We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place tucked away minutes from the important places in Mumbai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Shalimar Hotel to your Saves list
The Shalimar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Place tucked away minutes from the important places in Mumbai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Since we stepped in the staff made sure that the experience will be a good one. The rooms are nice and cosy, all things are in place nothing to complain. Service is good and speed is fair. Their restuarant is good as well and i like the Khasta Roti much. Breakfast is also good and their pillow menu is something many five star hotels should copy about. Location is great as you are within 20 mins from major places of business and interest in Mumbai depending on the side of traffic you are.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ashish P

We thank you for the time that you have taken to provide a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and was happy with our services and facilities. We have always valued feedback from our guests, which has helped us in our constant efforts to enhance our services.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    84
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
69
50
50
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The room very clean and comfortable , Exteriors under going renovation July 2013.The location was close to the Mumbai central so it 's easy to get to both business district and sightseeing spots, have a nice pastry shop , breakfast is good with a lot of variety , some rooms like zen room are small , but comfy for single traveller. toilets clean , amenties provided. 4 star comfort. room service is a bit slow , could improve there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Azam007

Thank you for the time that you have taken to provide us a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. We have made note of your observations and will initiate action towards the same.

We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was great. A very Comfortable bed with good pillows ( pillow menu available). Spacious bathroom with rain shower and tub. It happened to be a smoking room even though I was sure I had asked for a non- smoking room. It appears that in most of India the default room is a smoking room. For the Shalimar this would be strange because the lobby and corridors are all non-smoking.

The one disappointment was that there was no complimentary bottled water in the room ( when I raised the issue the manager arranged to provide a 1lit complimentary - but this shouldn't be the case). Providing complimentary water costs about Rs. 20 and considering th price of the room that could have been absorbed in the room price. But as the staff mentioned: each hotel is free to have its own policy of what to charge and not charge!

The breakfast was quite sumptuous with a properly functioning and set toaster! A selection of Indian and western foods. I would have appreciated better service for green tea though instead of an open dangling tea bag dropped into my cup at the table and hot water added. The cup along with the water and tea bag could have been presented on a small tray or saucer.

The single elevator of the hotel is rated for 8 persons but can probably accommodate 4-5 only. Elevator is situated behind a column which could be inconvenient. The inside of the elevator is done in wood panelling. It is not properly lit and there is no mirror. One can easily feel uncomfortable in this elevator.

The rooms are not properly sound proofed and the corridor sounds come in through the door and the traffic sounds through the window, the air condition unit is very noisy.

For a 4 star hotel it could have had more amenities in the bathroom - no dental kit. We were a couple checking in- there should have been at least 4 towels and a couple of hand towels. There was a single hand towel and only 2 bath towels - one could probably ask for additional but that is not always convenient. There was only one pair of slippers even though it was a double room and of a higher category.

The hotel overall is quite good but there seems to be a bit of scrounging. as has been mentioned in other reviews: each hotel is free to have its own policy.

The hotel insisted on having all the room occupants' names on the bill instead of jut the person making and paying for the booking, and the billing address was an unknown entity which was clarified as being the on line booking agent. This was very strange as at no point in the booking process was this company and entity mentioned. The booking was done on the hotel website and the booking confirmation didn't contain the name of the 'booking' company and address. This can create problems with guests who are traveling on business as the guest company name and address are not what the guest would like mentioned. My invoice was amended only after I raised the issue and the front office received managerial approval. Again- this was justified with the : each hotel has its own policy reasoning.

Also, the hotel website needs to be updated and the room details need to be clearly mentioned or shown. If a room is carpeted it should be shown as such and, one shouldn't have to click on details to learn whether a room is a double or single room with limits on occupancy.

We stayed at this hotel upon a family member's recommendation only because it was near our business purpose and there weren't many options around. We were happy to find a hotel in this area with the quality of room offered.

As I mentioned before: clean, comfortable room amd cosy hotel with it's own unique ways.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the details of the room. 405 seemed to be a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear loboryan

We thank you for the time that you have taken to provide us a feedback of your stay with us.

