We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Mumbai to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400021, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Offer- Suites@ INR 24,000
Ranked #1 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location is great right on the marine drive. The room was big and spacious, very slick and spotless. Our room was upgraded and the views were amazing. The service is excellent a butler is always available. We had dinner at Fenix the food was great they have many cuisines loved the red snapper.. Highly recommend this hotel for stay in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your review of The Oberoi, Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to note you will recommend The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the Butler team and the Chefs at Fenix, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    141
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
161
268
89
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

One of the finest hotel in terms of location, service,cost, hospitality in Mumbai, India. Food variety, taste are good. Types of Alcohol and Cost is reasonable. The people are user friendly and my friends and relatives enjoyed the location and courtesy of Hotel Staff. The Rental car service and Taxies are readily available.

Room Tip: Best location of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the various cuisines served at our restaurants, the location and most importantly the friendly service provided by our staff.

Your generous praise of our team members is very encouraging and will motivate them to scale greater heights of excellence.

I hope you visit us again, and give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. absolutely beautiful and tranquil. The security is excellent. Safety is my priority when visiting any other country. The staff and the stay was pleasant. Will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We are delighted to read your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor and to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Safety and security is of utmost importance to us and we are happy to note that you felt very safe at our hotel.

Thank you for your encouraging feedback.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Every stay at an oberoi hotel is memorable.The one at Mumbai more so. The hotel is luxurious, offers all the amenities you can ask for and has an excellent set of staff for whom customer satisfaction is the way of life. Any request, however odd it might be are taken care. It just make you want to come back again and again to the hotel.

the location is great. Right in the heart of south mumbai, its a great stop to see the city's sights and sounds. Since the business hub has now moved to the bandra kurla complex, it may require some travel for work, but its still one of the best hotels for a stay.

The food is nice and if one is inclined to try out something else, there are numerous restaurants within 10-15 mins walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review The Oberoi, Mumbai, on TripAdvisor and for staying with you.

We are delighted to note that you had a memorable experience and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

The Oberoi, Mumbai is located on Marine Drive, the famed boulevard along the coast in South Mumbai. An hour's drive from the airport and only minutes away from the business, financial and entertainment districts, the hotel is also very well located to visit the city’s tourist attractions. The location of the hotel is definitely a strength.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I do hope that you will stay with us again, and soon.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been in Mumbai for business and stayed Oberoi for two days. First day I stayed a room which has city view. It was big and very clean. Furnitures were new and luxury. For my second day in Oberoi Mumbai I stayed executive suite ocean view. It was adorable. The suit has living area, bathroom and bedroom. You can see the ocean from anywhere in the room even you can see it from the bathroom. It was rellay good and luxury hotel. There were many restaurants inside of the hotel (Italian, Indian etc.) I would like to talk about the lobby a little bit. It was very big and impressive. There was a red pianno in the lobby, according to me it was a symbol which make me remember this excellent hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sparing your time to post a review on TripAdvisor.

It makes us happy to note that you were impressed by the accommodation and the lobby and that you will remember The Oberoi, Mumbai as an excellent hotel.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at The Oberoi, Mumbai, each time you visit Mumbai.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The Oberoi Hotel is beautiful. It has an openness and simplicity that I found most pleasant. It also benefits from amazing staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our accommodation was superb. Spotless and with every amenity. We have stayed in Oberoi Hotels before this one and they all offer the same exacting standard. It is expensive, but 6* never does come cheap.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your feedback about our team members and the accommodation.

The team is our strength and your appreciation is very motivating.

I do hope we continue having opportunities to welcome you back.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. It is an exceptional hotel with great service and staff. Our room was nicely appointed with very comfortable sheets and mattress. We had a partial seaview which was fine but we were really expecting an upgrade as per our initial reservation terms but were told that it was "based on availability". Kind of a cheesy way to lure customers at time of booking. Nevertheless, our stay was comfortable as expected from this chain. The reason for not giving it five stars is that it still did not compare to some of our other stays in Asia in hotels of this category. For starters, complimentary WIFI during one's stay should be a standard and not just 30 minutes per day as sometimes the connection was unreliable. The pool area just does not match the eloquence of the rest of the property. And, the food at the restaurants is just mediocre but still very expensive. The location of the hotel is fine near the sea but a hassle if, like us, you want to rely on getting your own transport as drivers will automatically try to cheat you when you say "Oberoi". All the major sights are close enough by a short drive/walk. Overall, we enjoyed our luxurious stay after a month of travel in India.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

With regard to your feedback regarding the internet, we offer various packages which include internet on a complimentary basis. We also offer 30 minutes of complimentary internet to all our guests. I am sorry to note that you had difficulties with the connection. I have personally shared your feedback with the IT Manager to investigate this lapse and to rectify the fault if any.

The hotel has a fleet of Audi A8 Limousine, which could be booked through the Concierge desk, we also have car available on an hourly basis. On your next visit for car rentals, please try our cars as our chauffeurs are very knowledgeable and courteous.

The taxies in Mumbai run on Government meters. However, at times the taxi driver might attempt to over charge a passenger who is not from Mumbai. Please be assured that we will take this up with the Taxi Association.
Whenever you plan visit again, please write to Mr. Varun Chhibber, Hotel Manager at varun.chhibber@oberoihotels.com or to me at, devendra.bharma@oberoihotels.com. We will be happy to make arrangements for you.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.