We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option in South Mumbai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gordon House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gordon House Hotel to your Saves list
The Gordon House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5,Battery Street ,Apollo Bunder | Appolo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Delhi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Option in South Mumbai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Gordon House was referred to me by a friend. His words were - when I don't get to stay at the TAJ (for those who are not aware, The Gordon House is just behind Taj at gateway of India).

With this in mind, I was expecting high standards from the Hotel - and I was certainly not disappointed. Right from reservation to check-in and during my 3 day stay at the hotel.

Location - Excellent location in Colaba. Everything, great eating joints, street shipping, sea is right at your doorstep.

Rooms - Spacious, Ample, well furnished and Clean (including the loos).

Management - The Manager (Mr Avisnash) was very helpful throughout as were the rest of his staff.

Food - The breakfast is elaborate (given this is not a big starred hotel). Selection of Paranthas, Eggs made to choice, Fresh juice, cheese, fruits, Cereals, cold cuts et.al

Budget - We got a deal of INR 6500 including taxes and Breakfast and Free & fast wifi - which I consider to be spot on.

The Icing on the Cake is their Pan Asian Restaurant - ALL STIR FRY. While I was tempted to try all meals there, unfortunately could check it out only for 1 dinner. Very Happy with the quality and Quantity of food served. The small, but well stocked Bar within the restaurant has decent collection and pricing


OVERALL - I would recommend this place Full On

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    20
    11
    25
See reviews for
22
32
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I had heard a lot of good things about this hotel in the past, decided to try it while travelling on business recently, and must say all was correct, very conveniently located in Colaba very close to Gateway of India, Bade-Mia (if you enjoy rustic mumbai treats) Cafe Mondegar, Leopold and The iocnic Taj Hotel...

Good breakfast would not call it lavish but wholesome, nice clean room, clean bathrooms, good internet overall great value for money, I was a bit worried when I read reviewers talking about a nightclub at the Hotels and it getting noisy so checked before making the booking and was confirmed that Night Club is shut now with no plans to reopen it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a good option if you are in Mumbai. it was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there a few years ago, and I was not disappointed.
Spacious room, clean bathroom, great shower. Good guest amenities provided. free Wi-Fi, which was great. The stir fry restaurant in the building serves great food, the breakfast though I thought was average.
Great location, walking distance to the gate of India, the ferry's to Elephanta, the Taj Hotel.
in a buzzing alive area, restaurants, pubs, shopping all a few steps away.
The staff are great, helpful and accommodating.
Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clean good budget hotel in the heart of Colaba. Good for both business travellers as well as tourists. Rooms were clean and housekeeping was done daily. The breakfast spread was elaborate and food is tasty. They ran out of juice but immediately replaced with another flavour. A good stay overall. Recommend it for staying in this part of Mumbai.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Arrived late around 3:30am. I had paid for the whole day to avoid any delays during checking-in... but they did not have my reservation handy and I had to pay again so i could sleep and they said they would look for the reservation during the day. Woke up and the manager came to me saying they had found the reservation in their spam box. But did not offer any compensation for the delay in the arrival. Breakfast is served in a fancy restaurant which is nice and with variety. The rooms are nice I had the triple room, had asked for a double and a single bed but did not honor that. The main thing here is the location few steps from Gate of India and Taj Mahal hotel and also around several restaurants, cafes, stores. When in Gate of India you can catch the boat to go to Elephanta Island and also some other spots. The street is safe likewise Mumbai, of course it is a big city so the common sense is the rule. From the airport to the hotel you get a prepaid taxi which is around $700 rupees. Taxis are all over and they are cheap eventhough the drivers always try to take advantage but if you know the distances you can ask for a better price. If you ask for meters they will do it if the distance is far, but it is still cheap. Mumbai is nice city but traffic is chaotic but if you know that in advance you can have some fun out of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights while I was in Mumbai for business. Having read all of the reviews about the noise from the nightclub I was quite worried, but don’t worry, the club has closed down so when I stayed (late March 2014) there was no bothersome noise and I had a perfect night’s sleep.

The hotel is in a brilliant location, just a very short walk from the Taj Palace Hotel and the Gateway to India and there a numerous tasty restaurants on the doorstep (The Table is particularly good, just next door)

Staff were both friendly and very helpful and I found the room to be very comfortable, clean and secure with every facility available that I required.

The hotel is a lovely small boutique hotel and each floor has a different theme which makes for a pleasant and enjoyable stay. If you like the big fancy hotels with chandeliers in the lobby, this isn’t the place for you, but if you want somewhere clean, safe, and comfortable in a brilliant location I cannot recommend the Gordon House Hotel highly enough.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had my hopes high that the bad reviews in regards to the night club was exaggerated.
Well, there were not. It is a night mare and a real mystery who the f... got the insane idea of placing a night club inside a so called boutique hotel, which is not cheap at all.
It is a big shame to a in all other respects nice hotel with great location, good breakfast, nice rooms, and a friendly and helpful staff.
But - taking into consideration the risk of new opening times and special arrangements - I am not sure I would dare to go there again even though it was on a night without night club (Sunday to Thursday both included). Difficult to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon House Hotel

Address: 5,Battery Street ,Apollo Bunder | Appolo Bunder, Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gordon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Gordon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Hotel
Gordon House Mumbai
Gordon House Hotel Mumbai
The Gordon House Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gordon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.