We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overpriced for what you get, this is not a 4* hotel, would not recommend.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments to your Saves list
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very overpriced for what you get, this is not a 4* hotel, would not recommend.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon tour around India. The hotel is classed as a 4* but is nowhere close to the standard. Our first room was very small, smelt of damp, had damp on the walls, the bathroom was tiny and for what we had paid was totally unacceptable. We were then moved to another room which was a very good size although again the bathroom was tiny, you couldnt have more than one person in there. The restaurant wasnt very good nor was the bar. It wasnt very inviting and you didnt feel very looked after, although the staff were polite but you get this everywhere you go in India. There wasnt much of an atmosphere and it wasnt the most welcoming of places, we were glad to be leaving when our three days were up. I would definately not class this as a 4* hotel and would definately not recommend anyone stay here for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    62
    26
    24
See reviews for
70
65
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

It's a pretty decent hotel with good value for money. Rooms though are a bit small but considering the real estate prices in Mumbai, you really can't ask for more. Location is good with Juhu beach just across the road....serves as a good central location in suburban Mumbai. The staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I booked the hotel with the advise of maple hospitality (who does not know what is the meaning of hospitality) for 5 days. As we checked in hotel at 9 pm tired after a long journey, we were put in a shady room room no 105 whose air condition did not worked whole night, and that was not deluxe room, next day morning complained made the technician comes and he said he will resolve it and than we out for meeting, we come back and stay in same room hoping the problem wld be solved... but no, as we tired stayed in this same room...
3rday new room new problems...the ac of this room does not work, half of the duct is blocked + the shower does not work properly.. this room 409 number is better looking than 105...
in the last 2 days from morning 10 am to 6 pm there was construction work going on in the hotel inspite repeated requests to stop the work they continued. it was nightmare during the day also....
complaints made to the front office as well manager were not heard.. even complaints made to maple hospitality who acted as a agent for this hotel has not resulted any benefit, it is 2 months since i stayed there but inspite of repeated follow up the hotel has not care and given reply.
the hotel plays tricks on online book also.. they charge customer service tax over and above the online rate if the customer is unaware of the same. I paid 4700 rs plus tax for 5 nights for this shaddy guest house...
i want to tell all the readers here that it is not a hotel but a glorified guest house who charge 5 star rate... there is no connection with best western hotel at all... the word best and emerald does not go together.. they shld understand the meaning of the world emerald else they shld rename their hotel....
also please dont contact maple hospitality as he is cheat with cheaters

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
We have seen the comments put up by the Guest on Tripadvisor for our Hotel and wish to reply as under:

We have informed all our Guests by way of a letter in all the rooms and apartments in the Hotel that we have undertaken Up-gradation and renovation work of our Rooms and Apartments.

About 80% of the Guest Rooms & Apartments have already been upgraded and renovated.

The Guest was put up in Room # 105 which is a newly renovated room with all modern fittings and Amenities. It is unfortunate that the Guest did not like the Room. We did not offer the Rooms on the higher floor due as we did not want to inconvenience the Guest. We believe the Room was not as per the tastes of the Guest.

Whenever the Guest requested the Up-gradation work was halted for their Convenience. Hence it is incorrect to state that we did not respond to Guest Requests.

We do not "play: any tricks on Guests as claimed. Taxes are not included in the Rates offered and it is clearly stated at the time of the Booking. We believe that Our Guess is that the Guest must have overlooked the same at the time of Booking.

We have received no Guest Complaint from Maple Hospitality vis-a-via this Guest.

We have also not received any Guest Feedback which the Front Desk requests from Guests at time of Check out, hence we are indeed a little surprised to receive this Feedback through Tripadvisor.

We are Sorry for the Inconvenience faced by the Guest if any, but it is our constant endeavour to see that we offer the best possible to our Guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

It is a Hotel which offers fair pricing compared to other in the vicinity. The location is Excellent and one cannot ask for more. The service is Good and there is a smile on everyone's faces all the time which is what we all wanted at the end of a long dayand it delivered.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuttack
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Date:10th Apr 2010
I had booked this hotel for 2 days for a business meeting with my clients.
I liked the rooms and the conference room.The arrangements were very good and up to the mark.
My meeting proved to be successful due to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for a break journey. We landed in Mumbai from Toronto, and were going to Delhi next morning. We decided to book BW Emerald. It was a MISTAKE!!

First of all, their affiliation with Best Western doesn't exist anymore but they send emails as BW Emerald. That's total misrepresentation. The hotel is located good 25 minutes drive away from the airport in a shady area. The driver who came to pick us up, started telling us that he has been waiting for us for past 3 hours. That made no sense as our flight was 30 minutes early and they had the correct time of the flight.

As soon as you step into a hotel you feel you are in a dangerous place. Hotel staff is creepy as if they have never seen human beings before. They checked us into a room where bedsheets have not been changed, towels had weird spots. We didn't even stay for the breakfast as we were so fed up with the place.

Try to avoid this property!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
It is really very hard to make out who has written this review as no names are mentioned nor dates of stay are given hence it is next to impossible to investigate the matter in detail.

We strongly disagree with what is stated in the Review by the Guest. We are located in the vicinity of Ramada Plaza Hotel, J. W. Marriott Hotel, Novotel, etc so how can the Guest state that we are in a Bad location is something which we cannot comprehend.

We have regular Corporate Guests including Single Women who prefer tp stay with us on their visit to Bombay either for Business or Leisure, so in what way can our Hotel be a Shady Place to stay is also we cannot comprehend.

We feel that the Guest may have wanted something Free from the Hotel and because the request was turned down, this Nasty Review has been posted.

If the Guest is willing to reveal his / her Idendity, then we are ready to Investigate what the Guest has stated in detail.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Avoid this hotel. The reception will confirm that they are a Best Western Hotel partner, they ARE NOT. Not anymore. Got duped into believing the Best Western part and hence stayed there for a night. No wonder Best Western removed any affiliation with this hotel.

Good: The only good part is probably the Location. Hardly 20 minutes from the domestic airport.

Bad:
1. Rooms - Cramped, Small in size even for 2 people. Bathroom small as well.
2. Service - Delayed service. Ordered food, one dish, and it took a good 45 minutes for the food to be delivered. Made 2 phone calls for the updates. Every time it was "just on the way".
3. Cleanliness - Below Average.

Opinion:
Even 2 star would be an overstatement for this hotel. And they self-proclaim themselves as 4 Star. And have the guts to falsely associate themselves with Best Western Group.
Shame on you.

TripAdvisor - You should also change the name of the Hotel you use. It is no longer Best Western The Emerald Bombay. It is just The Emerald.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

We have terminated our relationship with Best Western International and this is very clear from our visiting cards to our website, to our main name Sign Board outside the Hotel.

In none of our correspondences we state that we are part of Best Western International chain of Hotels.

So how the Guest came to assume that we are still associated with Best Western International is not clear. We were associated with Best Western International for more than 10 years and this is what maybe conveyed to the Guest is what we presume.

All our Rooms are Standard size as defined by the Department of Tourism, Govt of India. In fact some of our Rooms are bigger than the Specifications laid out by the Dept of Tourism. So we regret that the Guest felt the room was cramped.

As we have no information of the name of the Guest, it would be difficult to investigate what the Guest ordered in Room Service and hence cannot offer any Explanation for the same.

We do not self Proclaim, we are a 4 Star Hotel, We are officially classified by the Department of Tourism as a 4 star hotel and this Classification is based on the joint Inspection by a Panel of Experts from the Hospitality and Travel Trade to the Hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Best Western Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.