We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Comfortable, but all is not well!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ITC Maratha, Mumbai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added ITC Maratha, Mumbai to your Saves list
ITC Maratha, Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sahar Andheri (E) | (ex. The Maratha Mumbai), Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India (Vile Parle East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Limited Period Offer.
Ranked #6 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient and Comfortable, but all is not well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at the Maratha during m recent visit to Mumbai. It is at a very convenient location to the airports. The rooms very well appointed and the restaurants were excellent!

However, there were a kinks that if addressed would make the Maratha the ideal place to stay in Mumbai. First and foremost, it took the front desk staff almost 25 minutes to check me in, that really needs to be reduced. Second, the bags reached my room after almost 1.5 hours and after repetitive calls and I eventually had to come downstairs to look for them. I did not quite expect to do this at a place like the Maratha. Finally, the staff need to be taught a lesson or two on being courteous (especially the ones waiting during breakfast). They were borderline cold and indifferent. Also, I did notice that the treatment of foreign guests was way better. This is unacceptable by any means!

Room Tip: The Peshawri is a must visit! Great food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for thoughtfully sharing your feedback. We have noted your observations on your experience with great concern. May I proffer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Your review has been taken up with the concerned head of the departments to ensure corrective steps are implemented at the earliest. We are also addressing the issues highlighted with the Head of Training.

Request you to treat this incident in isolation and give us another opportunity to serve you at the ITC Maratha. You can also reach me directly, for your next reservation and it will be our pleasure to be at your service.

With sincere regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    298
    75
    18
    15
See reviews for
92
95
112
751
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Im sitting here now in the hotel, it has all the facilities you would expect from a 5 star business hotel, the rooms are very well appointed, all the modern facilities todays business traveller requires, good gym, nice swimming pool area, there is some renovation work going on with the spa at the moment which makes access to the pool a bit tricky but otherwise ok.

My big issue is with the prices charged in this hotel, the room (haggled through business connections) has cost me £130 per night, the food and drink in all areas of the hotel is extortion for India, absolute blind rip off, i understand that usually prices are slightly inflated in hotels, this is expected but let me detail what im talking about and you can make your mind up for yourself.

Price of a single bottle of Heineken in the hotel bar £9.00 - Price of the same thing in a supermarket in the UK (£0.90) Price of the same bottle of beer in one of the really good hotels in Chennai i usually stay in £4.00 - Price of the same bottle of Beer in Claridges London £7.00 - someone needs to have a word, how can this be justified!!!!!! I employ 25 people in India and run a business out here and have never in the 7 years of coming here seen such contempt for customers through pricing.

Another example - how much does it cost to Launder a shirt? £4.50 for 1 shirt!!!! it doesn't cost me that in electricity to run my washing machine at home for a month!!!!!

The biggest rip off of all so far has been in the Peshwari restaurant, 3 of us ate, had one main course each (tiny little portion of food) a naan bread to share, and 2 beers and a soft drink and the bill £110!!!!!!! i had lunch today for 6 people in a nice little restaurant in Mumbai, we ate like kings and the bill was only £20!

Basically the summary is - if you are travelling for a big company that doesnt care about budget and is happy to pay these prices then crack on, if you are working for yourself and have an ounce of awareness of how much life outside a hotel costs then i would suggest either you eat outside the hotel and take your washing home and basically stay in the room all night and use the facilities - nice but terrible value for money - the worst value for money ive ever experienced in 30 years of life.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback of your stay. So while we are pleased that you liked the hotel, it is most unfortunate that you were not aware of the price level.
Mumbai being one of the most expensive cities in the world cost of living is very steep, further excise laws of the state and country determine the price of any product.
It is our earnest endeavour that we offer you seamless services by trained personnel and quality product to ensure that you have a wonderful experience at ITC Maratha.
We hope to welcome you back during your next stay in the city.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

To begin with, your first step into this hotel makes you lose yourself in a combination of aromatics. The beautifully laid out lobby that is plastered with welcoming faces of the ITC Staff makes you feel like you have entered a spa. Straight ahead of you lies the Maratha Coffee Shop- from which you can smell the ever so fabulous Sunday Brunch. on your left, is Peshawari- the sinful haven for Indian/Mughlai food. The expensive Rann and its aroma leave you drooling at the entrance itself. What strikes you most about this hotel, is the way the tall arching balustrades of the hotel draw you into a make believe world of the Peshwas. truly, the architecture of this hotel is beautiful- just like the interior design. You walk towards your Suite, and you know you've entered the lap of luxury. I was most impressed with the service and the food this hotel has to offer. Right from customizing your food to taking care of the smallest need possible- this hotel gives you everything you need outside your home. Kudos ITC Maratha!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are absolutely delighted by those kind words. We are glad you liked the architecture & interior of ITC Maratha. The design of the hotel has been inspired by the Maratha Dynasty. More so, utmost care is taken to maintain the property. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the Sunday Brunch at The Peshwa Pavilion, the dining experience at Peshawri serving the cuisine from traditional north west frontiers of India. At ITC Maratha, we always strive to ensure that we provide our guest the best in-class service and an out-of-the world dining experience.

