We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel, convenient restaurant, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments to your Saves list
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cooperstown
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, convenient restaurant, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is convenient to Juhu beach, the airport and much of Mumbai. The price is reasonable, and the service is excellent. The bar is small but friendly and the wait staff is very attentive. Elevators are small and manual but they work fine and the staff will deliver your bags. I give this hotel 4 stars for effort and a 5 star value. Breakfast is outside and includes an omelet / egg station. Give it a shot. The rooms are small but well appointed and everything you need is right at hand. Best of all, they have Bollywood on the TV. Oh, wait, it is India! Never mind! Relax, you will like it!

Room Tip: Stay away from the front of the hotel of a quieter stay. The hotel fronts on the street with a rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    87
    52
    25
    23
See reviews for
60
63
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Hi travelers I stayed their for some days I find the location good as in front the nice beach of Juhu where I used to walk at night very nice also nice food corner on the beach very clean also location good near Santacruz station where I could go everywhere. Concerning room was quite good n clean the house keepers always nice and clean the room well.also breakfast was nice with much variety. But price too high as not that star hotel also thanks to the night manager a tall man who was very kind n helpful . I would surely advice this hotel, I had a nice stay there.

Blackpearl.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We travelled there in 2007. The cost per room then was reasonable but this year in 2014 the cost per room tripled matching western standards and more; but, the standards of cleanliness and decor were very poor. Toilets were dirty and not clean. It were as though time had stood still since 2007 and no house keeping was done.

They ran a taxi service which was simply a big con run by the hotel manager and his brother (corruption of the highest order). The staff were hard working and respectful wonder if they were paid enough!!

Room Tip: Look out for mould and dirty toilets. Tip choose another hotel. Should be 1 star with dirtiness arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you are planning to visit Mumbai and want to stay in an Economy Hotel nearby Juhu Beach then EMERALD can be one of your choice.
Though rooms are not quite spacious but good enough for a family of 2/3.
The hotel is quite clean with most of the facilities which one needs during a holiday.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are not available. Choose a room which is not on the road side-rooms facing the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The excellent location(close to Juhu Chowpatty) and the overall easy accessibility for this venue makes it ideal for a conference setting in a Suburban area.

Had visited the place for a business conference. Was particularly impressed by the ambience, the facilities available (flexibility for audio/video recording of conf. proceedings etc.) and refreshments served.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We walked in and asked for a room for a week. We were give a standard room for 1 night then promised to be upgraded the next day. The standard room was adequate, but a bit small for a week long stay.
The next day, we had not been upgraded till after 3pm, when I had to demand to move, as the air-conditioner is our room was sending out smoke.
The new upgraded room was much larger, and very comfortable for a week long stay. The linen was clean, as was the bathroom. The hot water worked well all the time, and the room was kept clean at all times.

Having a fan as well as air conditioning was great, as we preferred to have the fan on at night rather than the air con. The complimentary b'fast was excellent.
The only negative is that you have to buy bottled water (although they do provide filtered water), and it is Rs80/bottle from the hotel. We were buying it for Rs 20/bottle just outside the hotel, and had to sneak it in, as they have a policy of no outside food or drink in the hotel(ridiculous)!!!

My tip is to book on line rather than walk in, as it is much cheaper from an online company like Agoda, or makemytrip etc.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Booked this hotel in Juhu as it's nr the airport and nr to all the other places I wanted to go to for shopping etc.
Accepted that this was not going to be a 5 star hotel, yet was disappointed witht the state of the rooms - very tired looking and didn't look / feel very clean. We stayed in an apartment for 4. The kids slept on a sofa that opened out into a low bed. It had kitchen facilities but no utensils!! V odd. Also the kitchen was tired and not functionable - better off to get rid and have an area for some proper beds?!
Had to call housekeeping for extra towels and to have the bed made up for the kids - housekeeping / cleaning staff were great - always had a smile on their face and responded quickly!
One thing that was alarming whilst we were there on both times we stayed was that the hotel had rented out rooms for exhibitions- lots of men / boys tooing back and fro from the rooms on floors 4 and 5 - Ordinarily wouldn't have minded but having 2 teenage girls and being stared at whilst we we were waiting for lifts / in reception etc did not make me feel secure.
Breakfast was fine but not great and having to wait 30 mins for tea was unacceptable. Also on some occassions there were not enough tables / chairs for the number of people wanting breakfast. There were people standing whilst eating breakfast and the restaurant manager clearly thought that this was acceptable as he did nothing to find them extra chairs etc!
Not great customer service!

Loved the hussle and bussle of mumbai- if you are coming here you have to except this is the norm- cars hooting, constant people walking everywhere, no foopaths etc

Take a trip to Victoria Terminal in Churchgate. See the Taj by the Gateway to India, Go to the Elephant Caves. If like me you have read Shantaram go to Leopolds and have a beer!

Can't wait to go to Mumbai again but will not be staying at the Emerald.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Mumbai Best Western
Best Western Hotel Mumbai
Hotel Best Western Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.