pool is refreshing with nice fall and kids slide.
The rooms are well appointed. but beaware of the service which ranges from terrible to poor.

We were a group of 20 pax (including children) and deceived to have our dinner at their main restaurant which serves Indian food. We were utterly disappointed by the quality of the food and worst, the service. It was so disappointing that the last reply from the incharge that they had exhausted vegetables and are unable to serve any longer.

In all, will not like to visit this place again. And personally am of the opinion that The Resort, which is located 3 Kilometers before this place is a much better place.

Room Tip: The Pool view rooms are advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre Mumbai.

We appreciate your detailed observations and assure you that we take all feedback most seriously. At Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, Mumbai we ensure that our product and services continue to meet the highest standards to make your stay more comfortable. However in your case it seems we were unable to satisfy your expectations.

I apologize for the inconvenience caused and would request you to give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next visit.

Look forward to receiving you at The Retreat Hotel& Convention Centre, Mumbai.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Erangal Beach, Madh Island, Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 061, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#57 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre you are ready for the action even before you unpack. Because no other holiday destination rejuvenates you so completely. It’s fun and entertainment all the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Retreat Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.