We look forward to your next trip to ITC Maratha,

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My company choose where to stay on this trip and this is a hotel that was picked. We arrived at the hotel at 1 PM and I was allocated room 1475. It's a real shame that the associates in a hotel do nothing but yell , shout across and down the corridor to each other as I can't say how annoying this is when trying to sleep during the day. The service entrance for this floor was across the hall from where my room was. There are pluses though On the good side I must say that the room was immaculately clean. Very effort had been made including absolutely no creasing in the bed spread !!! The two lots of room service I had were plentiful , hot and tasty. Pity both servers slammed the door when leaving my room despite requests not to do so. In fairness , the hotel duty manager did remove one charge as a gesture of good will. This was very kind. In my opiom , this shows that the managemnet are listening The staff in reception have a can do attitude which was refreshing. Overall a reasonable stay. Good overnight sleep. Excellant food and a warm send off

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback.

We wish to acknowledge and have internally reviewed your feedback with our associates specifically relating to :

A. Noise issue resulting from conversations in the corridor.
B. Room Service associates closing the door loudly whilst exiting from the room.

We are also happy to have noticed your feedback on immaculate cleanliness of the room, the well spread out sheets, the portion sizes in room service , the empathy displayed by the duty manager and also the 'can do' spirit of our associates at the front desk.

We will most certainly improve upon the issues you have conveyed.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

i would like to say its one of the hotel in mumbai which is really located close to airport and gives us very comfortable stay and feel i was their for a stay for 2nights i would call it as it was home to back home stay ..all comforts avlb and all staff also very helpful.only i would like to recommond hotel to get renovation now..of their lobby and rooms as per new standard which other hotels have made changes i had visited hotel 5yrs b4 and now the lobby reception all ambience are same ..need immed change ..with new concepts ..at list it gives frequet vistiors a fresh and new look..being such a big and with a such a good quality of staff this these things will add few more feature in ur cap..

Room Tip: would like to req for facing swimming pool i found that location the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. Indeed, strategically located near the airports, ITC Maratha, a tree-ringed escape, is tucked amid the city’s vibrant trade and business centre making it an ideal place for conducting business.

In keeping with ITC Hotels’ tradition of building hotels whose architecture is inspired by local history and culture, the architecture of this hotel is inspired by the Maratha Dynasty. Interiors of the hotel is highlighted with the Blend of Victorian ornamentation imbued with Maharashtrian art. It is our constant endeavour to offer our discerning travellers indigenous, luxury experiences through our commitment to quality service.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again to ITC Maratha.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here in December 2012, for a business trip. All in all a very enjoyable stay, but very expensive, particularly the restaurants. I stayed three nights and it cost (converted back to sterling) over £200 per day (inc meals bought in the restaurants), Interestingly, one night we ate out in Mumbai (a 15 min taxi ride away, so not central Mumbai) and a slap up meal with beers for four cost only £38! This meal was the equal of the meals in the hotel, but at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. As for the restaurant experience we always endeavour to offer the very best in the world.
At ITC Maratha, one can enjoy the subtle flavours of different cuisines, authentic to a particular culture and culinary style.

On behalf of ITC Maratha, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Grand Maratha has its own class, was travelling with my husband and was surprized to see interiors and quality of service, they upgraded us to an enhanced room without even requesting for it. On the house happy hours between 6-8 was amazing and surprizing along with snacks. truly excellent service and worth appreciating. Location is extremely good and very near to airport.

Room Tip: Must experience the stay, top floors are amazing.g
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ITC_MarathaMumbai, General Manager at ITC Maratha, Mumbai, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Weare also happy to know that you liked the thoughtfully decoratedrooms.However, we sincerely apologize for the delay in the check-inprocedure and request you to not allow this experience to colour yourimpression of our usual standards and services.


ITC Maratha gives utmost importance to the cuisine served to our diners.It is our endeavour that the cuisine match up if not surpass the guest expectation. Keeping that in mind, we offer a wide variety of cuisinesranging from Awadhi, South Indian, East Asian, North west frontier, Mughlai and much more. We also have a concept called "ghar ka khana" for our
in-room diners which serves traditional Maharashtrian cuisine taking the indigenous experience of ITC Maratha forward.


Based on our earlier research with guests on internet connectivity, we offer our guests the following choices: Internet services are provided to guests at our hotel on a tier based system.
A. 2 Hours Short plan: Rs.300/- ++ ; B. High Speed Internet Access plan:
Rs.600/-++ ; C. Super Fast Internet plan: Rs.1200/-++ & D. Lightning Fast
Internet plan: Rs.2000/- + Tax

The Internet connection is hence available as per a price band.of USD 6 to USD 37 + Tax.

We thank you once again for your feedback and would also like to assure you of our highest services in the future.


We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ITC Maratha, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Maratha, Mumbai

Address: Sahar Andheri (E) | (ex. The Maratha Mumbai), Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Vile Parle East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#6 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Maratha, Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ITC Maratha is one of the leading 5 star deluxe hotels in Mumbai, the commercial capital and dream city of India. The highlight of the hotel is its architecture and interior spaces. 1.75 lakh sq feet of stone, each hand carved has been used for its cladding and pillars patterned on the 18th and 19th century. The interiors are muted and subtle, with elements of both Victorian as well as Maharashtrian inspiration. It is in close proximity to the bustling business districts of north and central Mumbai, the NSE Exhibition Centre, and is a short distance from Film City, the Bombay Museum, and Borivili National Park. In addition, The Maratha is only a stone throw from the airport (2 km from the international terminal and 5 km from the domestic terminal) making it convenient for the transit traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your ITC Maratha, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Maratha, Mumbai Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Itc Grand Maratha
Grand Maratha
Itc Hotel Grand Maratha Sheraton & Towers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ITC Maratha, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.