We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid restoration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Taj Mahal Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Taj Mahal Palace to your Saves list
The Taj Mahal Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Christmas & NewYear Offer
Ranked #2 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Splendid restoration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

My wife and I had promised to spend a weekend at Taj Palace once it reopened post the 2008 attacks.

We were blown away by how beautiful the hotel is and aesthetically the rooms have been done up. Only the Taj can convert an adversity into an opportunity and redo the entire hotel so beautifully. The rooms are large and the bathrooms are fabulous. Rich textures and furnishings make the look and feel like a palace.

In the heart of Mumbai city the hotel is an oasis of calm and tranquility. Palace wing guests can avail of the Palace lounge for complimentary tea/coffee, high tea and evening soft drinks and snacks.

The pool is large and fabulous.

Also do take the heritage walk to see the suites and rooms in the hotel every evening at 5 pm. Well worth it.

Truly the flagship hotel of a group as renowned as the Taj.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,911
    415
    119
    28
    33
See reviews for
346
857
247
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (761)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful old world grandeur. This is like going back in time. Amazing welcome at the airport in an air-conditioned Mercedes (did cost extra) with cold water and flannels and maps of Mumbai to look at during the 30 minute journey from the Airport. Met at the door of the hotel by a lovely man who gave us details of the amenities and showed us to our room which they had very kindly upgraded due to our 'special' holiday status. The room was beautiful, very well furnished, but by far the best thing was the view of the bay and the incredible gateway to India. This made our stay as we were able to take photo's from our window of the monument at different times of the day and it looked fabulous! We spent the day wandering around bustling Mumbai, there's plenty to see close by to the hotel and took afternoon tea in the lovely garden by the pool. We ate in the rooftop restaurant that serves Middle eastern food that evening. It was nice. Great views of the Mumbai skyline. Had a good breakfast in the morning and chatted to the lovely food and beverages manager then it was back off to the domestic airport for a flight to Kerala. All in all a wonderful experience and Im sure we'll be back again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Gateway of India!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was the 4th visit to MUMBAI and i loved this ones.

The Taj really has an aura about it, the building is beautiful and the location great, right in the heart of Colaba. The security is very reassuring and it has definitely been stepped up since the attacks. My only real gripe was with the standard of accommodation. The first twin room we were shown was quite honestly abysmal. It was tiny, old and very run down. After I complained they moved us to another twin room which was definitely better than the original room I had been shown, but still not what you would expect from a 5 star establishment like the Taj. The room was of good size, but was lacking of any real quality. No LCD TV, poor quality bath towels, and a bit worn. The room would not have looked out of place in a 3 star hotel. Apart from the room, the rest of the hotel was definitely up to standard. Service levels were high especially the concierge who we found very knowledgeable and helpful. I would stay here again provided I had one of the newer rooms.
thncx

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I loved the taj. Everything was perfect. The staff wonderful, room GEORGOUS, hotel just divine in every way. The service really sets this place apart. Take the hotel tour with Viren, the history is really incredible. Everyone is proud to work at the Taj and you feel that as soon as you walk in. You MUST stay at the taj if youbare going to Mumbai.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Taj really has an aura about it, the building is beautiful and the location great, right in the heart of Colaba. The security is very reassuring and it has definitely been stepped up since the attacks. My only real gripe was with the standard of accommodation. The first twin room we were shown was quite honestly abysmal. It was tiny, old and very run down. After I complained they moved us to another twin room which was definitely better than the original room I had been shown, but still not what you would expect from a 5 star establishment like the Taj. The room was of good size, but was lacking of any real quality. No LCD TV, poor quality bath towels, and a bit worn. The room would not have looked out of place in a 3 star hotel. Apart from the room, the rest of the hotel was definitely up to standard. Service levels were high especially the concierge who we found very knowledgeable and helpful. I would stay here again provided I had one of the newer rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I got to stay a free night at the Taj. We paid a nominal amount to upgrade to the suite in the Taj Palace wing. Note: there are 2 sections to the hotel, the "Tower" wing and the "Palace" wing. The Palace wing is the new (after the attacks) wing and the tower wing (built in 1970) of the hotel. We stayed in the Palace wing and it was extra ordinary. We were welcomed with garlands, fruits in our room and a special butler line . Our package included
- High Tea in the Sea Lounge , awesome snacks
- 24/7 access to the Palace lounge.. you can get free tea/ coffee and snacks
- Cocktail hour from 6pm- 8pm
- Cognac and chocolate tasting from 8:30-10pm
- Breakfast the next morning anywhere in the hotel.

The suite: its divided into 3 sections, the bed room, the bathroom ( further into 2 sections and its HUGE) and the living room. All flat screen TVs and there is mood lighting all through. The bed is made twice daily, in the morning and in the evening before you go to bed. We had the best sleep.

And that was just the things, there staff is amazing and very friendly. My wife and I felt very pampered and this was probably best hotel we have stayed in all our lives. I would recommend it over any hotel in Mumbai. It is a 5 star, with a lot of history ( about 108 years old), a lot of famous people and true its name, it is a "Palace".

Room Tip: If you can upgrade, stay in the Palace wing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Taj Mahal Palace is trully an extraordinary hotel with fantastic service!
It made me feel like princess Scheherazade staying in there.)
Don't miss on the introductory excursion about the history of Taj Palace that takes place every day at 5pm (free of charge).
Also worth mentioning is a great quality of beds and pillows - for extra demanding people like me, order the feather bed and various high-quality pillows (free of charge), and enjoy the royal sleep!

Room Tip: Request for featherbed and luxurious pillows(FREE)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Taj Mahal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Taj Mahal Palace

Address: 15/17 NF Road, Amrut Keslav Naik Marg | Near Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Taj Mahal Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The history of Mumbai and The Taj Mahal Palace are dramatically intertwined. The hotel is Mumbai’s first harbour landmark (built 21 years before the Gateway of India) and the site of the first licensed bar in the city. For more than a century, the Taj has played an intrinsic part in the life of the city, hosting Maharajas, dignitaries and eminent personalities from across the globe. Today it is a Leading Hotel of the World and favourite destination for discerning business travellers. A treasure-trove of invaluable memorabilia, there is a story to tell behind every pillar, a landmark deal in every boardroom, and a storied celebration under every awning. Come be a part of the legend.Overlooking the Gateway of India with a panoramic view of the bay, every one of the 560 rooms including 44 suites are the perfect blend of rich history and modern convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Taj Mahal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Mahal Palace Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Hotel Taj Mahal Palace
Taj Hotels
The Taj Mahal Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
The Taj Mahal Hotel
The Taj Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Taj Mahal Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.