We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avon Ruby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Avon Ruby to your Saves list
Hotel Avon Ruby
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87, Naigaon Cross Road | Dadar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
13
11
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Situated very close to dadar east station.... Mediocre hotel,but well maintained rooms,good room service and food..... Ideal for business visits alone..... Not a three star hotel as they claim it to be... Parking can be a problem...situated in a very busy street which can be a boon or bane.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonruby, General Manager at Hotel Avon Ruby, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for your valuable feedback we will try to do our best
in future , will see you again & all the best
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Extremely basic hotel with mediocre rooms if you want a cheap Hotel in that part of the city [Dadar, Central Mumbai]. Rooms were decently big for a mini stay and you can get reasonable service for the amount you pay.

The location of this hotel is extremely poor as it sits right in the middle of crowded market place. Parking and driving around can be very painful.

[PS: I had taken this Hotel for a very short stay during my wedding to get ready for me and family]

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

ok for the overnight stay very pathetic breakfast. negotiate hard you can get lunch & dinner complementary. not good for family stay. don't prefer for a long stay. very convenient for the travelers through the train. very close to dadar station.

Room Tip: Go for suite which very normal size room which 4 seator dinning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a night. First off, the A/C is not upto the mark. On asking, we were told that the A/C 'freezes' if kept at any temperature lower than 21. Lolzzzz...

Then, our A/C broke down at 11PM in the night. We shifted to the adjoining room. Pls note, A/C was fine. But then, at around 12.15AM in the night, we were suddenly woken by loud noses. Guess what, 2-3 huge rats in the room. Wow!!

We were shifted to another room again. I want to mention, that the movement from 1 room to another was not comfortable at all, as we had to move our luggage ourselves. The staff was not bothered to help with this. And we had a small baby as well. So, complete disgust.

We could finally sleep at around 2.30am. Finally.

I shared my feedback with the front desk in the morning, bus as suspected, no remorse or apology came from them.

Also, the restaurant boasts of being an A/C restaurant. But, its NOT.

This hotel is NOT recommended for a family at all.

Room Tip: Always look for hotels with actual travellers photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Excellent location, right opp. Dadar station but inside a busy lane with many shops and street vendors. It is easy to spot once you get the lane as the building is tall and has a huge sign on the roof.

Check - in was smooth but the lobby is dingy, old and smelly. The lifts are the old cages that have to be shut manually.

The room was old, the sofa had a leg missing, color TV (no LCD), bed rest stained, room smelt bad.

Why I didn't check out? Well, lack of time and the loo was refurbished and linen clean.

I got stuck because a client arranged this and I paid over 3K after a 20% corporate discount that my client gets. I am sure there are better options available for 3K around Dadar.

I didn't have the guts to experiment with the food for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was extremely basic (included in room plan).

Room Tip: Check the room before signing up. It is an old Hotel and the rooms are falling apart. The bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Only good thing about this hotel is its prime location. Railway station s only walking distance .As far as hotel facilities are concerned, rooms are very congested more like bird's nest. Cleanliness n services are also not good. The kind of tarrif they charge is in no way near its actual value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avon Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avon Ruby

Address: 87, Naigaon Cross Road | Dadar, Mumbai (Bombay) 400014, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avon Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Avon Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avon Ruby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.