We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong with Ascot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ascot Hotel to your Saves list
Ascot Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong with Ascot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are family with teenagers and enjoyed an excellent stay with the Ascot. It is in a great location, very clean, with modern amenities and has a complimentary breakfast. We felt very comfortable. This was amongst the best hotel we stayed at in India among 8 hotels. The front desk manned by Jackson was very professional and made helpful suggestions about sight-seeing and general advice. They also arranged reliable car transportation for our various excursions. It felt like an oasis in the midst of a hectic city. It is also reasonably priced. We would not stay anywhere else next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    114
    18
    4
    15
See reviews for
37
108
25
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is well-located for shopping and the main Mumbai tourist attractions. We had a clean, quiet and very comfortable room. The staff are friendly and helpful. Reliable airport transfer service. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and got one on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location to the gateway is walking distance. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. My only gripe we had a room near reception and was a bit noisy in the evening. However beds are comfortable and breakfast had a good choice too

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We've booked deluxe room, very spacious and clean room. Service is good. Taj hotel, gateway, famous Leopold cafe and many good restaurants in walking distance. Try to avoid lunch at the hotel, food was horrible.

Tip: good earth shop (next to Taj hotel) and Khyber restaurant (bit expensive for Indian standards, but great food).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a super part of the city, with many places in walking distance. The rooms were big and comfortable.Breakfast was nice with lots of options.I'd recommend staying here -we loved having somewhere to escape the heat and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here one night in the beginning of our trip to India and again on our last night in the country. The staff was friendly and helpful - especially Mr. Jackson, who gave us good restaurant suggestions and helped us navigate the city (like telling us how much we should expect to pay for a taxi to certain destinations, so we wouldn't get ripped off). He and the other staff really seemed to care that our stay in Mumbai was pleasant, both within the hotel and out in the city. We really liked the location and appreciated how clean and quiet the rooms were. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The hotel staff are very helpful, and we received a warm welcome even though we arrived late in the evening. We also had to leave early for a flight, and were very pleased to get served with breakfast before we left. I had to check in for our flight on-line, and was permitted to use the hotel computer to carry this out - very helpful. A great place to stay right in the centre of Mumbai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#39 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.