We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy hotel - do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palms Hotel & Convention Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palms Hotel & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Palms Hotel & Convention Centre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unit 169, Aarey Milk Colony, Goregeon (east), Mumbai (Bombay) 400065, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
San Jose, California
1 review
“Crappy hotel - do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I spent the night here on New Years Eve. THREE WORDS – DON’T SAY HERE!!! They claim to be a 5 star hotel, but they were nowhere close to a three star rating. First of all, the hotel is very unkept and unclean – paint chipping everywhere, dusty, and some areas even unlit. Incomplete construction projects everywhere…kinda spooky actually. Below are the reasons as to why I think this hotel was pathetic. We checked into the hotel at 3PM. We got the villa suite that comes with a personal pool and Jacuzzi.

 As soon as we checked into our room, the room had a moldy smell
 Then we realized that the TVs in both the rooms (bedroom and living room) did not work. We called maintenance and had to wait for them to finish replacing the TVs. This took about 1-2 hrs to fix.
 Next, we realized the Jacuzzi did not work
 And there wasn’t any hot water in the bathroom. We called maintenance back again…it took them another 3 to 4 hours to try and figure out what was going on. Finally, the Maintenance guy says: “you have hot water in the wash basin.” We were so frustrated because who cares about hot water in the basin, we need hot water to bathe!
 After numerous calls to the front desk, we got frustrated and went back to the front desk and called for the duty manager. This was around 10:30PM and at this point, we were thinking of just leaving the hotel because this was just ridiculous. We had an hour to midnight at this point and were furious. The duty manager that night was the only person who apologized profusely and got us a new room. He drove us back to our room (rooms are pretty far from the front desk). He walked us into our new room and made us check if everything was OK inside the room. Little did we know that this wasn’t the end of our problems
 In the new room, again, no hot water, A/C was dripping water, Jacuzzi did not work, and NO HOT WATER! At this point, we asked the duty manager to leave us alone because we had one hr to midnight and really wanted to spend sometime together bringing in the new year by the pool. But guess what?!?!? The front door did not close!!!! Just as the duty manager left the front step, my husband had to run for him again before he drove away…the duty manager tried to shut the door, but no luck. Finally he says – “ you push from inside, I’ll pull from outside.” After the door was closed, we could not even go for a walk outside and enjoy the fireworks because we were afraid that the door would not shut since we wouldn’t have anybody to push it from outside! At this point, all of this was very frustrating! This is not how we imagined to spend our New Years Eve.

So basically, we spent around 9,000 Rs + tax around $250 just to sleep in that room that night!!! RIDICULOUS!!! The basic necessities were not fulfilled by this hotel. The next day, I complained all of this over again to the duty manager for that morning and all I got was – sorry!!!! Well, SORRY AIN’T GONNA CUT IT! They did not even refund anything. They gave us a comment card to fill out!!!! Why should I pay $250 just to sleep in that uncomfortable bed!!!!! I could not shower in that damn room because there wasn’t any hot water…how can this hotel be a 5 star hotel??? Take my advice and please do not come here!

If you want to spend $200 something just to sleep, then come to this pathetic hotel because none of the other provisions (or lack of!) works.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    32
    21
    13
    57
See reviews for
17
43
14
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

It took 30 mins for check-in, very slow service
Rooms are not in good condition. Very old, bad paint
No hot water in the showner. TV remote had no batteries
Again, it took almost an hour to check out. Very bad service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Surfed the net to find cosy & quiet in Mumbai & was fooled by the glazy pictures of rooms &surroundings. Reception was understaffed & definately not polite.Had to wait for half an hour for check in.Lobby to the villa was damp with wallpapers peeling off and lot of fungus on the walls and roof.Asthamatics will surely get an attack.Lock of the door was broken&could not be locked from inside.Whole night we slept with the fear that someone might use a duplicate swipecard &barge in.The intercom in the room was not working & had to use my cell to contact the main desk.The room was dimmly illuminated & most of the bulbs were not working.No toileteries were kept, no towels were kept.Shower was leaking from one side. Room was smelling of dampness.A/C took 3hrs to come down to 27 degrees.So called private pool was open to the road & to some other villas.It had lot of dirt &some of the wooden planks on the deck were dangerously loose' Room service is horrible and you have to call them atleast 3 times before they respond.Room service is very expensive & they charge Rs150 extra even to deliver a water bottle.Had gone with an intention of staying for three days but checked out the next day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Our corporate booked the hotel. Rooms found large enough, maintenance found moderate, great toilet accessories and a superb lounge. Food quality was also good. Hotel authorities arranged outdoor activities for us and we enjoyed our breakfast over the grass on activity field. Only thing that was negative the food items kept in mini bar of room ware very old stock.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I am sorry to write this.. But the experience was terrible.. the tv wasnt working (some signal issues) my mobile (airtel) had limited or rather no connectivity.. the door handle of the room was broken from inside and they would not have it fixed for the 2 days that i was there..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

After an airline absolutely messed up our connecting flights they arranged for us to stay at the Palms Hotel. True it is 1hour from the airport on pothole filled roads but honestly this is India. The mangers helped represent us to the airline when they were trying to take advantage of white women. Without their driver we would have missed our rescheduled flight again due to the airlines mistake!!

Lots of hot water and comfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

I had been to the hotel on a business meet and had found the place charming; especially considering the space it has available with the confined space of Mumbai city. I was housed in one of the villa which had a small dip pool attached and a good balcony. The restaurant was elegant with good décor and a decent spread in the buffet.

When I was invited to go there again I was looking forward to the trip, however the hotel has suffered badly in the last few years. Right from the check in process to the time I checked out I was left wondering why the management would waste such a great place within the city limits.

The rooms have ages very badly, with water leakage spots not being covered to the air conditioner not working. The rooms though spacious had a feel of being underused and there was staleness in the air which I could not get use to. The bathroom had fared little better, with everything working, though they were creaking along the way.

The service was non existence, with units being a little away from the main building and travelling between them can be done only using the gold buggy that the hotel provides. It took them 20 min to get a buggy to the room.

Considering getting to and from the hotel is not convenient I would have thought they would cater to the business community to keep it running, however the business center and the conference facility have aged and there are tell tale marks of touch up work which is shabbily done.

Over all an unpleasant experience and word of caution to all traveler…… venture at your own risk

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palms Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Unit 169, Aarey Milk Colony, Goregeon (east), Mumbai (Bombay) 400065, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palms Hotel & Convention Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palms Hotel & Convention Centre unveils SANCTUM where business is a celebration a place of inviolable privacy to augment your business proceedings in a calm and composed way. Palms Hotel & Convention Centre is a tranquil, relaxing and peaceful oasis right in the middle of the busting city of Mumbai. Nestled in the green belt of Mumbai, the hotel offers panoramic view of the flowered walkways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Palms Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Tower And Villas
Royal Palms Park Plaza
Hotel Royal Palms Mumbai
Royal Palms Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palms Hotel & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.