We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privileged memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taj Mahal Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Taj Mahal Palace to your Saves list
The Taj Mahal Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Privileged memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

There is no hotel chain in the world which pampers n gives amazing services to its guests as Taj group does.

We stayed for one night at Taj Mahal place in old wing
We were given sea view room and were welcomed with traditional Tilak garlands and welcome drink
Soon we started on heritage tour which lasted for around 45 mins and enlightened us on rich heritage and history of hotel
Staying in taj is a wonderful experience because the staff are so warm and well trained that u really feel special and welcomed
Rooms are good complete with modern amenities and we really enjoyed gateway of india view
Would definately visit again in future.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai.

We are glad to learn about your appreciation for the informative “heritage tour” and “warm and well trained staff”.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai for another “enjoyable stay” soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,339
    504
    145
    33
    36
See reviews for
441
1,068
287
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on business hotel staff really attentive and helpful. Room was spotless and perfectly laid out. Don't miss out of the view from the restaurant on the 18th floor at night and the foods good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the old and iconic wing of the hotel and we were quite impressed by the ambience, the refined decor and the spacious rooms. A must - great location as well. Customer service also up to the standards

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us on Tripadvisor.com.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind Regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

The staff are perfectly professional and helpful. they cant do enough. The rooms are updated, marble, seamless glass, balconies, and great views. The hotel great rooms are majestic. The value is very good. I originally booked us in a good boutique hotel near by but couldn't get the train tickets so changed to the Taj and let the travel desk get the train tickets.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We started in the Tower wing and due to some problem with other bookings managed to get moved to the Palace Wing. Wow. Fantastic. Beautiful old style butler service in one of the nicest room I've ever stayed in (and that includes Bellagio, Las Vegas). Looking over the Arabian Sea and the Gateway to India. What an experience.
This is one place we will remember for a very long time

Room Tip: Palace wing overlooking the Gateway to India if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us on Tripadvisor.com.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind Regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Truly amazing and beautiful place to stay. Steeped in history, gloriously well-kept with impeccable service. We were upgraded to a Palace room and it was incredibly luxurious. We ate in several of the numerous restaurants and the food was delicious in all of them. The pool was immaculate. There is nothing to fault this hotel - a lush oasis to return to after a hectic day in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Palace room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai. We are delighted that you were satisfied with your room and our dining facilities lived up to your expectations.

Thank you also for your kind words regarding our pool, this courtyard truly is a tranquil “oasis” in the heart of Mumbai.

We look forward to welcome you back and “wow” you once again.

Kind Regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

An excellent hotel with rich history and heritage, in an excellent location. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops nearby. Stayed in the palace wing overlooking the quiet street. If you want to see the chaos that is Mumbai, stay in the other wing or rooms overlooking the Gateway.

The breakfast was stupendous! The staff, at your service. Our room, first class. The hotel is a welcome retreat after a chaotic day out on the streets of Mumbai.

Stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to share your feedback about your recent stay at The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai.

We are delighted that you chose to stay at our Palace Wing during your trip to Mumbai and enjoyed your stay to the fullest. Your compliments about the breakfast offer and service will be shared with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai for another “welcome retreat” soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: 15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Mumbai and The Taj Mahal Palace are dramatically intertwined. The hotel is Mumbai’s first harbour landmark (built 21 years before the Gateway of India) and the site of the first licensed bar in the city. For more than a century, the Taj has played an intrinsic part in the life of the city, hosting Maharajas, dignitaries and eminent personalities from across the globe. Today it is a Leading Hotel of the World and favourite destination for discerning business travellers. A treasure-trove of invaluable memorabilia, there is a story to tell behind every pillar, a landmark deal in every boardroom, and a storied celebration under every awning. Come be a part of the legend.Overlooking the Gateway of India with a panoramic view of the bay, every one of the 560 rooms including 44 suites are the perfect blend of rich history and modern convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taj Mahal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.