We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great poolside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early & get 20% Off
Ranked #11 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
hk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great poolside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I stayed in this hotel around Christmas time. The lobby is very grand and and the poolside is nice and makes you feel like you aren't in crazy mumbai. The rooms are cleaned well, but are VERY small. The staff were very kind to send me a sterilizer once they noticed I had bottles in the bathroom.

Unfortunately, our room was at the end of the hall - so it was quite a trek to get to our rooms - I had to make sure i took my stroller with my so i didn't end up having to carry my poor 2 yr old. We asked for a closer room - but they advised that the sound from the club might be troublesome at night.

We had several incidences of items missing - my sons blankie somehow disapeared from my room and and a bag of snacks I had prepared for the airport disappeared in the lobby. And both items were never found.

Also I had several unpleasant experiences at breakfast. It seems that Saturday /Sunday were so popular, that as a hotel guest, I couldn't get any service. I did end up complaining to the manager as it ruined 2 of my mornings and I was completely frustrated by this, but not much could be done given that it was so crowded.

Not sure if I would go back to stay here and would steer clear during the holidays.

  • Liked — Pool, lobby
  • Disliked — rooms were too small, service was too slow
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    290
    102
    35
    27
See reviews for
185
203
87
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

Great hotel, drivers to housekeeping are very friendly but found the reception desk very unfriendly. Not sure if it's the attitude which comes with for working at a high class hotel but they defiantly could improve on.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Above Average Business Stay in a hotel - good services (from picking up at airport and check inn to highly sufficient room service, good and non visible).

You get what you expect for your price, I would come again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

:) Great experience. Amazing location and I saw so many bollywood stars. Specially after my last stay in Mumbai - in Taj Lands End, where I had horrified experience, I was very worried about this stay. But to my surprise, the staff took every possible care of my stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

The JW offers multiple nice restaurants, a very nice pool landscape and sits at a good location if you like the beach or want a hotel not too far from the airport (took me 20 minutes up to 45 minutes - bit depending on weather/traffic).

The room was reasonably big but a couple of issues I had

a) looked a bit tired; especially in the bathroom
b) having a thick carpet is not great in this humidity (read that room smells bad)
c) my room was on the second floor, i.e. located pretty much above the nightclub (which produces great music and is open until 3am); guess you got the message

Also, service in the breakfast place was erratic to say the least. I can understand that staff needs to ask for the room number before placing guest at the table but why the name when you are later presented with a check which includes neither room number nor name? Also, every morning, I was brought cooked food which I had not ordered. Some staff issues.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Smelly room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

Excellent service - really quite incredible especially since after this I stayed at the Intercon and that was truly horrible. Got to give it to them at JW Marriott - top performence.

  • Liked — Hotel itself and the service
  • Disliked — Not a great deal.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

I have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and would highly recomend it to anyone. The service was one of the best I have ever experienced, the staff were one step ahead at all times and aticipated our needs. I bought a travel book on Mumbai and need not bothered as a lot of it was out of date, if you want to know where to go and what to do - just ask the concierge they will really honest with their advice. Always get them to get you a taxi as it will always be cheaper than hailing one down. The pool is absolutely amazing and the staff would not let you move a muscle. There is bottled water everywhere and we were presented with free bottles wherever we went in the hotel. The Spa is outstanding and really enjoyed an Indian Head Massage. If you are ever in Mumbai, please go to this hotel.

  • Liked — The high level of service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#8 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Mumbai is situated on the sands of Mumbai’s popular Juhu Beach with a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. This five star luxury hotel is located in the heart of the suburbs, enjoying close proximity to the commercial & industrial estates in North Mumbai as well as the tourist hub of South Mumbai. The hotel provides the perfect destination to both business & leisure travellers. It is equipped with a state of the art Business Centre, Conference facilities, indoor & outdoor Banquet spaces and the award winning Quan Spa. JW Marriott Mumbai also houses some of the city’s most renowned restaurants & lounges offering a host of various authentic culinary experiences. The hotel is situated only 20 minutes away from both the domestic & international airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Mumbai Juhu
Jw Marriott In Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.