We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai to your Saves list
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

AMAZING! We arrived again in style and were received as appreciated guests, were showed to our room and what a beautiful view! I love the beach! And to hear the ocean is amazing! In the evening we had a dinner at the kebab restaurant and our waiter I believe it was a supervisor was super helpful, even though it was for one night it was a great stay, wish i could stay here longer. Btw if you have time visit the chocolate cafe take the chocolate fondant delicious!
One negative thing, is that the stay was given to us by one of our friends on my name, however when arriving they were not addressing me anymore but only my husband I believe that is not polite and rather rude. I believe if the reservation is on the females name (mine) to address the female and not just ignore me and only talk to the husband.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to share your experience with us!

We are glad to note that you've had an amazing stay at the Hotel. I've noted your comment regarding not being addressed during Check-in. I would like to apologize for the same. I've taken it up with our Training Manager and assure you of enhanced service levels on your next visit to the Hotel.

My team and I would love to welcome you again!


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    178
    78
    23
    30
See reviews for
104
58
42
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is wonderful I felt at home a great place to hang out, stayed here for a week and I'm happy, nice place, my room had a very comfortable, nicely decorated is also a balcony high price but worth it, good location all ok

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai!

We would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is nicely situated on Juhu beach. It is not recommended to swim in the sea, but there is a nice swimming pool in the hotel. Breakfast is good and room service/restaurants are good as well, albeit a bit pricy. One disadvantage: Juhu beach is far from almost everything you may want to visit in Mumbai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Marlies J,

Greetings from Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai! Thank you for taking time out to share your experience with us.

As you may know, the Hotel is located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport and is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the Hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel.

My team and I would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a perfect place for north mumbai based business trip followed by leisure or a day before going back to your country. This is truely a resort. The entire ambience here is great. It makes you relaxed even while going out for meetings. No heighted lobbies and shiny capsule elevators, no fountains but some artwork from sea shells and a small trolley parked with tea-coffee and refreshment on arrival at the reception, Seated check-in is another feature. A bakery shop and gift shop good for those who dont wish to go out and shop.
Kala Niketan is best place to purchase tuniques / Kurtas / Salwar-Churidar in Silks, wedding and fancy printed sarees and Men's festive or partywear. Watch a film at PVR / cinemax nearby at Dynamix mall - the Juhu area has been the residence of movie stars and party locations of launch of bollywood films and "Muhurat". Good rooms with view on sea. Private exit to beach. ENJOY - Foccasia sandwich served by Francis and others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to provide Tripadvisor users with such a detailed review. It is indeed our pleasure to have you stay at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Juhu, Mumbai!

I've shared your experience with my team and it serves as a motivation to all. We would love to see you again on your next trip to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 09th June with my family. It has an amazing location, bang on Juhu beach. I chose this hotel mainly due to its wonderful location. It is not a big property. Lobby and restaurants are small as compared to Luxury hotel standards but this hotel has it's own elegance and charm which makes it one of the best hotels in Mumbai. Food is good but breakfast should have more variety of Indian dishes.Unfortunately, we were welcomed by heavy rains in Mumbai. There was no scope of moving out of the hotel as it kept raining throughout my one day stay. Had the hotel not been on the beach we could not even go to the beach due to heavy showers and my daughter would have been very disappointed. Thankfully, we were right on the beach all the time.We could have enjoyed our stay at this hotel a lot more if we were there on a bright Sunny day.

Wonderful hotel, Wonderful location !! Keep it up SUN n SAND !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Sanjay Singh,

Thank you for your kind wishes. I've noted your comments regarding Breakfast and shared your feedback with our Chef.

It would indeed be our pleasure to welcome you at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai during your next visit to the city.


With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is my second visit here and I really enjoy the mix of old and new. The rooms are a good size. I took a superior room and the little extra was worth it for the wonderful view. Staff are helpful and friendly. The only negative was the slow service on the front desk for check out.
When I visit Mumbai with my husband we will certainly stay here.

Room Tip: upgrade for a sea view... well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for patronizing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to share your experience with us! We have noted your comments regarding service levels during Check-out and shall have corrective measures put in place.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had a great experience with this hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly. Many choices about dining but you can also walk to a close by area with many little restaurants. The beach is nice to walk along and the swimming pool refreshing; furthermore, I had a nice transfer to the airport early in the morning. It was a nice place to relax after a month travelling all over India before heading back home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to note that your stay was relaxing before heading back home. Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai and taking time out to write about your experience on Tripadvisor.

We would love to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai!

With warm regards,

Gulshan Arora
VP/GM
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai

Address: 39, Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#42 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#63 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun-n-Sand, Mumbai is India’s first beachfront hotel which was commissioned in 1962. A serene hotel, located right on the Juhu Beach, at a short 20 minute drive from the airport is conveniently located for both business and leisure travelers. The major attractions around the hotel include the ISKON Temple and the Prithvi Theatre located just 5 minutes away. There are many shopping and entertainment areas near the Hotel. The outdoor swimming pool is just footsteps away from Juhu beach. AQUA, The 24 hour coffee shop has a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea and is rated as one of the best on the beach. The Kabab Hut serves authentic Awadhi cuisine and is very popular amongst hotel guests and local residents. The Kabab Hut is worth a special night devoted to the exquisite food, service, and ambiance. Rejuvenate at 'Ocean View', the fully equipped health club which overlooks the Arabian Sea. Sohum, the spa will pamper you, and don't be surprised if you bump into a Bollywood star. Your stay at India’s first beach front hotel with its first class service is sure to make your trip memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Sand Hotel Mumbai
Sun n Sand Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.