We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Super Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added West End Hotel to your Saves list
West End Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD DISCOUNT 20%
Ranked #122 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value Super Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Very well kept 1970s-styled downtown hotel. Loved it. Friendly and accommodating staff; unbelievably clean rooms. Good facilities including wireless.

Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    54
    43
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
28
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

i had to go to Mumbai for medical conference at Bombay hospital, which is across the road from this hotel. So to avoid traffic of Bombay, I checked in here instead of the 5star hotel located 3 km away. Well, when i checked in at 1 AM, the place had 2 humans on duty who were half awake. Had to carry my luggage to the room on the first floor, no services were available. For late nite snack only untoasted bread sandwich was there. No menu. No cook, the sandwich was most probably done by the guard on duty!! the moment you enter the room, ( had booked a large corner room), a musty smell hits you, as if you entered a long closed cloak room in a dilapidated castle! the walls were lime white washed few years back, they are yellow now. AC was good and very functional. Bed was ROCK hard, with age old cotton mattress. Had 1 bed-sheet and a blanket, which didn't smell bad!! Bathroom was small. Supplied with the worst possible 10 gram soap with the most local brand shampoo packet. don't expect any toothpaste or brush. NO other facilities!! in bath, the bathtub was cracked, with hairs of previous customer visible!! And best of all, there is a soap dispenser, which is found at toilets at airports, dispensing cheap liquid soap for body wash. GREAT.
I expected food to bad, next morning, but was surprisingly good. Menu was VERY limited. But food was ok. I checked out as soon as the conference was over at 5 PM and waited at the airport which had better seats!

Room Tip: Avoid this, unless you need to go to the Bombay Hospital. Pay a bit more and choose the Internationa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The is a pretty old property, but the staff is very co operative. The rooms are quite nice and clean . The phone's were not working when i checked in, however they were immidietely fixed on bringing it to notice. The reception is also very nice and co operative.
One of the best places for dinner is Jaffer Bhais Delhi Darbar, its not even five minutes by walk.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Too fancy lobby of the West End Hotel makes a huge contrast with the shabby rooms that have cockroaches. Sheets are not washed properly. The staff is ignorant unless you keep on thrusting tips for every smile, so the client is nothing more than a walking bag of money and that feeling is very unpleasant. The hotel's delivery to the airport was the worst: they just picked some random taxi from the street and later on it came out that the driver does not even know how to get to the airport! I would not recommend to anybody and will definitely never stay there again myself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in the hotel for about 13 days and beleive me, it was the worst experience I had ever had. the service was like the that of local DHABAS, or I would even say DHABAS are far more better than the one we stayed. the hospitality of this hotel is also below average.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

very good location. old style building. We stay at Family suite, it is huge, lots of space. Except that all beds are double bed, no choice of beds. Though close to hospital, they will not come to you and ask for money. Easy to get cabs. If I go to Mumbai again, I will stay here again. Air is not good, probably due to the air outside or the air conditioner filter not clean enough.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011 via mobile

Pro's:
Big clean rooms with everything working, helpful and attentive staff, yummy buffet breakfast included, 10min walk to mumbai metro train station, taxis always right outside.
Cons:
Wifi is not free (you buy a voucher from reception).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Hotel

Address: 45, New Marine Lines, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West End Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.