We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY- SHADY PLACE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments to your Saves list
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY- SHADY PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We booked this hotel for a break journey. We landed in Mumbai from Toronto, and were going to Delhi next morning. We decided to book BW Emerald. It was a MISTAKE!!

First of all, their affiliation with Best Western doesn't exist anymore but they send emails as BW Emerald. That's total misrepresentation. The hotel is located good 25 minutes drive away from the airport in a shady area. The driver who came to pick us up, started telling us that he has been waiting for us for past 3 hours. That made no sense as our flight was 30 minutes early and they had the correct time of the flight.

As soon as you step into a hotel you feel you are in a dangerous place. Hotel staff is creepy as if they have never seen human beings before. They checked us into a room where bedsheets have not been changed, towels had weird spots. We didn't even stay for the breakfast as we were so fed up with the place.

Try to avoid this property!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, June 19, 2010
It is really very hard to make out who has written this review as no names are mentioned nor dates of stay are given hence it is next to impossible to investigate the matter in detail.

We strongly disagree with what is stated in the Review by the Guest. We are located in the vicinity of Ramada Plaza Hotel, J. W. Marriott Hotel, Novotel, etc so how can the Guest state that we are in a Bad location is something which we cannot comprehend.

We have regular Corporate Guests including Single Women who prefer tp stay with us on their visit to Bombay either for Business or Leisure, so in what way can our Hotel be a Shady Place to stay is also we cannot comprehend.

We feel that the Guest may have wanted something Free from the Hotel and because the request was turned down, this Nasty Review has been posted.

If the Guest is willing to reveal his / her Idendity, then we are ready to Investigate what the Guest has stated in detail.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    93
    62
    26
    24
See reviews for
70
65
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Avoid this hotel. The reception will confirm that they are a Best Western Hotel partner, they ARE NOT. Not anymore. Got duped into believing the Best Western part and hence stayed there for a night. No wonder Best Western removed any affiliation with this hotel.

Good: The only good part is probably the Location. Hardly 20 minutes from the domestic airport.

Bad:
1. Rooms - Cramped, Small in size even for 2 people. Bathroom small as well.
2. Service - Delayed service. Ordered food, one dish, and it took a good 45 minutes for the food to be delivered. Made 2 phone calls for the updates. Every time it was "just on the way".
3. Cleanliness - Below Average.

Opinion:
Even 2 star would be an overstatement for this hotel. And they self-proclaim themselves as 4 Star. And have the guts to falsely associate themselves with Best Western Group.
Shame on you.

TripAdvisor - You should also change the name of the Hotel you use. It is no longer Best Western The Emerald Bombay. It is just The Emerald.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

We have terminated our relationship with Best Western International and this is very clear from our visiting cards to our website, to our main name Sign Board outside the Hotel.

In none of our correspondences we state that we are part of Best Western International chain of Hotels.

So how the Guest came to assume that we are still associated with Best Western International is not clear. We were associated with Best Western International for more than 10 years and this is what maybe conveyed to the Guest is what we presume.

All our Rooms are Standard size as defined by the Department of Tourism, Govt of India. In fact some of our Rooms are bigger than the Specifications laid out by the Dept of Tourism. So we regret that the Guest felt the room was cramped.

As we have no information of the name of the Guest, it would be difficult to investigate what the Guest ordered in Room Service and hence cannot offer any Explanation for the same.

