We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K. for one overnight stay in Mumbai” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ashray International

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ashray International
Save
You added Hotel Ashray International to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road No 1,Near Sion Railway Station | Sion, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 022, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Altdorf
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“O.K. for one overnight stay in Mumbai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and airconditioned. But very loud! Ear plugs recommended. No elevator available. Very central location in the middle of Mumbai. Breakfast only in rooms available. Small restaurant across the street. Typical indian one!

Room Tip: Don't take a room w/o AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
2
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

As I am a westerner my expectations of a hotel experience are different from those of native Indians.

Pro:
-decent price for Bombay
- mid town location though a tad seedy at night.
-comfortable rooms

Con:
- the desk staff will pretend they understand what you are saying "yes madam fries with ketchup" and then show up with towels... Essentially they bluff.
- I gave the porter a generous tip for carrying my bag up 3 flights of stairs and then every time he came to my room after he hounded us for the same amount.
-staff will knock and then simply let themselves in. I was not fully dressed at 9am and the bellboy just waltzed in with the paper.

My suggestion is stay for the price and the room (ac, tv, shower) but lock your doors and keep your tips a polite average

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

The services are prompt & rooms clean and convinient. Though the hotel location is extremely convinient, also you get value for money you spent. However highly restricted parking area and non-availability of elevator are inconvinient. factors.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubli
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Quite Close to Sion Circle, Good for visitors coming from south, as all the buses stop at Sion Circle, convinently located. Rooms are clean. Outside tranportation is easily available. Also not very far from Airport.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

This hotel is just 800 meters away from my residence but due to the floods in Mumbai and the low-lying areas, we had to stay put for 2 days over here. The hotel is centrally located in Sion which is accessible from all the sides of Mumbai via Train or Bus. Its a simple, no frills hotel without any scenic view for a weary traveller to just stay for a night or two. Because of the high traffic congestion outside the hotel, it is not advisable for a sound sleep. A stopover place for people catching flights with a reasonable price tag is what this hotel can be termed as. Also people from Mumbai who have guests can accomodate them here as it is conveniently located in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

My husband (non-Indian), 4 year old son and I (indian) stayed at this hotel on and off for 8 nights in early January 2009. We simply needed a place to stay at night- during the days we were with my uncle just two blocks away, so the proximity was great.

Pluses: The hotel was extremely clean. No bugs whatsover. The linens felt clean and were pretty good quality. The bathroom was very clean and I had plenty of hot water. The bellboys were very nice. I felt safe in the hotel. Not a "luxury" hotel by any means but clean and nice and appropriate for the price we paid (approx 2700 rupees per night including taxes and a 500 rupee surcharge for an extra mattress on the floor for my son). oh and the room had a good ceiling fan and a working air conditioner.

Minuses- Just one- the noise!
I am not used to the noise at Sion Circle and this hotel is DIRECTLY on the circle with tons of noise and honking buses. The hotel is less than 10 feet from a huge traffic circle. To be frank, if you are from Mumbai or another large city in India, you probably won't even notice the noise. But we were not used to the honking and the traffic and even with earplugs in we had problems sleeping the first few nights. We had a better time of it when we switched our room to an internal room away from the front of the hotel- it was much less noisy.

Other-
The hotel had room service but we did not use it.

  • Liked — clean and even the small room was large enough for 3 since we were only there to sleep and shower.
  • Disliked — too close to the traffic at Sion Circle (very noisy)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We booked through an Indian contact in India - this hotel ticked all the boxes for us. We loved the room, very spacious, clean and hygenic, and above all very safe. We left every morning and when we returned, we had a clean room to come back to. Staff were efficient, helpful and willing when asked directions to places.

There were a lot of shops nearby, restaurants, cinema (important!), lively area day and night, water to buy in shops closeby, very friendly neighbourhood. Opposite to Sion train station and central link to all areas of Mumbai.

We stayed a week and we returned a month later, our preference was again the Hotel Ashray Int since this was a great hotel! and very good value too!

  • Liked — cleanliness, amenities and location - close to station
  • Disliked — no internet or pool available
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ashray International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashray International

Address: Road No 1,Near Sion Railway Station | Sion, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 022, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ashray International 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located Hotel with easy access to all types of transportion. Elegantly Furnished Modern Rooms, 24 Hours Room Service Free WiFi . ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ashray International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.