We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to find, unknown to the neighbors........” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added West End Hotel to your Saves list
West End Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD DISCOUNT 20%
Ranked #118 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Difficult to find, unknown to the neighbors........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at West End on Marine Lines overnight as a business traveller. Not only that the radio cab that I hired from the Mumbai Int'l Airport knew about the hotel, but none of the cabbies and autorickshaw wallahs standing on the Marine Lines could direct us where the Hotel is. Finally, 5th attempt succeeded and we could get to the hotel. The reception staff at 12.30 in the night certainly was not in a mood to welcome with a smile but other staff were as smiling as if it was receiving the first guest in a new hotel. There was no place whatsoever to find any food outlet open at that hour of the night in the neighborhood and predictably hotel had nothing to offer to its guests arriving late in the night.
The room was neat and clean, spacious and modestly decorated. The breakfast was average with limited choices, but food served during the meeting was a big disappointment. In my opinion, with some efforts it can become a good heritage hote (established in 1948)l!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    42
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
27
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want to feel to be in India with a nostalgic touch this is a recommendable Iocation. The staff from the front desk over the lift boys to the room service with floor managers were very helpful, also in organising transport.The food was excellent both in choice and quality especially if you like fish, AC in the rooms of various size, as well as phones for outside lines are installed in every room; Internet access can be obtained.

The Hotel has rooms for celebrations and conferences..

Room Tip: Mention your wishes as to noise levels, size and view as these are variable. The Hotel is situated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestEndHotel1948, General Manager at West End Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us once again & thank you for lovely feedback on your recent stay.

We are delighted to know that you like our food, our fillet fish with tarter sauce is famous amongst the customers.

We would like to assure a wonderful experience on all your future visits. The entire team at West End Hotel, Mumbai looks forward to serve you again and again!

Thank you,

With warm regards,

Arjun Ramani
General Manager
West End Hotel,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nostalgic trip with an insight into Old India. This beautiful art deco hotel is well appointed with modern facilities. The staff cannot do enough to help you and make sure your stay is comfortable. The complementary breakfast was plentiful and served by the ever helpful staff. With a hospitality manager on every floor there was nothing they would not do for you.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestEndHotel1948, General Manager at West End Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from West End Hotel, Mumbai!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

The title of the review itself has brought a smile on each one of us. Your words of praise for our services, offerings and attention to detail have encouraged us to scale greater heights of excellence.

We would like to assure a wonderful experience on all your future visits. The entire team at West End Hotel, Mumbai looks forward to serve you again and again!

Thank you,

With warm regards,

Arjun Ramani
General Manager
West End Hotel,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Since late senventies I have visited the West End Hotel at least once in a year. It is situated in the heart of down town Mumbai, the rooms are spacious, restaurant excellent and staff friendly and efficient. As a tour leader I have brought many tourists from Sweden to the West End and all have been more than happy with the stay at the hotel. From my heart the warmest "Thank You" to all of you for what you have done for me and my guests throughout the years.
Rolf Ryback, tour conductor from Sweden

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestEndHotel1948, General Manager at West End Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Rolf,

Thank you very much for making West End Hotel your home in Bombay. The West End family looks forward to your future visit. Once again Rolf thank you for making West End your home.

Sincerely,

Arjun Ramani
General Manager
West End Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Good AC.

Friendly staff.

Congested room & bathroom.

Hotel rates are around a 4 or 5 star, but services are pathetic, no complimentary wifi or breakfast, no water bottles complimentary except 1 for a day.

Lifts are horrible.

Dining food is bad, sweets in morning are leftovers of previous night. Even noon buffet had some flying insects on deserts (mousse)

Mosquitoes in room.

I took a smoking room and, smoke wasnt escaping out, very bad ventilation.

Balcony are for show off, very congested and not worth to be called as balcony.

Sorrounding area is also very very congested and cheap crowd staring and stalking as you leave the hotel premises.


IN SHORT, GET ANOTHER NICE PLACE IN SAME PRICE.
YOU WILL END UP WITH AN ACTUAL 5 STAR FOR THE MONEY REQUIRED HERE.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestEndHotel1948, General Manager at West End Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Pranav,

Greetings from West End Hotel, Mumbai.
Thank you for your valuable feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you; during your recent stay with us.
In south Mumbai 4 star hotels charges about Rs. 5500/- & 5 star about Rs. 7500/- per day per room for an individual (17.42% Tax Extra). Whereas our room tariff is Rs. 4500/- + Taxes & other offers are as follows:-
1) Extra person in single room free.
2) Early Bird – book 21 days in advance & get 20% discount.
3) Stay 2 nights & get 03rd night @ 20% discount.
4) Long stay offer – A) 4-10 nights 10% discount
B) 11-15 nights 15% discount
C) 16 nights & above 20% discount.
Some hotels do offer free Wi-Fi & some hotels charge for it. We have two rates one for room with breakfast & one for room only basis. You have opted for room only.

We never had any guests complain about mosquito or flying insects till now. Every floor has a butler to look after your needs & to give you highly personalized service.

Your room was 250 Sq. Feet (1 n half ton & air conditioned) so the ventilation should have sufficient. For additional ventilation the door leading to the small balcony could have been opened & lot of fresh sea breezes could have entered the room
We are surrounded by Bombay Hospital, central government offices, metro adlabs cinema, other offices sometimes the area does gets congested. Our lifts are old but well maintained. Our hotel is old but our customers say it has old world charm.

We wish that you will stay with us on next visit & we will make every effort to make your stay a happy one.

Sincerely,

Arjun Ramani
General Manager
West End Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

4th October, which was a big day for me. It was my engagement. It would be a bad part of me if i would not write a review for this Lovely hotel. First of all Thank you to Mr. Joy, Who is the Banquet Manager who performed his duties Simply Perfect.!! Thumbs up to him. This hotel is known to my family and we have attended family functions here. This time i would say it was my function and i wanted to be cautious about every little thing. I would say we had a crowd of 125 people for the engagement and we had been given the top terrace banquet for the function. It was well furnished with Tables and chairs covered with white cloth which looked beautiful. The arrangement of the stage was perfect as we wanted it with tables on each side.

The bar was set up amazing with no soda's which were less for the function. The starters were amazing it matched perfectly with the booze we had. The food was delicious and good quantity which was enough for the crowd. The seating arrangement for food outside on the terrace was amazing. I would say they left no stone unturned to make the function successful.

The staff is courteous and helpful in everything we needed. I would say this hotel is new but with modern thoughts and amenities. Its no less then the biggest hotels in B town.

Room Tip: The Suite rooms are the best they have on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Very much basic traveller/student accommodation by western standards, surly staff & uncomfortable beds.
In desperate need of a refurb, that is apart from the bar, which is stuck in some 1970's time warp, & unintentionally pretty cool because of it.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.