We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel, but in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Save Saved
You added The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Ramat Gan, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel, but in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed there for one night only, and it was average, not good, nor bad.
The service was fine, room was a bit dated, and not very clean. This hotel, unlike any other hotel I've been to in India, does not offer its guests water bottles, so we had to buy some.
The shower was a little musky, and when I operated it the water were a little brown at first... not very appealing. The acoustics is not very good, and I could hear the planes landing in Mumbai international airport.
Breakfast was ok, not more than that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmeraldHotel, General Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. you feedback is important to us. Unfortunately we cannot track the details of your stay, it would be great if you could send us the same at info@theemerald.com, so that we can work on the feedback that you have given us.

From an environmental point of view, we have installed a state of art Reverse Osmosis and filtration plant at the Hotel. The reason being, we wanted to cut down the use of Plastic and hence offer drinking water in Flask. We appreciate that the you could have had apprehension about the water being served in the flask, but we assure you that our Plant is open for inspection as we monitor the Filtration Plant 24x7 as part of our Stringent Quality control norms.

We have initiated this exercise of reducing the use of plastic so as to contribute in whatever small measures to conserve and preserve the Environment.

We believe that the water served in the Flask did not appeal to the Guest and we regret the inconvenience caused to them.

Though all our windows are Doubled Glazed, so as to provide comfort to our Guests, we believe the Guest was still disturbed by the noise of the airplanes at Bombay Airport and wish to Apologize for this inconvenience.

We have initiated the process of Up-gradation of our rooms & the same is being carried out in phases.

We wish to thank you for your feedback once again and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    52
    23
    21
See reviews for
54
59
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for six days in November 2013. Unfortunately had the worst experience. Even the duplex rooms are tiny and congested with little cleanliness. Food served is poor quality vegetarian. Only advantage is the location near to juhu beach. But you have plenty of other options available at the same location. The worst experience was at the time of check out. I saw another occupant's bandages were frisked and inspected in public. later came to know they were checking for the missing food menu brochure!!! The guy was telling the brochure was not there in his room and he never ordered anything in his week long stray there. he was insisting on checking all his bags. Why would someone from a reputed MNC would steal did brochure??!! I asked the house keeping manager who gave me an interesting reply: one can tear of the pages from the brochure and use the outer cover as a folder to keep files!! This is what would happen if you keep someone with no commonsense as a manager. After his rigorous checking went in vein the manager was telling at the hide keeping boy for stealing the brochure. I seriously doubt if he had jotted down his mistress's number in those pages!! :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmeraldHotel, General Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us. Unfortunately we cannot track your name in our records, it would be great if you could send your details at info@theemerald.com so that we can personally look into the matter.

We look forward to hearing from you at the earliest, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My mom and I recently travelled to India for the first time. We booked the hotel for 2 weeks and we even paid for the executive apartment with a king size bed. When we got there we got a room with 2 single beds, the toilet didnt flush and the safe didnt work. At the entrance of the hotel the lighting is horrible and the streets are not paved properly so you feel like you are in a really bad area at night, when the area is fine but because there is no lighting you don't feel very safe.
After one 2 nights we had to switch the the Sea Princess which is across the street.
I have travelled all over the world, ive stayed at hostels and executive suites so I all well experienced with hotels however this was not a good experience at all for the money. For the same money you can stay at a much better hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Keeping in view the options around, it is just ok in comparison. However, the location is good which makes up for it. The breakfast was just fine and staff just ok. But for the location the hotel may not have been able to command such a price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here many times. Great experience. Executive experience. Recommend for business travellers. The breakfast buffet is the best. Great vegetarian food. The bedding was great. The front desk is one of the best I had experienced.

Room Tip: I like second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmeraldHotel, General Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. It's great that you we're happy with the services provided and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had made my reservation 6 months earlier and so got a really good room rate appropriate for the level of service provided by the hotel.

Nice big room with sitting area but the bathroom is a bit squashed as they have slotted in a kitchenette with a huge fridge - rather do away with this and create a nice bathroom! Also would recommend that the hotel removes the huge mats on either side of the bed since they look more like outdoor mats than indoor rugs so I can't see the point of them! Good to see that there were two luggage holders to keep your bags on. Be very careful about using the laundry service as one of the other guests found that although his new shirt came neatly packed and looked ok from the outside but on opening it the sleeves etc had been burnt.

The selection for breakfast changes daily and the breakfasts are very good.

Reception staff don't seem to have much local knowledge of the area and surrounding suburbs which is a shame. When asked what time we should be dropped off to the international airport they insisted we go at least 4 hours early so we don't get stuck in the traffic even though I queried this saying it was a Sunday, to which the response was 'Better then that you wait at the airport!!" Quite bizarre especially when the driver who dropped us also said that there's not much traffic to the airport on Sunday so we reached it in about 25 mins.

Given the number of boutique hotels mushrooming in the Juhu area it will be interesting to see how the new hotel management improves on Emerald's service levels to maintain its competitiveness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmeraldHotel, General Manager at The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, your feedback is important. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and a great experience, staying with us. The main aim of our hotel is to make sure that are customers are not dissatisfied and that they are comfortable.
We will definitely keep your feedback in mind about our staff and the next time you're here, you will have no complaints.
Thank you, once again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good Hotel right near the Beach. Is not a rip off compared to other Hotels. They are constantly trying to improve their Standards and level of Services. Have recently renovated their Rooms and they look good. The service during the Morning Breakfast is Excellent and Prompt. All at the Hotel want to help and are always smiling. Worth the Experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments

Address: Juhu Tara Road | Juhu, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#34 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments has elegantly furnished Superior, Deluxe rooms as well as fully Studio / One / Two Bedroom furnished apartments to offer its guests. It is close to the airports as well the commercial areas of Bombay including the NSE and MMRDA Exhibition Grounds. Juhu Beach is located across the road from the hotel. The Hotel is located in the famous Juhu area which is the happening place of Bombay. The Hotel offers all the standard facilities and amenities to its Guests from the Corporate as well as Leisure segments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, CityZen, Fastbooking, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Emerald - Hotel And Executive Apartments
Mumbai Best Western
Best Western Emerald Mumbai
Hotel Best Western Mumbai
Best Western Hotel Mumbai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Emerald - Hotel & Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.