We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chech before check inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Erangal Beach, Madh Island, Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 061, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Jaipur, India
1 review
“chech before check inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed in hotel 5-8 may,13 for a conference , we booked through their sales office, they never told about stinky fish smell all part of hotel except lobby and rooms area.
do not visit april to june as hotel staff self confirmed these days fishers use to dry fished on the beach adjoining to htoel pool side. water in bathroom very saltee even not useable for brush and gargle.
limited services over all worse experience

Room Tip: 5th floor pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    55
    16
    22
See reviews for
52
31
3
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The property by itself is awesome but the moment you step out of the room you have a stinky fish smell to bother you.The rooms are ok but the bathroom needs attention.saline water in the faucets is annoying.overall one must avoid this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Why Bad:
Booked the place in advance confirmed the room but some how a rude welcome to find out that only a double bed available instead of single queen size. on top to make it worst my wife stepped on a small piece of glass nothing serious though, i guess somebody just did a bad job at cleaning the place.

wanted to have a soak in the tub found the tub full with brown water. didnt meet expectation abit dissapointed, there lots more but fed up of complaining.

Rooms Facilities: The switch over room after requesting reception was much better.

Food: overall average.

Service: overall ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had sizzlers at their restaurant, forget the name of the restaurant though. It took a long time for the waiters to understand what exactly I wanted. Only two choices were available and the waiters didn't have any details of the ingredients. It a.so took more than 45 minutes for the sizzlers to be served. The taste was nice..however there were hardly any vegetables. Would not recommend sizzlers at the Retreat

Room Tip: Please be prepared for a really long wait unless you plan to have the buffet. Might as well place th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place has the aspirations and the amenities to be a Five Star establishment, but does not have the management to be one. Sometimes we did not have hot water, the door was stuck and needed help to open, the key-cards frequently stopped working, the water for shower was salty and so you can't wash well, they ask to pay extra for Internet (Rp 100 per hour)!!!! Who does that? Evey hotel has that for free. The straw for me was when they vacuumed the corridor at 7 am. Who does that? A hotel is first of all a place where one goes to sleep and waking one's guests this way is a big deal. The hotel fills its rooms with conference-goers that make merry at night, so that noise will keep you awake at night.

I thought that maybe all of the managers need to go and stay in a 4 star hotel a then in 5 star in the US/EU to see what it feels. Obviously they do not know how it feels. At this point I need to mention that a three star hotel in US has a cleaner bathroom and towels.

One thing to note here is that they got the pricing of a Five Star Hotel. That much they know how to do.

If you stay here, you are trapped. There is nothing to see or do in the area. Driving out to Downtown is a pain. It takes more than an hour and sometimes two.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Peaceful and natural ambiance. Located in a silent zone near the sea. Rooms facing the sea gives you a relaxed environment after the stressful day. The journey to the location may not be that good but the stay will be enjoyable. Be ready to smell fishy some time!!!

Room Tip: Select the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Apropos some comments made by certain travellers about this very beautiful hotel is so prejudiced and acerbic that one is left aghast to say the least. I, for one, can vouch that we had the most memorable vacation in the longest time.
Well, it all started when we were scouting for a quick getaway hotel within city limits, that we were recommended this property by a dear friend. We had booked 5 pool facing rooms from 15th till 19th March comprising my own family, friends and cousins from overseas. We checked-in not knowing what to expect but during our stay we were blown away by the warm and impecabble hospitality we received and let me share with all that this vacation was worth every cent we spent and more.
The staff were courteous, helpful at all times and eager to make us feel at home. The food was delectable and we relished every morsel of it.
One distinct experience was forever tattooed in my mind was when my 5 year son took ill all of a sudden in middle of the night which got us all panicked. As expected, I called the duty manager to explain the situation. He most politely informed that the doctor would be summoned at the soonest and assuaged my tense nerves. And there I was wondering which good soul would come at this very unearthly hour when the doctor breezed in no later than 10 minutes escorted by the manager. The doctor immediately set upon his diagnosis and a while later told us all is OK and that he would be fine by morning...much to our relief. When morning came, the VP of the hotel paid a visit to our room to ask after my son with a box of chocolates and cookies. We were so very deeply touched by this simple yet humane gesture.
This only went to make our stay all the more memorable and we look forward to coming back again at the next available oppurtunity.
And to all the Doubting Thomas...I say, go figure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Erangal Beach, Madh Island, Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 061, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#57 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre you are ready for the action even before you unpack. Because no other holiday destination rejuvenates you so completely. It’s fun and entertainment all the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Retreat Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.