We do not self Proclaim, we are a 4 Star Hotel, We are officially classified by the Department of Tourism as a 4 star hotel and this Classification is based on the joint Inspection by a Panel of Experts from the Hospitality and Travel Trade to the Hotel.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Hotel was OK, I would not say it is 4 star. It is located at a very convenient point where you can access western suburbs easily. If you have business in south Mumbai, this is not a good location. There are Taxis and rickshaws available just outside of hotel, even a Whole day taxi you can get around Rs 1200. The deluxe & super deluxe rooms are a bit smaller but if you are just staying over there for your next flight, it should not be an issue. The main road the Hotel is situated tend to get very busy at peak hrs, just going half a mile in taxi or rickshaw might take you half an hour. I don’t think this is part of BW chain, if it is I hate to say but the management staff has lots to learn in Hotel management and customer service in an International standard. There are seven floors and looks like each floor has 7 to 8 rooms of different levels, standard, Dlx, super dlx, studio and apartments. Looks like they have crammed as many rooms they could in the flat (apartment) conversion building which is why they have narrow corridors and tiny elevators. There are two restaurants and food is OK, breakfast time is a joke. It gets so hectic & crowded that the staff do not seem to handle the service properly and it is quite obvious that they need proper restaurant training. They get overwhelmed and you may need to ask repeatedly for your order. The lunch & dinner time is quite ok because not very crowded. The smoking policies are loosely governed; I have seen people smoking in the corridors and rooms. Good luck getting a non smoking room, it simply does not exist, this one thing I hated the most. The electronic safe in the room almost malfunctioned every other day, this was very annoying. I did see a cockroach one time in the bathroom, I think they called the exterminator service and did not see it any more after that.
We stayed here long time more than two weeks. We had booked quite in advance and were very specific that we need a king size bed in a total non smoking room due to my health issues, none of which was met. Finally we settled for a two queen mattresses put together under single bed sheet, and semi non smoking room. Since we had booked for 14 days we asked for airport transfer both ways and they adamantly denied our request and kept reminding us that the policy only states one way transfer per reservation of 7 days. We were trying to explain to them that if we had made two contiguous reservations for 7 days each, they would have had to give us second airport transfer. I don’t know what is so difficult to understand here. This to me is lack of professional courtesy and flexibility for a meager Rs 500, when they are getting big business of 14 days. This hotel nickel and dimes you for everything even for a cup of coffee for my guest during breakfast meeting in the dining room.
We are quite used to the area so it worked out well for us. The small things like the ones I mentioned above goes long ways and management needs to understand and incorporate them in their training. In short. Hotel is OK for the price but the management staff as well as kitchen staff badly needs to be retrained. Management needs to be a bit more flexible to the customer’s needs and accommodating. Now that I know, next time I would not have such high expectations. I like the area as it is convenient for shopping and social stuff so I may stay here again but now I know what to expect. For short hoppers, this is would be just fine. I think the management exactly knows who we are and this is just to bring it to their attention so that they understand how important customer service is for repeat business.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

We sincerely Apologize to the Guests for the Inconvenience they faced at the Hotel during their long stay with us. We have noted the Comments of the Guest in detail and have since redefined some of the systems at the Hotel.

The Comments / Suggestions from our Guests are an useful tool for us in understanding why we were unable to deliver the High Standards assured to our Guests.

We are no longer a part of the Best Western Chain of Hotels and are now part of HOTUSA hotels.

We have noted the problems faced by the Guests during the Breakfast service and are in the process of retraining our Staff with emphasis on how to service the Guests in case of a Full House. We feel the FnB Staff were a little overwhelmed and though this is No Excuse, it does give us an opportunity to understand the shortcomings at our end.

The Hotel follows a strict No Smoking Policy on certain designated floors, all floor Lobbies, Reception area, Restaurant and Bar. We maybe failing in our efforts when some of our Guests do not co-operate with the Management and follow the laid down rules and end up smoking in the Non-Smoking rooms.

We have also decided to inform our Guests that in case the Management feels that they have smoked in a Non-Smoking Room, then they would have to pay a Cleaning charge for the same. We are introducing this rule from 1st May 2010.

With respect to the Courtesy transfers, we do admit the Front Desk Staff and Managers did commit a mistake with respect to your Bookings and they should have followed the common principle as explained by you to them. We have briefed the Front Desk Staff including the Managers and would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our kind attention.

We wish to assure the Guests that we have taken their Comments very seriously and wish to invite them to stay with us on their next visit to Bombay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Room – medium size. Very run-down and felt filthy. The walls are very thin so you can hear your neighbor talking, watching tv or having a shower. My room faced to the backside so I did not get all the traffic noise from the street however due to proximity to the local and intl airport planes are continuously departing or landing. The only positive thing in the room was the mattress which was very comfy and the towels were fluffy.

Cleanliness – I found hair in the bathroom as well as on the bedsheets which were definitely not mine.

Staff – always smiley and very polite

Breakfast – covers the basics from a western point of view: omelet, toast, cornflakes, canned juice, 2 types of fruits, coffe/tee and each day they have one “specialty” like either porridge OR pancake OR French toast. Other than that there were some Indian breakfast items.

Restaurant/Room Service – good selection of Indian, Chinese and continental cuisine reasonably priced and ok quality

Summary: If you are on a short visit to Mumbai and out for meetings or sightseeing all day you should be ok with the hotel. Just keep in mind that it is definetly not a 4* Hotel and that although it says “Best Western” there is no association with “Best Western”. The only link that I saw to the BW chain was a business card with the BW logo lying at the reception. In general I find they should not be allowed to advertise with the BW name since it is misleading. The customers would expect BW standards but in the end it is just an Indian hotel without any international standard.

