We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Lands End

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Lands End to your Saves list
Taj Lands End
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Band Stand, Bandra West | Bandra, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 050, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extended Stay Offer
Ranked #7 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights with work. Very nice plush hotel. Room was very nice, and little touches were thoughtful, eg rose put on bed each day, slippers next to bed, bathrobe etc etc. Hotel food was perfect, gym was large, airy and very well equipped. Easy to walk out of the front of hotel and turn right and walk past the beach.

Staff were welcoming. Hotel very good, high level of security. Room great. WiFi chargeable. Laundry service. Taxis available, we were collected from the airport (arrived after midnight), cost of taxi transfer with uniformed driver was 2596 rupees.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1210, was a very nice room with all usual facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    395
    76
    19
    11
See reviews for
199
224
136
764
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

one of the best hotels to stay in the heart of suburbs .. amazing view from the rooms .. great hospitality .. and gr8 food too @ masala bay ..
stay in the club rooms and pamper urself to exclusive check-in counters and seperate breakfast areas ..
i had gone on ma anniversary and was greeted by the best of flowers n a spcl dessert complimentary ..

Room Tip: opt for rooms on the higher floors and request for an upgrade ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I arrived at 5 a.m. and was greeted by the duty manager and two lovely young ladies, one with a welcome drink the other with a wonderful lei. at 5 a.m.! Now you know that has to be a great hotel. The very nice room had black out shades, we put a DND sign on the door and phone and slept until 3 p.m. without a single disturbance. Nice drinks around the pool at sunset and a great dinner in the Chinese restaurant later. Truly hospitable people in a lovely setting with all rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean. It's not downtown, but has its own hip neighborhood and frequently has many Bollywood people hanging around.

Room Tip: they're all good--they all have views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Taj Lands End is nothing short of amazing. The service was out of this world, the beds super comfortable and the heated loo seat was a brilliant. I honestly cannot find a single negative about the hotel.

I stayed here for four nights and from check-in to check-out, all the staff without exception were kind, attentive, polite and helpful.

Some people have commented on how far it is from the city centre but I found it refreshing to be away from Mumbai's mad traffic and constant noise. The Worli Sea Link means that getting to the other side takes half the time it used to so I can't find a reason complain about the location either.

All in all, this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed on the 22nd Floor which is their Luxury Floor - can you imagine that being a upper end hotel and where you are paying a bomb to stay there they still want to charge you for Wi Fi in your room - it's not the money but the thought behind this which leaves me to think what is the Taj guest philosophy?
Charge $10 more and give it free!
Poorly designed bathrooms - the shower door opens inside and hits the shower head every time. Worse is the washbasin design - there is a gap between the wall and the basin so if you drop something you need to be lucky to be able to locate it.
The staff is the redeeming feature - excellent House Keeping staff as well at Ming Yang.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for business. Hotel is located in northern suburb of Mumbai right next to the ocean. There is a nice land end park as well. I have been told by hotel staff, a lot of Indian movie stars living around. But for first time visiting the city, it is so far away from the city centre and it is such a down side for my first trip to Mumbai.

Check in was fantastic, my travel agent even organised this little VIP welcome ceremony for me. The staff dressed up in traditional Indian dress welcomed me, checked in have done in my room. Room is on 22nd floor, beautiful renovated, modern facilities, comfortable bed, good internet connection. So Thank you! Restaurants and lobby are modern and up to date, but the spa and sauna is so dated.

However the service is so inconsistent, most of time you have been under serviced or over serviced at different part of hotel. For example, when you half naked in the sauna, staff constantly coming offering you water or ask you "do i need a help?". well if you could leave me alone a bit that would be great. Staff are also treated people differently, I have two Indian PhD students visited me at hotel, they were questioned and treated really rudely by security guards. I have to go complaint the way they have been treated to the manager. They did not wear the best suits to enter the hotel but they are the best brain for India.

Food was fine for breakfast lunch and dinner, but nothing outstanding. Breakfast in fact is the less impressed through my India trip. There is no restaurants or shops around so you can hardly go anywhere. I had all my meals at hotel. Hotel attracts a lot of overseas Indian staying, I had couple of conversations in the lifts, they seem really enjoyed the master-servant style of service and the name of "Taj".

I missed out visiting the city of Mumbai because of the location, I have to come back again and stay in the city centre.

Room Tip: choose rooms above 21 floor! they are much better than the floors down below
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was our best stay in India over 9 days. The service is impeccable but not overbearing, The rooms (especially the second category and above) are fantastic, with nice touches and a 5.1 surround sound system which helps. The heated toilet seats were novel to say the least

Location is a out of the Colaba and Marine drive area, but the Worli Sea Link solves that problem and it's only half an hour to the other Taj.

Recommend staying here on a visit to Mumbai!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Lands End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Lands End

Address: Band Stand, Bandra West | Bandra, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 050, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#6 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#7 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#8 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Lands End 5*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers the ideal blend of business and leisure with easy accessibility to the Bandra-Kurla, Andheri and Worli business districts as well as the domestic and international airport.Taj Lands End Mumbai is modern, but like all Taj hotels, reflects India's warm and heartfelt traditions of hospitality.Nestling in Bandra, an elite suburb of Mumbai, in the heart of the emerging business district of Mumbai, Taj Lands End boasts the city's finest restaurants, conferencing, banqueting, and business centre facilities. It's unique location makes the Taj Lands End an ideal choice for the traveler offering the best of both the worlds - business as well as pleasure. Strategically located close to the Bandra-Kurla, Andheri and Worli business districts, this hotel provides the ultimate in modern facilities and convenience. The hotel is situated 9 kms from the international and 8 kms from the domestic airport.Taj Lands End, Mumbai offers the best of both worlds breathtaking views of the sea and the energy of city life. The hotel is located in the heart of the new Bandra, which buzzes with activity day and night.Taj Lands End offers some of the city's finest accommodation, dining experiences, and comprehensive conferencing and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Taj Lands End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Lands End Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Taj Lands End Mumbai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Lands End, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.