We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and first class service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early & get 20% Off
Ranked #64 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
1 review
“Great hotel and first class service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for a week and half and had an excellent time. I definitely recommend getting a lake facing room on a high floor. Great staff who are always willing to help and be of service. There are a number of restuarants at the hotel that serve great food. The hotel has all the necessary facilities including a huge gym, great pool and other bonus extras.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip advisor about the Renaissance Mumbai. The team and I are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the services that the hotel had to offer you. We are extremely pleased that you have carried back fond memories of your stay with us. We hope to create many more such special memories for you in the future.


Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    416
    114
    59
    34
See reviews for
125
126
80
806
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days in October '12.

This property is well laid out and at a peacful place, away from the hustle and bustle of the rest of Mumbai. I had quite a nice view from my room located at Level 35 of the tower, something not very common in Mumbai. The room, the bed and the bathroom were excellent as well.

But from the moment I walked into this hotel, I felt something amiss. Maybe because I had just come from another 5 star property in Mumbai, I could see the difference in service.

There was absolutely no one to help me with luggage or guide me to my room considering that it wasn't located in the main building. Had to ask atleast twice before reaching the correct lift.

The real turnoff was the breakfast experience the next day. Again, no one to even greet or direct to the table. The manager preferred just to give a hand gesture. After coming back with the plate and having a seat, the cutlery was placed on the table. No one bothered to remove the used bottle or serve me water after that. Seriously, hadn't expected this of a 5 Star hotel.

Later on, when my wife went to have breakfast at 9:45 am, she was told that it has already been wound up and she could have only tea or coffee at that time. I had this sorted out later in evening and they admitted their misunderstanding and apologized.

The service and food quality for lunch and dinner were excellent though.

I had informed about the time for my drop off to airport arranged atleast 3 hours in advance but after checking out had to wait another 20 mins. for the car to turn up.

I won't mind staying at this hotel again but hospitability is something they definitely need to improve upon. Not even once did I see any staff member greeting any guest at any time of the day. It does go a long way!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review about our hotel at the Trip Advisor. We are truly happy that you are lured by the looks and the location of our hotel and that leaves a come back mark on your memory. I duly understand about the shortfall in services you experienced and hence would like to personally take care of your stay once you are back at The Renaissance Mumbai.
Do write to me in personal about your future vist on the email below.

Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaisssancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for work for the second time! Service is excellent and staff very attentive . Rooms large ask for lake view ! Drinks and food expensive! Gin and tonic was £16. Overall a good hotel but a bit out of the way if you want to go to gateway and causeway area in colaba

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback at the Trip Advisor about The Renaissance Mumbai. Your acknowledgement towards our hotel associates is highly valued as it keeps the team motivated. With regards to our Beverage & Food prices, we feel that we are competitively priced in relation with our competition hotels in Powai Area. We look forward to your next stay with us soon.

Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for 7 nights at the Renaissance and had a very enjoyable stay. Overall staff is great and always strives to go the extra mile. Whether it is reception, travel desk or room service, everyone wants to make you feel good. There is an extensive breakfast buffet, the setup is a bit strange (you need to walk inside a cooking area to access the self-serve buffet) but products are high quality.
Rooms are not up to a 5-star standard, some of the decoration is dated (ugly paintings!), furniture is stained (glass stains, grease leftovers) and would need a good swipe, bathtub could get a scrub and bathroom counters haven't seen a deep clean in a long time. There is some gross electrical wiring to the neon light right above the shower - electrical shock hazard anyone? Overall it does not feel dirty but these little details are annoying.
The bed is one of the best I've ever slept on, there are many fluffy pillows and feather comforter.
Location is good if you make business in Powai area, it is on a hill away from the city bustle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Executive at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback at the Trip Advisor. The team and i are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the services that the hotel had to offer you. Also your feedback about the other services have been put ahead to its respective team for corrective actions to be taken. Your acknowledgement towards our hotel associates is highly valued as it keeps the team motivated. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Renaissance Mumbai to make your stay flawless.

Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bobmbr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Pros..

1) breakfast buffet & sunday lunch buffet have a good spread
2) Tower wing rooms have got spacious bathrooms

cons..

1) Service is really bad - honestly, after a string of bad experience there i was genuinely surprised how they manage to survive like this. One occasion was when i called room service for a dessert and they said they will call back after checking with kitchen. no reply for the next 15 mnts..called back again - got the same response and finally after 30 mnts, someone called me to say that it is not available. Another was in frattelli fresh restaurant - there was noone properly assigned to our table and had to call the waiter multiple times to refill water/wine or to remind him on one side dish ordered.

2)gave 2 pieces for laundry, got back the next day in a hangar without washing!!...had to give back both again

3) front desk staff sounds very courteous but the moment you hand a task to them, they mess it up. My friend left an envelope for me in the front desk, when i checked with them later, they said, there is nothing for me there. After i left the hotel, called them up again (after my friend reiterated he had left a package), and then they mentioned,"Ooh, there is a packet for you here"

4) I had left an envelope for my colleague who is staying in the same hotel in the reception. Checked with my friend now and he said they were blank when he asked them about it. Called them right now to sort out the mess and they cut the call in middle and never bothered to call back!!..

5) Hygiene - got up 2nd day with an insect bite , found an insect in my bed, they were prompt to move me to another room - in tower wing, but...found a baby cockroach in my 2nd room!!..by that time, I had enough...

to be honest - this is the first time I had such a poor experience in an indian 5 star hotel..will never stay in this place again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about The Renaissance Mumbai. I understand the series of incoveniences that you have been through and we could not live upto your expectations during your stay. Your feedback regarding the lapse in different services have been put ahead to respective teams for necessary actions. We look forward to welcome you back at The Renaissance Mumbai to service you the true standards. Do write in to me for your next visit and would personally ensure you have a flawless stay.

Warm Regards,
Sucheta Malhotra
Guest Relations Executive
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great hotel, i stayed a few times over the year. It is close to work but that is not the only reason i stay here. The staff are great, make you feel welcome from front desk on. The staff at the restaurants are attentive. The hotel is right next to a lake, real nice view both during the day and at night with the views of the Hiranandani development on the other side of the lake.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view, the view on the other side is not great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the detailed and comprehensive review about the Renaissance Mumbai. The team and I are thrilled to learn that your stay proved to be so memorable. The staff and service that the Renaissance show case is par excellence and our aim is to ensure you find the perfect getaway to rest, relax or just carry out work.
I look forward to the pleasure of having you stay with us agian.

Warm Regards,
Preeti Singh
Guest Relations Manager
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from 12th September to 18th September in connection with official conferences. The hotel made good arrangement for pick up and drop. The reception staff was quite friendly and had a good sense of humor. Check in was in a jiffy. Pleasantly surprised to find Veg and Non-veg Thali meals in room service, I ordered for a Non-veg Thali which was sufficient for one person. It had one Nan, a serving of fried rice, dal, sweets and mutton curry.
During the stay I found breakfast and dinners buffets were well spread. The morning favorite was baked yogurt. (Something like sour cream of USA). You must taste it though rich in calorie. Similarly dinner starters, which were spread on the table were more than sufficient and great. Room decor was excellent. I was lucky to have a lake view room. Overall - great stay. Airport taxi travel time was about 30-45 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceMumbai, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so pleased to know that the Renaissance has imbedded memories so deep that you would be back to revive them. The team here at Renaissance strive to ensure our guests leave happy and come back to savour those memories. I am truly glad we lived up to this.
Hope to see you back soon.

Warm Regrads,
Preeti Singh
Guest Relations Manager
Email: rhi.bombr.grm@renaissancehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel

Address: 2 & 3B Near Chinmayanand Ashram | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 087, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#30 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#32 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#41 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 549
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel
Renaissance Mumbai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Mumbai Convention Centre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.