We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Windsor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86,Veer Nariman Road,Churchgate,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We were very disappointed to pay for a deluxe room, which we thought would be a reasonable standard for a 2-3 Star Hotel. However, we got a room without air conditioning, noisey, and with a dirty bathroom and sheets. Would not recommend anyone, even someone we don't like, to stay at this place! DON'T GO HERE!!!!!!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    173
    57
    16
    13
See reviews for
58
106
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Our first port of call in our 2 week India trip in April, so a little surprised at the size of the room. Literally a shoe-box. But this was Bombay afterall with sky-high property prices.

Although we had booked an AirCon'd room, they tried to fob us off initially into a non-AC room. Threatening to leave, they "found" an AC room.

It does have its merits though - it really is very clean and the location is UNBEATABLE. You have the Ambassador hotel next door and Intercontinental 2 mins walk away, and these charge the expected 4-5 star prices.

We didnt spend anytime in the room apart from sleeping, packing etc, and only stayed for 2 nights, so the size and decor of the room caused amusement after the initial "shock" of small room size.

Apart from the initial room hiccup, the staff were very friendly and were flexible with our check out time (we left at 2pm). I would definitely reccomend this place to someone on a mid-range budget, but with cleanliness, location and Air Con as a must.

Oh yeah, there's the fantastic "Gaylord" restaurant 3 mins walk on the opposite side of the road, for the BEST North Indian cuisine we had in our 2 week journey (which included dining at 5 star restaurants and palaces in Rajasthan). On our way home, we stopped off especially at Gaylord to have our "final supper" before flying back.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myrtle beach, sc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

My daughter and I stayed in a "deluxe room" in March for 3 nights. It was clean and the staff was excellent and very accommodating, but the place is a dump. The walls of our room were white tile (looked like a hospital room), the beds had worn sheets and bedspreads that I wouldn't touch (though no obvious dirty spots--just hideous), and a bathroom that smelled of moth balls and through the walls of which we could hear everything in the bathroom next door (including that awful hocking noise). It is a good location, and it was nice to have a safe. Our requests for extra sheets was promptly honored (we didn't want to use the bedspreads), and the place was very quite. When my daughter complained that our room hardly seemed deluxe, they lowered the price! That's the main reason we stayed another 2 nights--that and the very nice staff.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — it's old
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2007

This is not a hotel with amazing rooms. The rooms are very simple. About half the size of a standard U.S. hotel room, but it still has everything - full bath, nice bed, couch, wardrobe, ac, tv, and wireless internet for $2/hr.

The highlight of this hotel is the service. The room service is at your door the minute you are done ordering. The hotel managers are very helpfull. They will help you with just about anything - laundry $0.50/artical, taxi, car for hire $20/day, resturant deliveries free, cold mineral water $0.70/large bottle.

Over the course of our 4 night stay we got to know the workers there. They truly are there to help you and service you and never once expected a tip. They answered to our every need. When it came time for us to leave, I was truly sad to go. Our stay at the Windsor was like no other hotel. It truly felt like a home away from home.

  • Liked — The hotel employees
  • Disliked — very inexpensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

Obviously, there are far nicer places to stay in Mumbai, but it seems like it would be difficult to get a better deal than the Windsor. However, we sprung for a deluxe room - perhaps recently renovated? - while our friend's room looked a lot less modern.

The front desk of the Windsor is on the 5th floor. The staff aren't super warm, but they were helpful with every request we made. They picked us up from the airport, recommended local restaurants, helped us with directions. Beyond that, there is wi-fi in the hotel, on a pay per hour(s) basis. The room was really clean. Only downside was maybe the bathroom, it smelled like mothballs and wasn't all that big.

As the headline of my review says, you basically get what you pay for. It's not fancy, but it was a good experience for us.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

Do, not let the reviews fool you. This hotel is not that nice. The rooms were far from modern, and looked like a bad hospital room from 1950. The bathrooms were not a pretty site, and many share the out walls with other bathrooms. Not even the TV worked right in this place. Far over rated.
Also do not get the pick up service from the hotel, you would do better haggeling with the taxi's, your going to have to get use to it anyway.
The staff at the hotel were good though, that is true. The location is also good. The internet however was not free. They had wireless, but charged 100 rupies per hour.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Bathroom, and overall room
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86,Veer Nariman Road,Churchgate,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.