We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in the busy Linking Road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Castle

Hotel New Castle
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel New Castle
355, Linking Road | Khar West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India (Bandra West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in the busy Linking Road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

On 24 December 2010 we arrived for the first time at the Hotel New Castle. My wife (Sahida) and I shared a deluxe room and our friends (Krish, Denise & Colleen) were allocated the hotel's single Suite. The tariffs were very realistic and this hotel offered value for money right up to our check out date on 30 December 2010. Our initial bookings were done via email and a very pleasant and extremely helpful lady , Miss Zerin Java, assisted us in securing our bookings. The front desk staff, Mr Godfrey and Mr Pawar, offered assistance upon request. The hotel staff , especially a Mr John, were of great help. This hotel boasts one of the busiest restaurants, ONLY PARATHAS, that we have seen. A sign of good food is when locals queue for tables during lunch and dinner. Another cosy, restaurant/bar is the BANANA LOUNGE. All in all - a super hotel. We look forward to spending December 2011 at the Hotel New Castle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

This was my first stay here and i liked firstly the proximity to Linking road mkt, also to the airport and the western railway station - Bandra / Khar.

The hotel was clean and had a quite, peaceful time there during my stay.

In-room dining food was great, value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This is a small hotel in Khar, on Linking Road, which I have stayed on short trips to Mumbai over the last 15 years. The rooms are small but have all the basics in place - clean rooms, clean bathrooms, clean sheets and towels and a convenient location, not far from the domestic airport and in the middle of a shopping district. The rooms come at a very reasonable price in a city that is not all that inexpensive when it comes to hotel rooms. They give you a very good Indian or Continental complimentary breakfast.

It is exceptional in that it houses some nice restaurants, which you don't expect in a small hotel - the vegetarian "Only Parathas", which, as the name implies, has a huge range of parathas on the menu; "Tangy Tamarind" , where I found some interesting eastern stuff and the "Banana Bar", well stocked, but a bit too noisy for my taste.

The staff are friendly and the service is good. Good value for money

My JP No is 100028482

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — rooms are very small
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel New Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Castle

Address: 355, Linking Road | Khar West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Bandra West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel New Castle to your Saves list