We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The drawn rose pettle bath with the evening turndown service was wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oberoi, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oberoi, Mumbai to your Saves list
The Oberoi, Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400021, India   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Offer- Suites@ INR 24,000
Ranked #1 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The drawn rose pettle bath with the evening turndown service was wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and the staff were perfection. Friendly, helpful, clean, accommodating. The room service food was great. The spa is reasonably priced for such upscale treatments. The lobby always smells like fresh flowers. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are happy to receive your feedback and to note that you enjoyed your stay and the ambience of the hotel. Your feedback is very encouraging and motivating.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    141
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
161
267
88
380
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very nice surprise in a middle of a super crowded/noisy city like Mumbai, extremely pleased with the level of knowledge of staff, their manner, politeness , and over all pleasant mood of the hotel.
Very very clean and nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Oberoi, Mumbai and for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Your generous praise of our team members is very rewarding and inspiring. Such feedback motivates them to strive harder.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Warm regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Oberoi in Mumbai, was by far the best hotel experience I've ever had. From the moment my husband and I arrived, everything went smoothly. Check in was done in our room, and was quick and efficient. We had a sea view suite, and it was absolutely gorgeous. The bathroom had all of the amenities, and I felt safe brushing my teeth because all of the water in the hotel was filtered. At breakfast, everyone already knew our names, which was a bit disconcerting, but every person at the hotel made a concerted effort to make our three day stay enjoyable. Nariman point isn't in the center of the city, and it is very quiet. But we took taxis everywhere, and it was very inexpensive to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi during your recent visit to Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very delighted to note that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that the service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

I have addressed your feedback regarding breakfast service with the concerned Department Head and the restaurant team at Fenix.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too very distant.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Both the architecture and the way this hotel is run are impressive. From the outside, more resemblance to Fort Knox, once you are inside, the lobby open up to the 22 floor and is of spotless white marble. The rooms a cutting edge modern design, bath room with free standing tube behind a milk glass separation ... European style fixtures etc.

Staff is very efficient and helpful. The swimming pool outside services the purpose and I appreciated it a lot after 16h of meetings in Mumbai and endless hours in the cab. The spa needs needs a revamp. The Italian restaurant run by an Chef from Naples (!) offers international cuisine that after 2 weeks in India is a welcome alternative, even for India lovers like me.

One word of caution though on the location. If you need to do business mid town, it may take you up to 2 hours to get there - you better stay mid town in such a case. If transport is not an issue and you can afford this pace, likely the best choice. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better is you view of the ocean or city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you were impressed by the architecture and the design of the hotel.

I have noted your feedback regarding the Spa. We will review the facility.

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

I do hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again, in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Congratulations to Hotel Manager - Varun Chhibber and his team for running a great hotel. We were visiting Mumbai and stayed for the 3 nights in June. Everything was wonderful about this place. Special thanks to the pool side team who always brought us treats and refreshments and to the gentleman singing in the bar lounge ( who sang an amazing song for our wedding anniversary). We enjoyed our room and the very helpful/friendly staff. We hope to make this hotel our home away from home whenever in Mumbai!

Best,
James Robertson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Oberoi to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

We are delighted to note that experience at the hotel was most enjoyable.

Your generous praise has been shared with the band at The Eau Bar, the Pool team and especially Mr. Varun Chhibber for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Mumbai.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sèvres
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed two nights at Oberoi Mumbai end July 2013 and must say that they have overcome all expectations. Check-in service is highly efficient (I had arrived at 1.00am) and they upgraded me in a luxury bayview suite. The Fenix restaurant is offering a very important range of meals from European to Indian as well as many japanese specialties. At any time and in all places of the hotel, including room service the service is the best you can get. It will be difficult to get better (may be in another Oberoi resort). You can go there without any doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We also thank you very much for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I normally stay at the Trident Nariman Point in Mumbai which is a ‘sister’ hotel to The Oberoi in Mumbai. This is the first time that I have stayed at the Oberoi and what a wonderful hotel. The hotel is linked to the Trident which is great as you can select which restaurants you want to eat at. The luxury and service at this hotel is wonderful and flawless. Between my local agent (Travelite India) and the hotel we were upgraded to an Ocean View Premier Suite and wow it was incredible. On arrival whilst we were in our rooms ‘checking-in’ my daughter was chatting to Chaitanya (Front Office) and she happened to mention that she loved Mango’s – well needless to say when we came back from shopping she had been given the most unbelievable mango desert with a personalised note to her from Chaitanya….now that’s attention to detail. The suite was comfortable, spacious and had every amenity under the sun. My daughter used the gym facilities and was blown away from the personalised service she received from the Gym instructor – he kept giving her water and making sure she was okay and comfortable. The concierge and front desk staff are all wonderful, helpful, and happy and are literally at your beck and call 24/7 like all the Oberoi’s. The porter’s and security staff are also great – making you feel comfortable on arrival. No request is to big or small at this hotel and this is another property that I would most defiantly recommend for both the leisure and business traveller alike. I would like to compliment the GM’s from all the Oberoi’s that I have stayed in but I would also like to compliment the Management team that train their staff…

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are the best as the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOberoi_Mumbai, General Manager at The Oberoi, Mumbai, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your family and you stay at The Oberoi, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay and that you enjoyed the ambience, service and the facilities of the hotel.

Your feedback is very motivating and inspires the team to strive harder towards excellence.

Your generous compliments have been shared with Mr. Chaitanya Sharma, for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and thank you for recommending The Oberoi, Mumbai.

Kind regards,
Devendra Bharma
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oberoi, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi, Mumbai

Address: Nariman Point, Mumbai (Bombay) 400021, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Oberoi, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Oberoi Bombay
The Oberoi Mumbai
Oberoi Hotels Mumbai
Oberoi Hotel Bombay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oberoi, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.