We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marine Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marine Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Marine Plaza
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   29 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Big rooms, comfortable furniture, big bathrooms, decently priced great tasting food, excellent service.
Only complaint I have is on the spread for buffet breakfast. There isn't much of a variety nor very many different food to choose from

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you so much for this feedback. Its encouraging to hear the feedback on the product and service.

Your views on breakfast has been shared with our Chef and I'm sure he will look at ways at improving the spread.

I do hope this visit is one of many and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Have a Splendid Year.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    110
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
52
65
27
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

the marine plaza hotel in mumbai is an amazing hotel which is on marine drive. the hotel has an un-interrupted view of the queens necklace in mumbai which is a beauty. its location is optimum as it is close to fabulous shopping at the oberoi hotel and is in close proximity to kala ghoda and colaba causeway. the service in the hotel is amazing and so are the restaurants. it has a twenty four hour cafe which serves has an amazing mid-night buffet. it is a lovely and affordable place to stay in in mumbai.

Room Tip: sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this generous feedback.

We are truly blessed with a great location and if i may so one of the better places to be staying in Mumbai. It does go a long way in enhancing the overall experience.

We look forward to seeing you again and our very best to all back home.

Warm regards

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a collegue stayed here for a few nights with no complaints. Our room had a beautiful view and was clean and comfortable. We found where we were located we could easily walk to most of the areas we wanted to venture out to which was great. The staff were helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased to know your stay was enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you'll back .

Best Wishes from all of us here at Team HMP.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manipal, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a two day trip to Mumbai. The staff are very courteous. The wall pictures are good and depict Mumbai life very well. The hotel room is spacious with a good sized drawing room and a bedroom. The rooms did seem a bit old though, especially many of the fixtures like the tap handles, the wardrobe lock etc were not working very well. Unfortunately, we got a room that faced a construction site, hence we missed the marine drive view that the hotel is famous for. However, we made up for the same while dining in the hotel restaurant Bayview. The food was average, a bit too salty in my opinion. The view made up for everything. One can see the marine drive stretching on and on, and the sea in all its moods. We also tried their Chinese restaurant and the food there was quite good. We visited the pastry shop, however, none of the pastries looked very appetising. The buffet breakfast was quite a spread, catering to everyone's taste. The hotel also provides petit fours to every room daily and they were quite nice. We had an excellent walk on Marine drive in the evening it being a relatively non- rainy day and watched the Queen s necklace take shape. Its truly an enthralling sight !

Room Tip: Always ask for the sea facing room. I believe the view is excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for this feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay l, however I'm sure the experience would have been further enhanced had you stayed in our sea facing rooms. Ironically given the inventory relative to the requests that come in for the same, it just gets impossible at times to meet every request.

The few points of consideration that have been raised is not lost, and will revisit them with the concerned people.

We do hope to see you again and our very best to all back home.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and was initially was wondering why the prices were relatively high. But once I checked, I realised it is all about location, location, location.

Coming to the rooms mine seemed a little old school with a mini-drawing room attached. It is pretty spacious by Mumbai standards. The service was fine - but nothing to write home about. Food was consistently good. But we had an event on the roof top at the poolside and the ambiance there was simply superb - with a view of the Arabian sea and '60s buildings!

While the rooms were expensive the food is priced quite attractively - especially their pastries!

Room Tip: Take a sea-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest

We couldn't be happier in knowing your stay went off well.

We are truly blessed with a great location and when combined with our FB offerings and rooms, its does put us at an advantage.

We pride ourselves on being small with a big heart and look forward to seeing you again.

Have a Great Year.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was the second stay at this hotel for my family. I also recommended it to my friends who reported that the standards and hospitality surpassed their expectations.

Comments from my family that stayed there. "Ideally situated for tourists and close to Colaba Causeway. The facilities at the hotel from the lobby, to the rooms, bedding to die for and dining area were of international standards. Well spoken and welcoming staff were constantly visible whether you were entering or leaving the hotel. Well informed Concierge Service proved valuable on several occasions and offered helpful advice with regard to dining, shopping and entertainment in and around the area. What was praiseworthy was their visibility without being in your face.

All in all a delightful experience and will definetly return on our next visit to India."

Room Tip: Corner suite rooms still have excellent view of the Arabian Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for this vote of confidence.

We are truly excited in knowing that this was your second visit and we were able to meet your expectations once again and have hopefully build a long term customer.

Thats what we strive to achieve on a daily basis.

From all at Team HMP - Best Wishes and look forward to seeing you all again.

Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Area where the hotel is located is called as Queens Neck less and the hotel is definitely is a diamond in the neck less. excellent location, friendly staff adds value to the property.
Very splendid view of the sea especially during rainy season from the bayview restaurant is unmatched. when the water splashes till the main road and across. Prices are a bit on higher side. Lack of parking place is a drawback. Desserts are awesome. Captain will be ready to help and serve. Drinks on the other side are good too ( i dont drink so cant comment much on this). All the commercial places and offices are nearby including tourist places. If ur destination is far then no problem, mumbai has one of the best transport system in the world, be it bus, train, metro, cab or auto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPMumbai, Manager at Hotel Marine Plaza, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Nothing gets us greater joy, that the thought of knowing a guest has a wonderful stay and we are every bit, as excited, in knowing our actions did go a long way in defining your stay.

I'm sure our entire team will be energised further with this generous feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards
Derek D'souza
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marine Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marine Plaza

Address: 29 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#26 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#27 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Marine Plaza 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Arabian Sea at the end of Marine Drive in Mumbai is the Hotel Marine Plaza, a fashionable, luxury hotel setting international standards in hospitality and comfort. Our fantastic and spell-binding location is best enjoyed from the rooftop terrace garden or the coffee shop. Most of our well appointed bedrooms and suites have the calming view of the Arabian Sea. The Glass bottom pool and Jacuzzi on top of this fabulous 5-story atrium bring out the ‘Unique Marine Experience’ concept of this Boutique Hotel. Hotel Marine Plaza prides itself on the friendly and courteous way it looks after its Guests. Our service is truly impeccable. Our rooms have been given five - star treatment with every amenity to soothe and satisfy the Guest.The international character of the hotel is emphasized by an English Pub 'Geoffrey's' , an Award winning Chinese restaurant, 'The Oriental Blossom' which serves a tempting blend of the familiar with the extraordinary, and 'The Bayview', a 24-hour Restaurant , serving light meals and tantalizing desserts against a panoramic view of the Arabian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marine Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Plaza Mumbai
Hotel Marine Plaza Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marine Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.