We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early & get 20% Off
Ranked #64 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Its a huge property right in front of the Powai lake but the interiors definitely look dated, food in the restaurant is palatable but i was there for a conference so banquet food was awful . One person in particular Mr .Dnyaneshwar .B is worth mentioning and appreciating for his sincere services and attention to the detail ,employees like him are the ones who bring laurels to the hotel , any way overall it was a good experience at Renaissance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your appreciation of our services especially that of Dnyaneshwar. We have shared your comments and it surely has been a source of inspiration to him and the team.

We also take cognizance of your suggestion to improve food preparations for conferences. While we do our best to ensure all palette's are satisfied, I am sure you shall find this resolved in future visits to Renaissance.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    416
    114
    59
    34
See reviews for
125
126
80
806
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on a week end. Room facing powai lake had really beautiful view. Room is spacious and well furnished. Reastaurants served delicious food. Sunday buffet was great. Most appealing was the service. Every one was so kind and helpful. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of your stay with us and the kind appreciation of our staff services. Your highly encouraging feedback motivates us further to continue providing the finest guest experience at all times.

We eagerly look forward to welcome you to the hotel soon.

regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed there for couple of days on my Business trip to Mumbai. Took a room facing Powai lake and I must say what a view it was. The hospitality and services at the hotel is also commendable. Will definitely visit again on my next trip to mumbai

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit and we are glad to note that you enjoyed your time with us.

My team and I are grateful for your highly encouraging feedback on all our services and staff, there certainly can't be a better reward to our efforts than the endorsement by our guests.

We thank you for choosing the Renaissance Mumbai for your stay and hope to see you soon again.


Kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

An embarrassment to other ostensibly 5 star hotels. The staff are cheerful but take your card away at check-in, which resulted in credit card fraud for two in our party. There is a facade of high quality, but the cracks show clearly that care is not being taken - under the sinks is dirty, several in our party had issues such as water leaking from the ceiling onto their beds, and the kitchen does not take adequate care with cleanliness as evidenced that 11 of the 12 members of our group from North America and the UK came down with food poisoning. I would not recommend this venue for anyone planning a conference with international visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is most disappointing that you had such an experience with us.
This, by no way, is the manner by which we run our business and extend our hospitality.

It is unfortunate that some of the international guests did not find the food served suitable to their palette. We take pride in the quality of food served in all our outlets and are confident that we meet all International food safety and hygiene standards.

I wish to highlight, with due respect, that the credit card concerns highighted by your colleagues, did not take place at the Renaissance Mumbai. This has been acknowledged by them as well and unfortunately these alledged incorrect transaction took place outside India while the guests happened to be staying at our hotel. As a matter of genuine concern, we requested the guests to continue using all hotel services as desired and they could settle their outstanding charges once they reach back to their country and resolve the worrying issues with their bank.

Making sure that all our guests are most comfortable has always been our service priority and we apologize that your overall experience was an exception to our usual standard.

Should you visit Mumbai again in the near future, we invite you to stay with us again and experience our hospitality.

Kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had a rather terrible time at this hotel, which was unfortunate as it held much promise. The reception area, restaurants and pool area were all well presented - Fratelli Fresh has some delicious food too. But I experienced problems that were exacerbated by poor customer service. My room had to be changed twice, thanks to a leaking ceiling and then constant noise from the adjacent plant room plus a broken toilet. The room changes took an age as staff were frustratingly slow to respond to requests. I was a victim of credit card fraud, along with one of my colleagues. My colleagues experienced food poisoning from the hotel food and on our final night, my room was entered at 4.30am by room service - strangely my room-mate's stomach bug was a blessing in disguise as it had kept us awake for his entrance.
To cap it off, the manager kindly offered myself and my colleague a free stay as the experience had been unacceptable... only to demand payment after we had returned to the UK. The one redeeming factor was the Navigator's help to get some packages returned to the UK.
I'm sure the hotel can provide a good stay for the majority, but my experience there spoilt my trip to India.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am most dissapointed to that you had such an experience staying with us at Renaissance Mumbai.

The issues you faced with the room allocated to you should not have happened. I am sorry for the trouble you faced in shifting your room to an alternate one however am pleased to share that with necessary action taken, such issues have been addressed and resolved.

As my Director of Rooms assured you during your stay, we follow the highest of all International financial standards and it is unfortunate that the mis use of your credit card was detected to from outside India, but took place during your stay with us. Our endeavour was to be supportive in such a distress and initiated to offer that you only make payments due post your return to your country and the resolution of the issues with your bank.

We regret the inconvenience that you have faced. Your comments to improve employee response time is well noted and steps have been taken to improve upon this. We thank you for your appreciation of our Concierge services which has been a source of inspiration to them.

We look forward to an opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again during your next visit to Mumbai.

kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The staff was very courteous and the hotel room was spic and span and also the lake view was the most beautiful experience, epecially during sun rise in the morning, it was like a lake side resort! would love to revisit soon

Room Tip: ask for lake side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

My team joins me in thanking you for the wonderful review of your stay and kind appreciation of our staff services. Your highly encouraging feedback motivates us further to continue providing the finest guest experience at all times.

We eagerly look forward to welcome you to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillois-Witterzee, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Located in a secured area this hotel propose all the facilities you may expect for a business trip in Mumbai and some extra added value services like the swimming pool having an awesome view on the lake and the Gym and Spa area really well managed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheidari, General Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and appreciation of the hotel and its services.
We are delighted to know that you stay was a comfortable and memorable one.

We eagerly look forward to welcome you to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Saeid Heidari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Address: 2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#30 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#41 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.