We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Mumbai, by the sea...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sea Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Green Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In Mumbai, by the sea...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

In Mumbai for a business trip and want to relax in the evenings? Head towards Hotel Sea Green. Bang on Marine Drive, at the corner of the Netaji Subhash Road, it is a neatly painted white and green five storeyed building with spacious double-bed rooms, spic and span cleanliness, bare minimum basic amenities and cordial but “not going out of their way to help you” staff. No luxuries here, no food except the minimum breakfast of toast, tea and bananas! And since we are on health food, let me tell you that the coast in front offers you one of the best walking/jogging stretches in Mumbai. And if you have work in the FORT area, it is just a walking distance away. At Rs 3100 per night for one person, it is like living in heaven – with little food of course! The fares for double occupancy work out much lesser and if you add another extra person, it becomes surprisingly reasonable to be true! This time I got one of the sea-facing rooms, and promptly switched off the AC and enjoyed the monsoon winds straight from the sea all through the night.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
7
18
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Starting from the Location of the Hotel, it was Amazing. As each night after Dinner, I went for a nice walk near the Sea with a Nice Breeze coming on my Face, with my Headphones playing Music, which was simply an Awesome Experience.

The Rooms were Comfortable like the one you would like to have. And the food served in the Hotel, alongwith the Choices of Restaurants nearby, is just too good. And I even get to see the Wankhede Cricket Stadium, which was nearby the Hotel, and the Brabone Stadium, which is right behind the Hotel.

I went there for a couple of days for a business trip, but I was lucky for getting the Perfect Location of the Hotel, where I loved to stay. If you're coming to Mumbai for a Visit, and Looking for a Nice Comfortable, Perfect Area type of Hotel to stay in, then this Hotel would be the PERFECT Location for You to Stay In.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel everytime I've been to Bombay. 2007, 2008 and 2011. With it's amazing location on Marine Drive, and very close to bars and restaurants nearby, it's very convenient (and you will always find a taxi). I used to drink at the nearby Geoffrey's Pub at the Marine Plaza Hotel, which pretty much made it my local as it was 100m from the hotel. Ask for a sea view, as the sun dipping in the Arabian is unmissable.

The staff are extremely nice too. In 2007, it was my first time to Mumbai and I had been ripped off by a cabbie on the way here, and they actually _gave back_ what I had lost from the cab driver. One of the memorable staff back in 2007, and 2008 was Shaju. I didn't see him in 2011 though. Lovely art deco and a great elevator too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed here over a long weekend and was happy with my fourth-floor balcony room, which offered enough privacy without having to close the shades. Room interior is aging but was kept clean and the high ceiling was nice. Bathroom had hot water in the morning but evening (before my flight) was lukewarm. Bathroom also was pretty basic and towels were the scratchiest I have ever experienced.

Sounds kind of so-so, right? Well, you are on Marine Dr., which is great for if you get lost easily and you're a quick walk to Churchgate Station, which is a great landmark for taxis even if you don't want to take the train. Complimentary Times of India in the morning and affordable Internet (pre-paid in time increments) means you really get everything you need. Also, $76 US per night, including internet, is not bad in a city that feels fine charging New York prices at the fancy hotels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Basic hotel, not your average tourist hotel, very Indian, great and helpful staff. Very old, clean as it can get! Balcony, Huge room, western toilet. Great location right across the street from the seawall and the Arabian sea. Price is right and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna, austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

the view from the balcony over marine drive is probably the best thing about this hotel. the hotel is ok and I would stay there again but it totally lacks any charme.
The hot water in the shower was either too hot or rather cold, the rooms are clean. the management was friendly and helpful, so overall it was a positive experience.
we had made a reservation at sea green via internet while still at home and had first been to delhi. the room at sea green cost us about 4 times the price of the hotel in delhi (which was same standard and even included breakfast buffet) - so that shocked me a little when I realized this but the reason for this is that mumbai is just way more expensive than delhi as far as hotels are concerned.
however, the view from the balconies of the seafront rooms compensates for this.
another plus: colaba causeway, leopold cafe and the gateway of india are within walking distance or a short riksha ride from the hotel, so that is very positive.
overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wim van der Meer
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

It is not easy to review hotels in India. The top hotels are incredibly luxurious and the cheap hotels are pretty disgusting. There isn't much in between, and when there is the experience is a often a strange mixture of the two extremes.
The Sea Green in Mumbai is such a hotel. It has (some) lovely large rooms with a balcony to the Marine drive and the bay, quite airy and pleasant. And the people are very nice. It is also quite clean. However, the bathroom verges on primitive - there is a hot-water system, but I didn't manage to take a shower - no way to mix hot and cold, in stead had to fill up the large bucket and throw water. The bathroom also looks primitive - though clean it has that smudginess of the cheap places.
The small fridge and the air conditioning are too noisy to use - fortunately in January you don't need them and can leave them of.
Breakfast isn't much, a simple cup of tea or coffee, some chewy toasted white bread, butter and (low quality) jam. If you want you can have eggs. Again, clean but smudgy looking cups and plates.
I would say that if you are used to European 3 star better hotels you may not be satisfied. But then, Trident (Oberoi) or Vivanta Taj President will cost you at least twice as much.

Room Tip: Take a room with a balcony on third or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Green Hotel

Address: 145 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Green Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Mumbai on Marine Drive, Sea Green Hotel has been attracting both tourists and businessmen for over 50 years. Constructed in the Art Deco style, the hotel offers comfortable, spacious, air conditioned rooms at affordable prices. Overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea, guests are treated to the best view of Mumbai – the spectacular Queens Necklace, characterised by its breathtaking sunsets. Tourist attractions, restaurants and shops are all only a few minutes away. Reservations are only a click away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sea Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.