We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with clean facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kumkum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kumkum to your Saves list
Hotel Kumkum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   165, Lamington Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 007, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Price !!!
Ranked #63 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Good hotel with clean facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening and were very much satisfied with hotel. The room was clean and staff were well mannered. Good hotel with basic amenities.... Would recommend strongly to others..........................................


Rajesh was very helpful and accommodating.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you Manoj for the great review. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
37
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

the rooms were very clean and the water was hot! there is a water heater in the room, so you control your water! the rooms were cleaned nicely whenever we asked. BUT the rooms are VERY small. we had no window. on the other hand, we often had wifi due to the rooms location near the reception. the staff is VERY helpful!!!! we never ate in the restaurant- so we can't comment. towels are very thin, but we had our own- which we left them as it was our last stop in India.

Room Tip: rooms closer to reception have chance of wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Linda

Thank you for the great review. We do have the smaller cheaper rooms and bigger rooms also available and hope you would try them on your next visit with us.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We checked into Hotel Kumkum as a 12 hour stopover – after a long train trip and before an international flight home. My email communication with them prior to booking was simple and easy. The staff when we arrived were efficient and friendly (and spoke English well!) The room and ensuite clean and tidy.
We ate at their in-house café and had a great selection of light meals, snacks and drinks to choose from.
The staff had a good knowledge of the local area /pricing / and taxi route times so we could venture forth to explore in our limited time with greater confidence. We also wanted to buy a sitar and the owner researched and pointed us successfully in the right direction.
We enjoyed our brief time with you Hotel Kumkum !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Wendy

Thank you for the great review. We're always happy to go that extra step to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.
Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently stayed for 1 night in the hotel and found good services with delicious food available on roof top. The staff are customer friendly. One can go for rooms according to their choices but ask for split AC room as the window AC room had noise of AC compressor.

I would stay in future too.

Room Tip: Go for the Split AC room and make advance booking at least 1 week in advance as the hotel goes full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Manish

Thank you for the good review. See you again soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Not a good experience, had to wait for some 2 hours in the lounge for my room. The hotel allows guests to smoke cigarettes in the apartments, they have a "device" to clear the smoke which does not work at all. I felt like sleeping in an ashtray.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Rui

I am sorry you did not have a pleasant stay.
Our check in time is 11am as it was clearly mentioned in your booking. You arrived at the hotel at 7:20 am and by your own account got the room in 2 hours. So we gave you your room by 9:30 am which is 1.5 hours before the check in time anyway. I believe we should be appreciated for that not complained about that you had to wait 2 hours. I believe that is unfair.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a good value for the money, very friendly and helpful staff. WiFi is only in lobby and rooftop cafe, though. Neighborhood isn't the best, but we didn't feel unsafe. Would reccomend to friends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Brian

Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you and your friends soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Only £16 a night for a clean tidy hotel with friendly staff, who can complain. I have no complaints at all. The staff were very helpful, the food was excelent. If you have a problem or need help just ask the staff they will do their best to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

We definitely hope to see you again.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kumkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumkum

Address: 165, Lamington Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kumkum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kumkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kumkum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.