We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel definitely gives you the blues” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Orchids Executive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Orchids Executive to your Saves list
Blue Orchids Executive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rustom Market, AG Link Road | Sakinaka, Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Delhi NCR
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This hotel definitely gives you the blues”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had to travel to Mumbai this month on business trip for couple of days. Since my schedule was dynamic I did not book the hotel till the day I was supposed to travel. Well I paid the price and got the blues for it. I did not get any hotel in and around Andheri for some strange reason that those that I got were very expensive at more than Rs. 5000 per night. I visited Yatra.com and saw that there was a Hotel called "Blue Orchids Executive" near Sakinaka metro station which is about 15 minutes from the place I had my work at. The rates were also pretty aggressive, hence I booked it. Here are my experiences staying at this hotel for two nights.

The Good:

- the aggressive room tariff (which you later realize is not worth taking the chance)
- at five minutes walk - towards International airport side, you have lot of good restaurants and shopping etc

The Bad:

- Location is seedy, run down. Immediately after Peninsula Hotel, the neighborhood deteriorates dramatically. In less than 100 meters you are walking along slummy, shady, run down retail stores and businesses to reach this hotel. I would have missed it completely, if I had not called their reception multiple times to locate it, though it is on the main road itself. You have to walk for few minutes towards International airport side to see good retail stores and establishments.
- The entrance/reception is so narrow and small that you wonder, where are you going to stay when you enter this place.
- there is a narrow/clummy/shady pathway through which you reach to your room abruptly. It is a small room with absolute bare necessities like a small wardrobe shelf and a single plastic chair.
- the bathroom is again, small, creepy and to the hotel's credit better maintained that you expect it to after seeing the reception, pathway and the room. The wash basin is so small that you end up spitting at your own feet.
- The mattress/pillow/blanket/towel etc - less said about them the better.
- I was too scared to order food here.
- You have a remote for the STB but the TV has to be manually switched on/off. You have to figure out the concealed button behind the TV for it!
- AC is funny, and behaved funny. Thanks to the ceiling fan you are saved.
- Wi-Fi does not work.

The Ugly:
- There is no window in the room. Absolutely no sun-light. It is a completely closed and boxed up. You are under artificial lights always. Totally Claustrophobic.

Overall verdict:
Stay only if you are on an extremely tight budget, single and have work in and around that area.

This hotel definitely gives you the blues.

Room Tip: Check if there is a window in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    11
    4
    13
See reviews for
11
6
4
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are too small, nothing like it looks on site. Location is very bad and there are local labourers stalking at u right outside the hotel. There is a local restaurant on both side n you'll be served food from there at a very expensive price. Commitmentary breakfast was the worst - dry bread n butter. Plz avoid family or couple.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Blu orchid for 2 weeks and the stay was very clean very service oriented and was very professional, I looked up a lot of other hotels in the same price range previosly, and even stayed at some of the other hotels and they were completely off the mark compared to orchid,
The rooms are very clean and the staf is very friendly and helpful all in all I had very positive experience at, with all the basic necessities , clean and great service thank u

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stay in hotel blue orchids it was ousam stay clean room nice room and verry good staff its really nice stay. This is budget hotel close to international & domestic airport and near to station also.if u want to stay in andheri east so u can stay in nlue orchids only it was nice stay like a home and its verry safe for night also staf is soft spoken.near sakinaka metro station it was good go any wher its a mail junction only.rooms are clean and are small size but if u book executive room u can get smal room but if u book deluxe room it was nice and big room.i really love to stay in blue orchids again of required this budget......

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasaragod, Kerala, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

my family staying 5 days this hotel very nis hotel and staff mumbai city is a very expencv but hotel staff very co operat it is near inter national air port , neyar metro station that is very god advantages

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

The area is pretty much a slum and there is no guarantee for safety for women in rooms also. Around 3 AM someone tried opening the door from outside using common key. We shouted from inside telling the person that people are inside and not to open it. But he opened and I blasted him and told the hotel staffs. Irresponsible and useless staffs. The room were also very small and clumsy. Beware of this region and also this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I had stayed in a deluxe room at this hotel for a night considering the previous decent reviews but was literally disappointed with the hotel. It is totally not worthy of single penny paid.

The rooms were super tiny and was totally unclean. The floorings were so pathetic and the AC did not function. We tried telling the receptionists to change the room but they never paid heed to it. The bathroom was terrible and was not sanitised. One of the worst disgusting experiences I have ever had.

The location is in a slum where it id totally not safe to wander over certain timings. Horrible location and the hotel also does not make up for it.

On top of it some guy used his key from outside and opened our room when we were inside which was so shocking. We had locked our room from inside and yet he managed to open it. This means there is absolutely no security at this place since all the keys can open all the rooms. I would recommend anyone not to choose this crappy hotel Nd save money.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Orchids Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Orchids Executive

Address: Rustom Market, AG Link Road | Sakinaka, Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Orchids Executive 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Blue Orchids Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Orchids Executive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.