We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the Front Entrance.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai to your Saves list
Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Road Next to Khar West Railway Station | 3rd Road, Khar Railway Station, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the Front Entrance.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Stayed there one night at the double room at a cost of 2500 Rupees. Room had clean bed sheets but it was infested with insect and cockroaches. When I ran down to reception to complain and ask to change the room, they refused and instead sent a guy with a bug spray with made the room unbreathable for couple of hours. In the shower because of the damp and moist there were more insect coming out between the cracks, if you can live with insect running around than beds, TV, etc are comfortable.



Good luck.

Room Tip: My advice, if you go there, before paying any money, check the room, lift the pillows and check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    11
    17
    35
See reviews for
4
13
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Dont book it by internet! you dont gonna find the room that you saw in the website. When you arrive they show you the real room and I can tell you that after all I have seen in India it was the worse room ever. So when you see that and you wanna the room you saw in the photos(the room you booked!!). They ask you 5000 rupies!! if you dont agree you must pay the deposit (more than 2000rs) or to stay in the room that they offer you that looks a joke!!
dont matter how angry you are, they dont care!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I was at this hotel only for 1 night with my friends.
i don't know if they had more expensive & better rooms but the one we stayed at was for 3500INR. We got 2 of those as we were 4.

Some of the highlights of the rooms are,
1. Very poor cleanliness maintained.
2. Blankets provided had holes in it.
3. Bed Sheets had nasty stains on it.
4. Wooden door was very hard to close.
5. TV was as old as TAJ MAHAL and as small as wrist watch.

When you come out of the hotel, there is one so called SPORTS BAR on the left,
don't even try to dare checking it out.
They said there was live Gazal program going on in the Restro-Bar of the hotel, but we decided to go to some other place for dinner after seeing all these things.
Good for us there is JUGHEAD's nearby, so we got drunk there and prepared ourselves to spend the night in Unicontinental.

Some Highlights of the Complimentary BF,
1. No tea cups
2. No one to assist.
3. Only paratha/upma/bread available. (Upma was good by the way)

Overall for me the place is not worth going back again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

'Terrible' is an understatement!
I had to stay in this hotel as the place where I was booked was sold out and they could not extend my stay. It was my mistake not to have checked on this before I moved in. It is located next to the Khar Railway station and is managed pretty badly. The rooms are unfit to to stay in where you have water patches on the walls of the room and bathroom. Wires dangling everywhere. The restaurant serves only two items for breakfast and believe me when I say it is sad - and yes, it has a very peculiar odour. Once you have paid a deposit, the oversmart staff ask you to make a payment in advance for every night you stay stating that otherwise you cannot stay. The 'know-it-all' attitude of the staff can sometimes be demeaning. Sorry to say, I don't recommend it at all.

Room Tip: Dont Stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I only wish I could give it 0 stars.

It's not that the neighborhood (Caar West) is a sketchy twilight zone that closely resembles the most recent set of a rape-me-if-you-can Hollywood horror film, or even that the rooms themselves resemble a post-apocalyptic Motel 6 from the 70s.

After suffering through a Mumbai taxi ride into the Ghetto, we arrived at the Unicontinental and quickly discovered that they use the same internet picture profile methodology as the husky girl on Myspace trying to pass as "curvy". In short, don't believe a thing you see or read on the site. Being the "glass half full" crowd that we are, I asked to see the rooms just in case they were different than the lobby. ** SPOILER ALERT** They weren't. The rooms look like tropical disease wards at a third world hospital - tile floors and furniture that even Ikea wouldn't put in their discount bin. But, this wasn't even the worst of it.

No, the real problem with this "hotel" is that they wanted us to pay them 7000 INR for the pleasure of getting screwed royally by a man wearing a gold-on-gold tie shirt combination. Bear in mind that our group of 4 had just spent the night in Paris at the Marriott by the airport and paid U.S. $100, about 5000 INR.

I recommend avoiding this hotel all together. Remember for a 50 cent taxi ride, you and your party can be anywhere in the city, so if you arrive and find yourself in need, RUN, don't walk to Kemps Corner - a cheaper and FAR BETTER establishment in Kemps Corner, Mumbai.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

stayed 3 nights (had no choice late arrival /early start) staff quite unfriendly after long trip "executive room " a joke no sheets house keeping number not available. bathroom dirty and smelly. Morning was being picked up at 8 went for breakfast no chance says in bumf in room from 7 front desk says no 8.30! had to get breakfast from the street outside but the doorman was really helpful. inchurning out the evening bar was emptybexcept for a speaker on the floor churning out Indian rave music. But the resaurant when it finaly did open produced a very good meal in my opinion more trouble than it was worth.

Room Tip: only stayed in the executive and that was bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this Hotel.Accommodation was arranged by a group of volunteers during a Yoga camp on a paid basis.

Very frankly , I had low expectations after reading the reviews on this site, but decided to stay here as we were part of a group and we just required to sleep over for 2 nights.

From a sleep over perspective , its OK. The AC worked , the taps had running water. The toilet cannot be called " unclean" but it cannot also be "clean " as the floorings and fittings were very dated and could do with some renovation. Definitely there was no fresh & dry feeling you get even in some of the modest accommodations.

I did see a few small bugs & small cockroaches moving around... maybe a shot of pesticides may have saved the management this embarrassment.... or may be they are waiting for some grand renovation to make it a better place.

Definitely the section I stayed ( right hand portion of the hotel from lobby side) was old and badly needed a renovation . I was told that the section to the left side of the lobby were renovated , but I did not check it out & cannot comment.

Would advise people who are compelled to go here not to take up the room facing the railway tracks to avoid the clatter. Surprising the train noise does not filter in to the rooms on the other side of the corridor facing the narrow street ( unless you keep your door open).

Many would argue that for a budget of INR 2500 approx this does not too bad for a place for Mumbai , but I would suggest you rather not suffer this & pay something more and stay else where.

The staff however, were not as rude as some of the earlier reviewers had experienced. They were fairly polite and decent in their interaction.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai

Address: 3rd Road Next to Khar West Railway Station | 3rd Road, Khar Railway Station, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the pleasure to introduce Hotel Samrat, Mumbai. A centrally located family run budget hotel with luxurious rooms and personalized service at unbeatable rates. The Hotel is a Government of India - Tourism Department approved Hotel at Khar West in the heart of Mumbai. It has 30 well appointed AC Rooms (Including 4 Suite Rooms) with direct dialing telephone in each room, Cable and satellite color TV, refrigerator with soft drink mini bar, attached bath, 24 hrs. running hot & cold water, call bell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unicontinental Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.