We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" A FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Shalimar Hotel to your Saves list
The Shalimar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“" A FIVE STAR EXPERIENCE "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed at The Shalimar Hotel with my wife and two daughters during my December 2012 Holidays and we had a wonderful stay!
It's an awesome hotel and very centrally located. The service was excellent. Staff were very pleasant, friendly and very attentive. Great Hospitality, always eager to help. Check in counter was very fast and efficient and our luggage was in our rooms within minutes.
The rooms are newly renovated, spotless, very comfortable and with all modern amenities. The rooms are also very well equiped with new air con, bar, fridge and flat screen TV with great channels. Bathrooms are very clean with really good water pressure. Just like a 5 star hotel!! and I have to say that they have the most comfortable mattress and pillows.
I was amazed at the huge and tasty breakfast spread ( their masala dosas are out of this world!) and also the restaurant "Gulmarg" has a very nice atmosphere and serves delicious indian food ( Butter chicken, nan and kebas were finger licking good). Room service was very very prompt and the food came hot and tasty. The bakery was reasonably priced and cheesecakes were really yummy!
The Spa was very relaxing as I came out totally rejuvenated and full of energy.
In the evening we went to their Lounge Bar ( Smooth ) and it was superb. Great ambience, good crowd with excellent choice of drinks available.
Overall, fantastic hotel, great location, excellent service and awesome food & drinks!! I highly recommend this hotel as we truly had a five star experience and I will definitely stay at the Shalimar the next time I visit Mumbai!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 7th floor are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Shamdaswani

Thank you for the time that you have taken, in putting up such a detailed feedback of your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to note that you have had a pleasant and memorable stay with us. Your words of appreciation will go a long way in further boosting the morale of the entire team.

We thank you for recommending our hotel to the others and look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    84
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
69
50
50
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Service was excellent, Very nice staff and centerally located. Sourroundings was very clean.
the Food, Spa, Room Service, Housekeeping all good
The room was clean, well maintained. Restaurant was good.
overall experience Very good 10/10 for Hotel Shalimar



  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Ajay P

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a feedback of your stay with us

It has been our constant endeavor to provide guests with quality service; and feedback, such as yours encourages us to excel further.

We are pleased to note that you have had an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can understand hotels specifying check-in and check-out time at the time of booking. When a client specifies occupation of room on arrival in the morning, suggestion to book one day prior to arrival should have been there though it sounds ridiculous and double the cost! The girls at the front desk were very rude to suggest waiting at lobby for 5 hours or look for alternative....! After occupying the room from 2 pm (the hotel's check in time) at the seventh floor, there were heavy metal music from janitors in the corridor, reconstruction workers from the upper floor hammering and drilling unmindful of pleas and complaints, resulting in severe headache and swollen eyes for the music performance that evening. Food was another tragedy. Rice items smelling stale appeared reheated several times and were tasteless. So were the juice and lassi. As a frequent traveler, I normally give allowance to human errors and mood. But this kind of in-difference and "so what" attitude are intolerable. Staff on room service and at the gate were good though.

Room Tip: Do not fail to check about construction and repair works on specific floors. Do not try food through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear VaidyanathanSuresh

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a feedback of your stay with us.
As much as we believe that guest feedback is an important ingredient of our success story and have taken corrective measures, where we felt that a guest did indeed have a genuine inconvenience, in your situation, we would like to express our disagreement on most of your points.

You arrived at the hotel on a day when we were Sold Out for the category of room you were booked for. For a guest wanting a room immediately on arrival, if it is prior to our official check in time, we recommend that they book from the previous night. This is a standard policy that is adopted at any hotel world over. You were informed on arrival that the rooms are occupied and we would offer to you, the first available room. We do offer rooms to a guest without charge, if one is available, if you arrive at the hotel after 7 am. Further, your arrival time was also not advised to us at the time of your reservation. All of this was clearly communicated to you and your colleagues on arrival. It was also suggested that you could wait either in the lobby or our restaurant. If explaining the situation is to be termed as rude, our silence would have been construed as something worse.

Any renovation work that is carried out, is for offering a better facility for our guests and at no point, is it carried out at the cost of our existing guests’ comfort. These schedules are planned well during low occupancy period and managed with least inconvenience to a guest. We are a hotel, which has been offering exemplary hospitality for the past 50 years and have a long list of guests, who are as loyal to us, as is the case with certain other hotels of National and International repute. And these guests do not return because we offer them a cheap product or a low price, but because we offer them hospitality of the highest order.

