We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in the center of Mumbai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Chateau Windsor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   86,Veer Nariman Road,Churchgate,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value in the center of Mumbai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

You can't underestimate the value for money this hotel offers - It's right in the center of Mumbai, right next to the Queen's necklace. The hotel room was very big and refurbished in modern style. I didn't like the prices of airport transfer they offer. It is much cheaper to find a taxi by yourself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    173
    57
    16
    13
See reviews for
58
106
53
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel would rank top on B&B only if it has prices to match for it. You are basically paying for location and everything else is ordinary really. I must however commend staff for being very courteous and polite. The toilet was really clean. I opted for larger room by paying more but then noise from outside is terrible even though it was sunday night, they ought to have better windows for what they are charging. The elevator makes crane like sounds since early morning and even though my room was away i woke up frequently. The bed is really hard and AC was not working properly. After an hour of juggling of remote by staff it somehow settled at 25 degrees. Breakfast is also basic and limited really.The hotel was however reluctant to change my room. All in all, not worth the price you pay.

Room Tip: i dont know, may be rooms on backside far far away from elevator will give you some noise protection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location is excellent, near Marine drive- very good for morning/evening walks. Rooms were clean, big and cosy- very comfortable and homelike. Friendly staff. Only issue is it does not have a restaurant (basic bfast is provided which is avg) but there are restaurants around. If you find those pricy, you can take a cab out to nearby places like Colaba mkt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We opted for the larger which is very nice. It looks like the owner took over an old hotel and basically cutted out the rooms. When in the room it was hard to tell that this is an older hotel. There is no public area and the breakfast is nice bit bare bones. 2 eggs, toast, coffee etc. if you don't want it on the roof you can have room service. Gaylord restaurant should not be missed and it is just across the street. There is a WiFi charge and it is hard to sign in and out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Chateau Windsor twice in January 2013. The hotel is in a great location just steps from Marine Drive, which is so nice to walk on in the evenings. The rooms were very clean and spacious. In one of our rooms, the bed had a foam topper on the mattress and was probably the most comfortable bed of our entire trip; the other bed did not have this nice feature. Maybe it's something you could request when checking in? The building is interesting with its elevator and stairwell in the middle. If you look out the windows in the center of the building, you see an outdoor spiral staircase that is 6 stories high. The hotel office staff were incredibly helpful at helping us with logistics and finding everything we needed...train schedules, directions to the train station and good restaurants, an eyeglass shop and a driving tour of the city. This was one of the few places we felt that no one was trying to sell us something. Just gave us excellent service in what, for Mumbai, is an affordable accommodation. We completely missed the rooftop breakfast area, but were provided with a wake up call and served really good chai in our rooms before our 5:00 am departure. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Mumbai.

Room Tip: Our first room was exterior, so it had windows and a small balcony. It also had a foam topper on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was very happy with this hotel. The location is amazing (1 block from Marine Drive), and the service was great. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a small balcony. The staff did an excellent job of recommending a small local tour for us. The breakfast was also pretty good, and the view from the rooftop terrace was great. All in all, this hotel was a great value, and I'm very happy for what we got for the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this hotel is in the ideal location for exploring Mumbai. The staff made the stay very comfortable for us and the service was wonderful. The view from the rooftop each morning at breakfast was lovely and even if basic the breakfast set us up for a good day out. The location meant that there was time to pop back during the day and the restaurants were very close by. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Windsor Hotel

Address: 86,Veer Nariman Road,Churchgate,, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We take great pleasure in introducing ourselves as one of South Mumbai’s leading budget hotels catering to the needs of corporate and visiting guests from India and around the world since 1941. We are a 50 room hotel located in the "downtown" of the city, next to the Arabian Sea, and walking distance from most major commercial/ business, entertainment, restaurants catering to different cuisines and shopping centers. Owned and managed by family members in the hotel business for more than 50 years, we ensure the best in guest service with personal attention to the needs of our guests. Our motto is neatness and cleanliness and our hotel speaks of it loud and clear. Some of the advantages our guests enjoy when staying with us are:1. The most competitive rates offered in South Mumbai in our category hotels. 2. NO SERVICE charges levied. 3. 24 hours room service offering tea, coffee, cold drinks and light snacks. 4. Room tariff includes complementary morning tea/coffee. 5. Car parking and car wash (no charge). 6. Shoeshine on request (no charge). 7. Minor stitching/mending on request (no charge). 8. Well trained, knowledgeable and motivated staff to serve our guests needs. 9. Guests can use our well-maintained kitchen for "do-it-yourself" cooking (Veg. Only). 10. Wifi available. 11. Pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Chateau Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Windsor Hotel Mumbai
Chateau Windsor Hotel Bombay
Hotel Chateau Windsor Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.