We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A True Masterpiece"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taj Mahal Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Taj Mahal Palace to your Saves list
The Taj Mahal Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas & NewYear Offer
Ranked #2 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"A True Masterpiece"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The TAJ Mahal Palace & Towers Mumbai is truly a masterpiece in every aspect. Right from the time your car enters the property till the time you are escorted to your room the experience is fantastic.
Check - In: Lightning Fast
Service: Excellent is the least i can describe
Rooms: Large & Cosy
I was celebrating our new marriage in this hotel. Since it was our honeymoon the hotel decorated our rooms and did arrange a complimentary cake. My wife being Jain was not able to eat this one as it contained egg but the service staff (Himanshu) did went out of the way and came back with an eggless one which really made our day.
I would also like to thank Ms.Gunjan for educating & highlighting us on the history of TAJ during our heritage tour. Her knowledge and enthusiasm and pride of being an TAJ employee was clearly reflected in her way she conducted this heritage tour. Finally i would like to thank all the staff who made m stay really memorable.
"Looking forward to come back soon"

Room Tip: Ask for a High Floor Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,916
    418
    121
    28
    33
See reviews for
347
860
249
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (764)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have traveled all over the world and stayed at the finest hotels in each city. Nothing compares to what I just had at the Taj Mahal Palace.

There's an extraordinary sense of history that surrounds the building. It's ideally located for access to all of the sites.

You step in and it's stepping into another time, one more genteel. The city itself is beautiful and brutal, but the Taj offers an amazing escape after a long day.

First piece of advice is to spring for the Palace rather than the Tower rooms. I was immediately upgraded to the most magnificent suite with a view of the Fate Of India and the Arabian Sea.

The staff is phenomenal, so helpful, and by the second day, they treat you as if you're a regular.

The breakfast spread is sumptuous. Sitting on the veranda outdoors among the lush tropical greenery with ceiling fans was a daily treat.

The bar is really fun, great music, and fantastic patio.

Every detail has been carefully attended.

They had to drag me out of there kicking and screaming. If I could afford it, I would have never left.

Room Tip: Go for the Palace rooms. They offer the history and are beautifully appointed. I chose the view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.


Kind regards,


Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business and it was very well located with good business services and WiFi, breakfast and pool (actually it is a great pool). The service was first rate: with the most attentive and painless check-ins I have ever had; helpful concierge; prompt food and room service and easy check out. The rooms were fine with good views, but like the rest of the hotel are just starting to show their age which for the balance of the hotel is fine but a progressive refresh of the rooms would be welcome. I stayed in the new wing.

Room Tip: Try a get a room in the Old wing for their charrm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I have also noted your feedback on the quality of room in the Tower Wing and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.



Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

One of the most magnificent hotels in the world, The Taj & it's management have remained resolute in their promise to treat their guests with the utmost courtesy. Rising like a phoenix from the tragedy of 2008, it has quickly restored itself to it's old glory. The salon, the pool, the lovely restaurants & the beautiful rooms (with superb bathrooms) are all enhanced by the attention to the details & excellent service. Even the tightest security measures are carried out with exceptional politeness & efficiency. Staying here is an experience of a lifetime & I've been fortunate enough to experience that more than once.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but some double rooms are relatively smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

I have also noted your feedback on the size of the double room and appreciate your honest feedback.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I arrived as one does at 2am and was quickly bundled into a room and slept like a dream. The next morning I woke up to looking at the backside of Mumbai not a pretty site. I went down and chatted to the receptionist and for about an extra USD 25 I moved to room 806 and my world was transformed. It looked straight out onto the gates of India. The downside is if your have the doors open it is a lot more noisy. This did not bother me I liked looking out onto the hustle and bustle. Noise free when one closes the door. The rooms service is nice and efficient. Breakfast outside is a must don't sit inside go sit by the pool. However walking to fetch your food and back is a little walk well worth the effort as that area has oldy worldly charm.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.



Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This year I stayed three nights and was welcomed back like an old friend. Apart from the magnificent architecture, superb dining experiences and out of this world spa, the hotel staff make this a very special experience. All of the staff I encountered couldn't have been more helpful, professional and friendly, particularly the Historical Tour guide - nothing was too much trouble for them. They took pride in their hotel, noticed little things and anticipated needs and all went the extra yard for their guests. A particular incident stands out - I lost the lower portion of an earring - not an expensive earring but one of great sentimental value to me. After looking around my room and retracing my steps, I mentioned it to several staff members just in case someone turned it in and then, not expecting to see it again, I went to the pool. A short time later, I was approached by a security guard, Kamini, who took a complete report including photos of the remaining one and left promising to report back to me. I was overjoyed when i went back to my room and found the missing piece on the desk. I called Security and told Kamini - she didn't know but was as pleased as I was that it was found. I still don't know who found it or where it was found but what other hotel would go to so much trouble for a guest? Again, this was not the Hope Diamond! A stay in the Taj Mahal Palace is a must for anyone visiting Mumbai and the Historical Tour of the hotel is an added treat - fascinating history. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.

It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.

Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.

We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.

Kind regards,

Gaurav Pokhariyal
General Manager
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed three nights in the Palace Wing and had an excellent experience. The Taj Palace in Bombay is without a doubt, the grandest, most architecturally impressive and historic hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel is immaculately maintained, has stunning interiors (in the palace wing) and has beautiful art displayed throughout.

The rooms and bathrooms are large, ultra-luxurious and very well furnished. The beds are extremely comfortable (and enormous). The décor in the rooms is very nice, striking the right balance between old world charm and modern luxury. We had a sea facing room with a view of the Gateway of India which was lovely. A very good (and extensive breakfast) was included.

Every amenity and service you could think of is available (albeit at a price). Service is excellent and the staff are all very friendly and obliging - they all seem to have a real sense of pride in the hotel and its history, which is quite something.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmhgm_bom, General Manager at The Taj Mahal Palace, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,



Greetings from The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.



I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor further to your experience at The Taj.



It is our earnest endeavor to ensure that our guests enjoy a memorable experience and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us.



Your compliments about the staff in particular, delight me and it gives me great pleasure to share it with the team. Your kind words of appreciation for our staff members will go a long way in motivating and encouraging them to do even better in future.



Thanks ever so much for sharing your feedback.



We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Taj soon.





Kind regards,





Gaurav Pokhariyal

General Manager

The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: 15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Mumbai and The Taj Mahal Palace are dramatically intertwined. The hotel is Mumbai’s first harbour landmark (built 21 years before the Gateway of India) and the site of the first licensed bar in the city. For more than a century, the Taj has played an intrinsic part in the life of the city, hosting Maharajas, dignitaries and eminent personalities from across the globe. Today it is a Leading Hotel of the World and favourite destination for discerning business travellers. A treasure-trove of invaluable memorabilia, there is a story to tell behind every pillar, a landmark deal in every boardroom, and a storied celebration under every awning. Come be a part of the legend.Overlooking the Gateway of India with a panoramic view of the bay, every one of the 560 rooms including 44 suites are the perfect blend of rich history and modern convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taj Mahal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.