We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've been in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Escapes
Ranked #74 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels I've been in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Amazing setting, location and service. This is a 5 star paradise secluded and secure.

Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    461
    132
    72
    39
See reviews for
135
135
81
879
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My first stay in India where I havent stayed at one of the Leela hotels, so I wasnt sure what to expect (even though it is a Marriott).

Location & Security...superb! High secuirty at the grounds entrance and hotel entrance. About 20mins drive from the airport (on a sunday morning). 15mins from Powai...I used the autos....40INR each way (watch the buggers though...they will try it on....one tried to charge me 1200inr...but you get dodgy drivers all over the world. A polite "on your bike son, here is 40inr, have a good day" and walk off soon sorts it out). Hotel cars......if you are a multi billionaire..go for it. If not,dont! Get an auto or get the consierge to call you a cool cab". A fraction of the cost, safe, metered and they have a/c. Just a note on Mumbai airport. Very easy to use and I have never had a problem (arriving or departing). But be warned.....even using the business class line, the queue to get through secuirty took 2.5hours. Leave plenty of time, take some water and be smothered in mozzie spray. I went two weeks with only on mozzie bite...and then got hit 4 times in the security to queue at the airport!

Hotel Staff...Very polite and courteous, but pretty useless at times. Gave up after four attempts at getting some additional coat hangers.

Restaurants....Very expensive (no suprise). Food was always very good and the staff very happy to talk to you about the food.

Room service.....Menu limited, but service and standard very good.

Bar......God awfull bands playing typical hotel lobby cover versions. They were funny though (they didnt mean to be!).

Rooms....Bathroom...tiles missing, bulbs blown (gave up trying to get these replaced along with the coat hangers). Bed room section...very nice, spotless clean and confortable. Similar to the previous review, I had problems with noise due to a fair ground appearing under my room! The "manager I spoke to at the time said it was out of his control and didnt offer to move me. Views....I had a "hill view room". Hill view view = dirty big water pipe, slum and a hill with a a tree and what looked like a prison on it! Internet...expensive, slow and hit andmiss

Pool......Never had a problem getting a sunbed (especailly during the week...again, benefit of working UK time...breakfast, pool for a acouple of hours, then work!). Service was slow, but hey!

Public areas.....Very good.

Price/value......I booked this room on line at 10500INR room only. Two days later I checked again and they had a deal at 8500inr inc breakfast. They let me change to the lower rate without an issue. However, at check in they still had the higher rate. This was resolved without issue.

Summary....I get the impression that the hotel relies on its past glory days. It needs to modernise and smarten up both room wise and service wise. Would I go back? Yes I probably would....but that is only because of the location to where I work and the individual staff members I dealt with. I raised this issues again at check out and spoke to a lady who I belive to be a Snr Manager. Not only did she offer me a free nights stay on my next visit, but she also presented me with gifts for my children. A small touch, but one that means I may well go back. Things do go wrong, but it is how you put them right that shows your metal.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for over 30 days in Jan/Feb. In reading some of the most recent reviews, I'm not sure that we were all staying at the same hotel.

I would say that all of the hotel staff I dealt with were excellent and very customer service focused. Very professional. The best thing about the room was the bed. Almost like a Westin "heavenly bed". Great sheets, great pillows and the air conditioning was controllable so I could sleep comfortably. The daily amenities included a comb, soap, shampoo, shower gel, razor, sewing kit and dental kit.
Internet was intermittent.. I lost connection sometimes 3x per night and it is not complimentary.
The rooms are not consistent in quality. I had to be moved from my first room because of a musty smell (like standing water) . One of my colleagues was also moved from her room when she heard rustling noises in her room two nights in a row. Don't leave food out in your room! The moves were handled graciously and promptly.

IMHO, the biggest opportunity for improvement is in their restaurants. I ate at Fratelli Fresh about 4 times and I found the food to be inconsistent and lacking flavor. I ate at the Chinese restaurant only once because the service was so bad. There were six of us dining together and we waited for over an hour before four of us were given our entrees. The other two? They had to wait an additional 30 minutes because the kitchen lost their order. The Indian restaurant is good, but the service is incredibly slow as well. Service is also spotty in the Lakeview Cafe - the staff could not be more friendly and helpful, but they wait can be 45 minutes. The solution? Order room service. They tell you it will take 30-40 minutes but it arrives much faster than sitting at the restaurant and you can order from the menu's of all cuisines.

The wine prices are highway robbery, really.... A glass of Indian wine that is mediocre at best was over $10. Stick to Kingfisher beer or go to a wine store and buy a bottle for your room. Grover Cabernet can be had for 750 rupees a bottle and I liked it.

I would not call the pool scene "happening" by any means. Lots of middle aged Europeans and Americans hanging around. It is a wonderful place to relax, the pool is great and the service friendly but also slow, slow, slow. The mojitos are mighty tasty on a hot day by the pool.

Something unexpected/...being kept awake by the beating drums that could go into the morning. Not sure if they were from weddings or religious celebrations. Kind of cool at first.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed at the junior suite and they greeted us very well.
The restaurants - Emperors court (chinese) and the new italian restaurant in the new tower were absolutely fantastic.
The spa is one of the best in the world. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — good 5 star
  • Disliked — all is good
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Its best for international events

  • Liked — enquire
  • Disliked — asking
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Everything was ok, swimmingpool great, gym great, and the italian restaurant great. and concierge great. But, and it is a big but, you have to be cutiuos all he time about extra charges. Up to a point I did not enjoyed my stay anymore.

If they could change that, would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

This Hotel is great and excellent rooms & service

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Address: 2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#40 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#46 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.