Our restaurant, Gulmurg has been in existence since the very beginning and we have guests, who have been visiting us, in some cases, since their childhood. Shalimar has been a second kitchen to a lot of guests, who stay in Mumbai. There may have been a case where a guest did not like a food item, because of his taste preference, but never because of it being stale. Our vendors are selected after thorough scrutiny and we have as on date never compromised on standards, even if it has resulted in increased costs, which cannot, at all times be transferred on, to a guest or our culinary patron. Further, our chef has confirmed that the food that was served to you was prepared freshly by the staff on duty. In fact, an item like lassi cannot be stored and served; they have to be freshly prepared.

We are happy to note that you are a frequent traveller and hence, willing to give allowance to human errors and mood. Let me assure you that we do not allowance either, though we may still acknowledge and rectify an human error.

Lastly, we believe that we are here because of our guests and we are ever grateful to the support, through not just patronage, but through suggestions and feedback, that we have received over the years. And our being no 20 on Trip Advisor amongst 359 hotels in the city of Mumbai is testament of the fact that we are a good and well recognized hotel.

Should you feel we can be of any assistance to you on a future visit to the city, please do not hesitate to contact us and we would be glad to be at your service.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights, early December 2012, first trip to India. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the restaurant excellent, breakfast in particular. The wait staff were very attentive. Dosa recommended! The room was comfortable and met expectations. The location is about 30 minutes from Gateway of India, sometimes longer depending on traffic. Do not use the taxis waiting outside, very bad experience our first day. Hail one on the street. Use the opposite side for a more direct although less scenic trip. There are some interesting local restaurants on the other side of the overpass up the road if you are feeling adventurous, 15 minute walk, ask the staff for directions. There is not much else going on that we could find in the area. Internet is good although the access passwords have to be picked up from the front desk. Extra thanks to the staff for allowing us to store our luggage for 2 days while we did a trip to Matheran. Online reservation experience was good with quick confirmation from the hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear T L

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a review of your stay with us.

It has been our earnest endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to every guest. We firmy believe that guest satisfaction is the key to our success. Your observations will definitely help us in our efforts to constantly upgrade our facilities and services.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very nice Hotel,very conveniently location in south Mumbai. The rooms were very good, comfortable & newly renovated. The pastry shop was just superb & particularly liked the cheese cakes very nice.
I tried the spa one day - very good experience.
The restaurant serves very good Indian food.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear ss121

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a feedback of your stay with us.

It is indeed a great pleasure to note that you have recognized our efforts to provide excellent service to our guests. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to others.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the beginning of December for a wedding. From the door guy to the reception desk to the housekeeping was brilliant. The front desk was very helpful for any queries or assistance that we needed. They did not hesitate to help us- specifically one gentleman named Ruzbey.
The rooms have been revamped and is amazingly comfortable. Air con, bar fridge, ample space, clean bathroom, very comfy bed as well as good channels for viewing on tv. We made full use of the music channels that kept our stay at Shalimar pumping!!!!
The restaurant Gulmarg (1st floor) has delicious food- masala dosa is an order for breakfast- not to be missed.
There is good shopping close by in kemps corner as well Mohammed Ali road.
Colaba is +- 15minutes away and has some good market shopping and sightseeing.

This hotel is definitely worth the price it offers.

Room Tip: 6 floor has good rooms. Try and take the side rooms, and not front facing for noise during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear asma o

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. We also thank you for recognizing our employees for outstanding service. Such gestures truly help us in giving an additional boost to employee morale.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed in this lovely boutique hotel last month and I thought I must write about my delightful experience. was not on a big budget so opted for the Zen category room. Small room but excellently furnished. It was there for 3 nights. Excellent bed with the most comfortable mattress and pillows. very nice mini bar with a wide choice. The bathroom was very nice. Very good service, staff always helpful. The food was very good especially the Indian.
The bar was very lively and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Sabita R

Thank you for the time that you have taken in putting up a review of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to every guest. We earnestly believe that guest satisfaction is the key to our success.

We look forward to your continued support and patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shalimar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.