We have always believed over the 50 years of our existence that guests offer the best of suggestions, that have helped us to constantly improve our facilities and services. Taking that into consideration, prices for services and facilities have been determined on the basis of surveys carried out by industry professionals. Certain amenities are offered on request, purely on past guest experiences and we try our best to offer tailor-made packages to every guest of ours. Various Special Offers are available from time to time on our website, which includes various additional services.

We thank you for the positives that you have highlighted and a few observations that does indeed give a not so positive tinge are merely guest preference related. As much as our employees are empowered to take decisions, based on guidelines provided, I hope you will also accept that certain employees do request for directions from their seniors, when they come across a situation they may not have faced in the past.

We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.

We do hope to be of service to you on your future visit to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Return visit and felt as if i had never been away. Welcoming staff who were mostly familiar faces with a homely feel. The staff are very helpful and rooms have been upgraded and maintained to very high standards. Food is excellent especially the tandoori selection and during my stay experienced Shravan food festival selection which was excellent. Excellent value for money with a downtown location in a upmarket residential area of the city with easy access to the business district. Highly recommend for both the business as well as leisure traveller.

Room Tip: Higher floors to the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear DYD_11

Thank you once again for taking time to provide a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you have had a good stay again and felt at home with us. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests.

We thank you also for recommending our hotel to other travelers, business and otherwise.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was clean and comfortable but the building itself looked old. (Actually, the lobby was quite a newly one and modernised but the room looked a little old). The location was close to the Mumbai central so it 's easy to get to both business district and sightseeing spots, but it takes about 15 minutes to get to Grant Road Station so if you think to use train as transportation it may take time (Usually using taxi is the major way so it will not be a problem, I think). I felt not big complaint for just staying. But restaurant was terrible. There are no restaurant around the hotel so I had dinner only one time but incredibly bad. And because I didn't know some of the menu (all items in the menu were written in English but I think these were came from Hindi so some items were not familiar to me), I asked something but the waiter answered unfriendly and he taught nothing for my questions. I ordered kind of potato but oil was old and had a bad smell. I could eat only one pieces. Then I ordered sandwiches and this was also bad taste. And in the morning they serves buffet every morning. Buffet was not so bad and staffs were kind than dinner time. Mostly I didn't have a complaint but restaurant was incredibly bad so I have to point only two points.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Snsk_myzk

Thank you for the time that you have taken to provide a feedback of your stay with us.

We are indeed a 50 year old hotel, having celebrated our Golden Jubilee last October. We give utmost importance to guest feedback and opinion and over the years, have renovated and upgraded all our facilities and services, and it has been an ongoing process throughout the past few decades.

We are centrally located, thereby providing easy access to both business and shopping areas quite easily. Mumbai is developing quite fast and unfortunately, it has added to the travelling woes of any individual within city limits.

We have made note of your observations at the restaurant and assure you of corrective measures. Every employee does undergo training not only in terms of how to interact with guests politely and professionally, but also on the technical know-how in their respective area of work. In the restaurant, employees are given detailed descriptions on every item in our regular menu, as well as during food festivals and promotions that take place frequently in our hotel.

We do apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I basically South Bombay, find it to be the best part of this vibrant city. Am staying here for the first time and will be back here again whenever I come to South Bombay.
Liked everything about this hotel. Tastefully decorated very functional rooms, super bathrooms and the mattresses were fantastic. The food especially the Indian was a delight and the pastry shop is fantastic. Try the sandwiches in the shop down in the lobby. Went to the salon one evening. Good service and attentive staff. The staff of the hotel were very nice. This hotel will surely be my in my list of recommended hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear AM291278

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories with you. We are pleased to note that you have expressed a desire to return.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here on a recommendation from a good friend. Absolutely wonderful stay, no complaints. Fine service, delightful staff. Good management policies. Good security measures. Lovely rooms. Very well done and tastefully done. The food was great. Do try the tandoori food, must say very good. Good location and good pricing, not expensive but 5 star facilities.
Next time I have work in South Mumbai, Shalimar it is for sure.
Try the Sandwich shop. Good sandwiches, new and unusual concept and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear AB9000544

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our facilities and services, and have expressed a desire to return. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests too.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shalimar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.