We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Dale: Highly Recommends Ascot Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Ascot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winona, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mr. Dale: Highly Recommends Ascot Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I am Mr. Dale. I travel the world internationally, as a hobby. My wife and I have stayed twice at the Ascot Hotel: for two weeks in 2011 and two weeks in 2013.

My favorite city in the world to travel to is Mumbai, India. I absolutely love the areas of Colaba and Fort. The Ascot Hotel is located in the Colaba section of Mumbai.

You can not select a better hotel in this area of Mumbai for location, quality, service, management and price.

Mr. Dale

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    120
    20
    4
    15
See reviews for
41
112
28
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed eleven nights with them after about five months. This was my third stay at the hotel, and they, as usual, offered excellent room, reliable service, and smily welcome. If you need fully air-conditioned room (many mid-range hotels in Mumbai boast their old fashioned air-cooler to be air-conditioner!), 24 hour supply of running hot water (it is rare in mid-range hotels in Mumbai), and well cleaned and spacious room, this hotel is your first choice. It is true that their room rate is at the top of mid-range hotels in Colaba. The Ascot Hotel, however, is far ahead of others in many aspects, I believe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spend quite a while reviewing hotels in Mumbai which are generally overpriced. The Ascot is a fantastic good centrally located hotel. The hotel is not too big and is in the heart of Colaba, which is the area where all of the major sites of Mumbai is. All of the sites are walkable and the walk of to Victoria Terminal is a steady 30 minutes. The hotel is literally around the corner from The Gateway of India. There are plenty of places to eat all around.

The hotel is spotless clean and the rooms were spotlessly clean, airy and pleasant to stay. The bed was incredibly comfortable. All the staff were friendly.
Wifi is available for a charge in your rooms but the hotel makes a laptop available in the lobby during the day to allow you to check emails - which was very handy.
Breakfast was a basic affair but perfectly adequate to start your day

Highly recommend a stay at this hotel to be in the heart of Mumbai

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just stayed here for 4 days , it is a fabulous hotel . Perfect location and the staff are very friendly and helpful . Can't believe it's only a 3 star . We stayed in the deluxe room which was very big , it had marble floors which kept the room so cool .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

After 7 weeks of very mixed experiences with hotels in South India we came to Hotel Ascot in Colaba - perfectly situated in the centre of tourist Mumbai. Ok - we were upgraded to a suite which was super in itself, but we also had a look at the superior room we booked and it also looked very nice and spacious. It was heaven to come "home" in the evening after a long day of sight seeing, shopping etc. to a clean, spacious room and a functioning hot shower! The bed was super big and comfortable, breakfast ok (plan enough time - 45 to 60 min if you don't want to get stressed, it all works out well in the end, but the service is not too quick).
The highlight of our stay was Mr. Jackson at the reception, who was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Although we love India and its citizens, we had the experience that 90 % of the Indians just do not listen to you - Mr. Jackson was the great exception!
When I fell sick he did all he could to help, ordering house remedies, and when that did not work he started to call up doctors at 10 in the evening... finally an also very friendly waiter form the house service walked with us through the streets of Mumbai at night time to help us to find the surgery.
We will definitely stay here again - great staff, excellent management, spacious, clean, super location.

Room Tip: Deluxe double normal size, superior double room a bit more spacious. We had the suite which was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are family with teenagers and enjoyed an excellent stay with the Ascot. It is in a great location, very clean, with modern amenities and has a complimentary breakfast. We felt very comfortable. This was amongst the best hotel we stayed at in India among 8 hotels. The front desk manned by Jackson was very professional and made helpful suggestions about sight-seeing and general advice. They also arranged reliable car transportation for our various excursions. It felt like an oasis in the midst of a hectic city. It is also reasonably priced. We would not stay anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is well-located for shopping and the main Mumbai tourist attractions. We had a clean, quiet and very comfortable room. The staff are friendly and helpful. Reliable airport transfer service. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and got one on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#50 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.