We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Escapes
Ranked #12 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel does it all right! It's a compound a tad distance from the heart of town(30 minutes, no traffic) but that keeps it away from danger also. The security seems good and they appear to care. The rooms are nice, great pool, great workout room, the food is excellent. The ATM didn't work, but I assume that problem will be fixed. I would stay there again and for an extended vacation, it's perfect. The views are of a pond/lagoon, very peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    336
    115
    39
    35
See reviews for
220
229
94
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Jw Stands Out from the world of Organised chaos. As soon as you come in from the huge lobby door, you tend leave the rush life behind and it lets you relax. I specially like The Spices restaurant which serves pan asian cuisine with array of tepan-yaki style.
Would Love to go back any day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. Please rest assured that we shall share this with the respective teams.

It was a pleasure to note that you liked the services and the food at our speciality restaurant Spices.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With Best Regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Well I stayed 3 nights with my disabled mum and dad and we stayed at 15 more hotels in India after this one all of the same standard and I will say this hotel wins overall from bedding and room comfort to location and service and their hospitality to my mum with their experienced staff and one more thing on the day we left the hotel gave us a book of water bottles to take on our journey to Pune our next stop well how lovely I would come back here again THANKYOU jw

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings.

It was great to read the positive comments about the hotel, my team and the services offered by them. It made me feel proud to be part of the JW Marriott Mumbai.

My team is constantly making the effort to “Exceed Expectations”.

We look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rnpruett
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed here for several years due to the variety of restaurants, relatively safe walking & shopping and on the beach. Hotel has been going through renovation so half of the hotel is not available. Great staff and restaurants (Spanish, Italian, Asian and India plus the huge buffet). Only issue is the Disco has opened which is directly over the SPA, so if you intend to have a massage when open or they are holding an event - not so peaceful. I cancelled my massage on a Sunday afternoon as they had an event. Staff was good to have told me in advance.

Room Tip: Ocean side overlooking the huge pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We are pleased to inform you that the hotel refurbishment is in its last stages of completion. Most of the rooms have been handed over to us and we have opened them to the guests.

We apologies for the noise issues that you had to face, and the feedback has been shared with the relevant department heads to ensure better co-ordination in future.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney , Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been staying the JW over the past 11 years on trips to India from Australia for business and must have stayed here at least 40 or 50 times. Before the refurbishment this hotel had fallen well behind the other 5 star Mumbai hotels. The job they have done is absolutely wonderful and they have at the same time retained the charm of the hotel. The rooms now are modern , functional and comfortable. Food and beverage are first class and this hotel has definitely returned to the list of top hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating the team work that has gone in the refurbishment. My team has been involved from the designing stage with the Project Management Company to ensure an enhanced product with the state of art facilities.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I booked a night in the Juhu JW Marriott to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was a disappointment.

The reservation process was painful. We had a discount voucher as we had recently signed up to the Marriott Club at the hotel. It took no less than 10 calls to secure the booking. No one knew how to deal with the voucher and no one took responsibility to sort it out.

On check- in we were offered a recently refurbished room - it was very small and the sea view was only of a couple of pigeons and a tiny slither of beach. Because it was our anniversary we were given flower and a cake which was lovely but as we started to use the room we noticed things.The bedside lights did not work which the technician finally managed to get working after 2 attempts but getting sound on our TV was beyond his ability. After consulting with his manager and another technician the best he could offer was to come back in the morning to sort it. We said we would have been gone by then - a fact that was completely lost on him. Wardrobe doors don't close properly and you have to walk through the toilet to get to the shower - I won't go on - rooms at the Four Seasons, Taj and ITC in Mumbai are all much better. The Internet service is also expensive and slow.

But the best was the restaurant experience. We decided to eat at one of the hotels restaurants which we had booked at check- in. After a great meal we signed the bill to our room. When we got back to the room the restaurant manager called us to say we had to come down and pay in cash as their was "not sufficient credit on our room to pay for the meal". We secured our room booking with the same credit card we have used to stay at the Four Seasons, Taj and ITC where we have never had this problem - in fact we have stayed at 5 Star hotels around the world and never had this issue. We asked to be put through to the duty manager and after a long hold we're told that he would call us back - he was apparently busy dealing with a customer. He never bothered to return our call.

I would not stay here again. While the restaurants are good and things like the pool, gym and general lobby area are a great retreat in a bustling Mumbai, the hotel does not have the standards one expects of a Marriott and does not compare to the other five star hotels in Mumbai.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a sea view - the windows are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings,

We take all guest feedback seriously, and have shared your valuable feedback with the relevant teams to assure you of a better experience the next time.

I apologies if you were made to feel unwelcome by any of my team member. We have taken this as a learning point to ensure that all guest requests are adhered to.

I look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.


With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very good location, on the beach with gorgeous views of the ocean. Also, within 20 mins from the airport makes it a good base for both business and leisure. Situated in an uscale suburb of mumbai with good shopping within 10 mins. Here are some specific notes:

General condition : good but a little bit tired and not as great as the ITC's in mumbai. Lobby and main areas are bright, spacious and good for meetings etc.

Rooms: very good, recently done up and has all the facilities needed. Recommendation is to get an ocean facing room. Bathrooms are good size and the beds are comfortable.

Gym: excellent and very big

Pool area: good with a decent sized pool in front of the beach. I think i also saw a kids pool adjacent to the pool are.

Restaurants: a number of different restaurants. I tried the spanish and the lobby restaurant. The spanish was very good, both food and service. The lobby restaurant was average, food ok but service was poor (although it improved after we raised it with the manager)

Exec lounge: closed for refurbishment

General service: curtous, friendly and pretty good.

Family friendly: absolutely, good sized rooms, play areas, kids pool, beach etc. Clientel at the hotel was a varied mix from business to large family groups.

All in all a very good propert and i would probably stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavithran_JWMM, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests.

We sincerely await the opportunity to welcome you once again.

With best regards
Pavithran Nambiar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#9 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#9 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#12 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#15 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JW Marriott Mumbai is situated on the sands of Mumbai’s popular Juhu Beach with a breathtaking view of the Arabian Sea. This five star luxury hotel is located in the heart of the suburbs, enjoying close proximity to the commercial & industrial estates in North Mumbai as well as the tourist hub of South Mumbai. The hotel provides the perfect destination to both business & leisure travellers. It is equipped with a state of the art Business Centre, Conference facilities, indoor & outdoor Banquet spaces and the award winning Quan Spa. JW Marriott Mumbai also houses some of the city’s most renowned restaurants & lounges offering a host of various authentic culinary experiences. The hotel is situated only 20 minutes away from both the domestic & international airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Mumbai Juhu
Jw Marriott In Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.