The reason why I cant recommend this place and why I will never return to it is because of their lousy management. Before getting to Mumbai I had called the hotel to make some changes in my booking which were confirmed to me and a certain rate was agreed on. I sent an email summarizing our conversation and ask for confirmation. No reply. Few days later I sent a follow-up email. No reply. Upon arrival the rate turned out to be 70% more expensive than the rate that was agreed on. Their explanation – “there must have been a mistake”. That mistake followed discussions with the management in the morning before leaving the hotel and in the evenings after returning from a busy day with another problem being that the management from night-shift and day-shift does not seem to communicate internally so I had to explain myself over and over again talking about the same things. The management showed no common sense, no understanding and could not comment as to why my email which actually was in their Outlook Inbox was not replied to to clarify this kind of “misunderstanding” before my arrival. No apologies from their side on behalf of their employee who communicated false rate information but instead at 9pm after a 13hour day I was told to pay the additional 70% or otherwise i was free to leave. The worst customer service, bad attitude, no reasoning but “take-it or leave-it approach”.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

We have gone through the Review of the Guest (unfortunately we are unable to understand which Guest as the Name is not clear in the Review), we do offer our Sincere Apologizes to the Guest. We have also carried out an internal Investigation to try and locate which Guest encountered the Problem as listed in the Report, but are unable to locate the Problems encountered by the Guest at the Hotel.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the Guest for bringing the Problems encountered by him to our kind attention.

We would appreciate if the Guest could send us their details via a separate Email to email@theemerald.com and we would definitely look into the case.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

This place is too old to be considered anywhere in the 3* or 4* category. Lobbies, aisles, lifts, stairways etc are all so narrow & congested. The restaurant is too small, barely enough for one fourth of the guests in the hotel. The garden sit-out restaurant is bang next to the busy Juhu Tara road and you would be shouting your lungs out if you really wanted to speak to someone sitting opposite to you at the same table ;-) Not to mention the soot from the passing vehicles forming an additional layer over your sandwiches!!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
Dear Sir / Madam,

We have gone through the Review and though we wish to offer the following Explanations from the Management point of view with respect to the Comments of the Guest:

The Hotel has 2 Elevators of 8 Pax each and they are quite appropriate for a Hotel of our size.

The Stair ways is for Emergency only and the same as per the local laws applicable in Bombay.

The lobby of the Hotel is Compact and Contemprary and designed keeping in mind the number of Rooms of the Hotel.

There are 2 Sit outs one facing the main Road and the second behind the Main Hotel building. The Guests are always welcome to sit in the Second Garden sit out behind the main building and which does not in any face the Main Road.

We do take this opportunity to thank the Guest for sharing their observations with us as we believe that it helps to continuously improve the Standards and Facilities.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed in this hotels for 3 nights, the experience was very disappointing.

There is nothing good about this hotel to be shared, however with lots of bad experience to remind all travellers here to avoid staying in this hotel.

Our stuff was searched and looked by the house keeping staff as we discovered our luggages were moved and some bags were opened. Though reported to the management, we were taken lightly and no follow up action or investigation was done for us with only one time inspection to our room.

Another bad experience is the house keeping staff kept coming to our room without a reason though we didn't called them for anything, some were asked us to put up the sign of "Do not disturb" if we don't the staff to come. It is obviosuly ridiculous of them to knock at our door almost every 5 minutes.

The worst is that the management didn't admit any mistakes and kept arguing with you. They even told us direclty that they don't bother and care whether we stay in the hotel.

The best advice is don't ever book this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetanmehta, Public Relations Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, April 1, 2010
We thank the Guest for sharing his Experience with us and would also like to offer our Sincere Apologizes for the Inconvenience faced by them during their Stay with us.

We have tried to understand the Problem encountered by the Guests and wish to clarify as under.

The Guest was allotted a different Room at the time of Check In and was informed at the time of Check In that he would be shifted the next day. Unfortunately the Guest had moved out of the Hotel and did not return till late. The Room Originally allotted to them was actually Booked for a different Guest.

The Hotel took the decision to shift the guest belongings to a different room. This was done under the Supervision of the Chief of Security and 2 Managers of the Hotel.

The Guest has informed that they were disturbed by the House keeping Staff, but the House Keeping Staff had to service the Room in the Morning and once the Guest objected to the same, we advised the Guest to put up a DND so that they are not disturbed, which is a Standard Practice in all Hotels.

We hope we have clarified the same and wish to assure our Guests that their Comfort during their Stay with us is our Prime objective.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxilby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

Booked this Hotel as we had quite a few hours between flying to Mumbai from Goa and our connecting flight from Mumbai back to UK. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded (complimantary) to a one bedroom apartment which was very nice and extremely spacious it was just a shame that we only had a few hours here. The hotel had a very nice coffee shop and restaurant in which we had a very nice meal in, at a very reasonable cost. Location is just a very short walk from Juhu beach, which in our opinion was not very nice at all and if you are thinking of visiting Mumbai as a tourist and seeing the Gateway to India, Victoria Terminus, Taj Hotel etc this is not the Hotel to stay in as these attractions are about a hour taxi ride away, but if its near the airport you need to be and don't want to pay the top prices of the big hotel chains the Emerald is a ideal choice

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Best Western Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.