We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Shalimar Hotel to your Saves list
The Shalimar Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights only and will surely recommend it and come back again. It's a value for money hotel. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms called Zen. Lovely room, very beautifully done and very comfortable bed and excellent bathroom. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good. I also had dinner one night in the hotel-great food and service. Try the spa- very good and relaxing. I also got a chance to eat in the cute and small sandwich shop- absolutely super sandwiches.
All in all a very good hotel and surely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear Alena S

We appreciate your putting up a feedback about your stay with us.

We believe in offering the best of Shalimar to every guest who stay with us. We are pleased to note that you had a good stay and have highlighted various services and facilities that were available and you availed of.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    84
    39
    13
    11
See reviews for
69
50
50
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My family enjoyed a lot in hotel by exploring the restaurants in breakfast and aslo in dinner.we loved it.it was very calm and fun stay.

Room Tip: the rooms have front sight.i loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear KARANBHOSALE


We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the moments spent with us.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixgunn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I can't really complain too greatly about this place as a freind of mine got us in cheap. I would however say that for the normal price they charge it simply isn't worth it. The rooms are good (for a 3*) and the hotel is clean and tidy, however, on one day we came back to the room to find that housekeeping hadn't been. The staff are like zombies and seem clueless. The breakfast is dreadful so go to Cafe Mondegar instead. I'm going back to Mumbai in a few months and will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear felixgunn

We appreciate your putting up a feedback about your stay with us.

We believe in offering the best of Shalimar to every guest who stay with us. We have constant changes that we bring about in all aspects of a guest contact. We have been regularly renovating and upgrading our property and have succeeded in ensuring a very good percentage of repeat guests in our hotel.

We take note of your observations and will see what best can be done to bring about further enhancement to the services. Our Breakfast display not only offers a buffet, besides a variety on hot food on offer, which is prepared directly from the kitchen, on guest request. Housekeeping may not service a room which has a Do Not Disturb sign ON, and in such cases guests are met by the Supervisor to understand if it was an error on the part of the guest. We also service the room immediately to ensure a clean room is always on offer for a guest.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vapi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

i stayed at The Shalimar for 2 nights and will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel. Very good rooms tastefully done with allmodern amenities. The restaurant is very good serving great Indian cuisine. Thebutter chicken was amazing> the bar is well done up. They have several offers during the week which i was told. The sandwich shop serves some superb sandwiches. I even tried the spa which is a "must try". Friendly staff and exemplary service.
Will surely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for the newly designed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear pmehta333


We thank you for such a detailed feedback about your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a good stay and have highlighted various services and facilities that were available and you availed of.

We look forward to your continued patronage.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I recommend this hotel to all as they are excellent in terms of the service and hospitality, from the front desk to housekeeping, specially the sales staff Jacob was very hospitable...I hope you choose this hotel and enjoy your stay at Shalimar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
Dear dineshajwani

We thank you for such detailed compliments on your stay with us.

It is a great feeling for guests to highlight specific departments or individuals, as they help us to boost the morale of our team.

We hope to welcome you again, when you visit Mumbai city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

The staff was very helpful and polite.
Rooms were well maintained, comfortable to sleep.
The food was very good.
Picked the hotel due to its proximity to Jaslok Hospital and central parts of Mumbai city.
Would live here again if visiting Mumbai on bussines trip again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear familytraveller20110

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to welcome you again in the future.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A good location is just one of the first things brings me back to the hotel every time I visit Mumbai. Howevr, what is nice about this quiet little business hotel in the heart of Mumbai is thedelight it offers in it's well designed rooms which does come as a surprise- a pleasant one. The hotel is small but that doesn't come in the way of the comfort it offers. That easily compares with some of the biggies who might come at a much more fancy price.

Thre rooms are quite well appointed and the bathroom of the suite-like room where I stayed was perhaps one of the best in this class and size. However, the bar and pastry shop literally takes the cake. I would recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Dear anuragy1

Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you again on your future visits to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400036, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shalimar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.