We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Bombay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Maratha, Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Maratha, Mumbai to your Saves list
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sahar Andheri (E) | (ex. The Maratha Mumbai), Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India (Vile Parle East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Period Offer.
Ranked #6 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best in Bombay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

I have been to Mumbai three times and stayed in four different hotels. I would have to say that this place is the best so far. The rooms are new and do not have that "Mumbai Mold" smell so common in other properties. The staff is friendly and helpful and the food is great. The pricing is high as it is all over Mumbai but I would recommend this hotel highly especially if your business takes you to the airport area or surrounding area. This may be a bit far from Bombay city for those going to Marine Drive etc.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    298
    75
    18
    15
See reviews for
92
95
112
751
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2007

The hotel is beautiful and impeccably clean at all times. Unbelieveable service by everyone, especially the concierge team who were always available for good advice and actual help. It is very close to the international airport which, given the Bombay traffic, is a huge advantage when flying home. On the other hand, if your reason to be in Bombay is not in this area, it is too far out to head into town easily (2 hours in traffic which is the case most of the day). The swimming pool is too small to enjoy but the spa is fine and of high quality. Breakfast is good and there are quite a few high-quality restaurants on site, making up for being too far away to go out to eat in town. Overall, a great hotel with the location either a plus or a minus, depending on the purpose of your stay.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

This was my second stay at the Sheraton. I am mostly impressed by the quality of the Hotel and the friendliness of the staff.

On this trip I have two reservations.
Firstly, On the 11th Floor maintenance was in progress with workmen applying some of the most highly toxic smelling coating to pipes in the cupboards where the bathroom pipe work is accessible from the corridor. I walked down there mistakenly looking for the residents lounge. Guests were seen coming out of some of the rooms so this corridor was inhabited. I was on the 14th Floor so was not effected directly

My second complaint was the bath in my room or more specifically the rust around the plug hole. As I was tired I was looking forward to a nice bath, however the rust and having to remove the "fitted" shower mat soon put me off this.

I had dinner in the Pan Asian Restaurant and am pleased with the food, service and ambiance. If they could have a better No - Smoking policy I would have been very content.

There seem to be no end of staff but they do not appear intrusive either.

This is a good business Hotel, albeit at $275 a night it should be good.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

Maratha Sheraton in Mumbai is the most pathetic and disgusting hotel I have ever visited. With a confirmed reservation and a credit card guarantee, I reached the hotel at midnight, only to be told that I have to wait for the room for two hours. I waited for three hours, and no one attended or apologised for the same. On checcking with other guests, they mentioned that they are planning to shift to nearby hotels as it is a very common feature. I have never been treated so badly at any Sheraton worldwide. I will also write to sheraton headoffice, and never recommend such a lousy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bear, delaware
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

I stayed at the Grand Maratha during the three weeks that I was in Mumbai for work. My stay there was so pleasurable that I felt like I was on holiday the entire time I was there. I have never been treated with so much reverence and exceptional service at any hotel in the world as I was treated here. The staff was 5-star as were the accommodations, the restaurants and the in house services. If you go to Mumbai this is a hotel I highly recommend. While you're there treat yourself to a full Ayurvedic body massage at the spa

Stayed August 2003
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We stayed here only one day, but almost everything was beutiful after trip in dirty Mumbai. Room was splendid, only TV channels were quit boring and no pay TV. Food ordered to room from Peshvar was so-so for such high price

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I stayed at the hotel in mid-April, 2006. The hotel itself is one of the nicest I've stayed in - it's absolutely top notch (and that's after a fair amount of travel). Fantastic decor, great and very spacious rooms, super restaurants, nice staff. I would highly recommend it if you need or want to stay out by the airport. I have no complaints of any kind, and food was super. There are multiple restaurants, serving all sorts of different Indian Western and Asian food - all fantastic. Wireless internet service is available throughout the hotel. The only potential drawback (depending upon your needs) is it's location. While it's 5 minutes (or less) from the airport, it is at least 1-2 hours away from downtown, depending upon the traffic. It would be unfeasible to stay here, if you need or want to travel downtown (for business or sightseeing). In that case, stay downtown. However, if you don't want/need to do that, it's a fantastic hotel and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Maratha, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Maratha, Mumbai

Address: Sahar Andheri (E) | (ex. The Maratha Mumbai), Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Vile Parle East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Maratha, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ITC Maratha is one of the leading 5 star deluxe hotels in Mumbai, the commercial capital and dream city of India. The highlight of the hotel is its architecture and interior spaces. 1.75 lakh sq feet of stone, each hand carved has been used for its cladding and pillars patterned on the 18th and 19th century. The interiors are muted and subtle, with elements of both Victorian as well as Maharashtrian inspiration. It is in close proximity to the bustling business districts of north and central Mumbai, the NSE Exhibition Centre, and is a short distance from Film City, the Bombay Museum, and Borivili National Park. In addition, The Maratha is only a stone throw from the airport (2 km from the international terminal and 5 km from the domestic terminal) making it convenient for the transit traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your ITC Maratha, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Maratha, Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Itc Grand Maratha
Grand Maratha
Itc Hotel Grand Maratha Sheraton & Towers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Maratha, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.