We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Marine Drive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Marine Drive to your Saves list
InterContinental Marine Drive
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 396 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having stayed in the other hotels at Marine Drive, this is one hotel which has incredible views of the ocean. The most courteous staff who are extremely willing to help,in fact the concierge even made reservation at a popular Mumbai restaurant called Trishna though it was a busy weekend. The in rooms spa was fantastic. the thai restaurant Koh was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel needs a bit of refurbishment the interiors look primitive. Dome is amazing...one should go their in the evening to enjoy the view and the bar. Breakfast is awful..the quality of croissants and the spread does not reflect the spread at Oberoi which is a few meters away and the rooms rates (inc of breakfast)are similar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.Often guests choose not to give this feedback to us and we lose the opportunity to correct our processes and I am truly grateful for the time and effort that you have taken to share this with us.

We have reviewed your comments with the team at the hotel and we are already in the process of refurbishing certain areas for a better guest experience.We thoroughly apologize for the inconvenience that you faced at breakfast and we shall ensure immediate rectification of the same.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements

Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    135
    39
    9
    16
See reviews for
52
109
44
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel! Ideal location for exploring Mumbai, great rooms, helpful staff, lovely pool and the extra special touches which really made our stay special.

Our room was amazing, huge and a fab view of marine drive (the only think was the window was really dirty, but this was the same across India so maybe they don't bother to clean their windows like we do!) the bed was huge and was so comfortable which was just what we needed after a long flight. There were some cookies in the room for us and we each had a complimentary massage which was lovely. The bathroom was also huge and full of lovely smelly products for us to use. You could request different aromatherapy oils to put in oil burner to help you sleep and the chocolates on our bed each night were also a very nice touch.

The front staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the thai resturant in the hotel one night. The food was good but not amazing. The resturant was pretty empty so we have in the undivided attention if our waiter. This got abigail much actually but he was just trying to be good at his job.

The pool is lovely as is the roof top bar. There seemed to be parties on at the roof top bar each night we sated there which meant the pool closed early at 3pm each day which was a shame but we did get get invited to the parties which was fun! Breakfast wasn't up to scratch really. It was standard/ok but we would have expected more from this standard of hotel.

Overall we loved this hotel and would love to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed end of Jan and early Feb. The room was comfortable and clean except maybe they should clean the bathroom/toilet more than just a going over for longer term stayers, we were there for nearly two weeks. The price of drinks are expensive. Quality of the food for breakfast was poor compared to other hotels of this class, ordered the all american hotdog and it looked like a child of 6 could have made it.
Also it looks as rules only apply to some as we were in the corleone for breakfast which is suposed to be non smoking as are all the eating places but one morning there was a man smoking a cigar there, when we questioned the staff we got the response "its OK he is the owner" and the staff seemed embarressed and incapable of asking him to move outside to smoke. Very dissapointing in this day and age.
But overall the service was good friendly although the wait staff at corleone may need more training
The air conditioning seems to go out during early morning possibly to conserve energy but wakes you up hot needing to take covers of

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights in January 2013. The property is well maintained and the room we stayed in was good. The best part of the room, according to my wife, was the separate glass shower and WC enclosures in the bathroom. Reception, housekeeping, room service and laundry were friendly, responsive and generally prompt (except for 2 small problems). The coffee shop and its menu were good, the Indian restaurant had a great view of Marine drive and the sea, and the rooftop bar was nice in the evening. Between the hotel and Churchgate station, which is 1 km from the hotel, there are several well known and reasonably priced restaurants. Further away, along Marine drive or beyond Churchgate are several other decent restaurants. Price wise it is comparable to hotels with similar amenities nearby. So the hotel is our hotel of choice when we have work in South Mumbai.

The (very marginal) downside? No views from any but the top of the line rooms; their one stop "Instant service" sometimes plays truant after 10.00 PM; maintenence (we had a slow running basin outlet) can take more than a day; the airconditioning seems to go off in the wee hours of the morning making the room less than fully comfortable.

Room Tip: We've stayed in three different standard rooms during our three visits. Not much to choose betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

We have taken note of the issues that you faced in regards to the Air conditioning as well as the Instant service.Our sincere apologies for the same and we hope you do not hold this against the hotel.We have also gone ahead and rolled out an even more aggressive preventive maintainance program with our engineering team to avoid such incidents in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

On a hot January evening we pulled up at the Dome, Hotel Intercontinental, Mumbai for a drink at the well appointed terrace lounge. The sea lay, dark and subdued below us and Marine Drive, the Queen's Necklace, gleamed in all its glory. The terrace lounge adjoining the swimming pool was filled with holiday makers from near and far, and many locals. Sofas, candles in glass jars, soft music and the refreshing sea breeze made the evening extra special. Over all,the view, the atmosphere, and the eclectic ambience of the Dome, makes the watering-hole one of the finest anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Arabian sea have great views -specially at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

The Dome is one of the most sought after Sky-bars around the Globe and is also rated as one of the top ten in the world we are extremely happy that you enjoyed your time there.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in November, 2012. Service at the Intercontinental was superb, starting with the driver who met us at the airport. Check in was efficient and painless. On arrival we were escorted directly to our room; our luggage followed shortly and check-in details were completed in our room. The room was spacious and spotless. Breakfast buffet (included), served in Corleone Restaurant, was excellent and featured a variety of food, including several Indian dishes daily plus plenty of standard western fare, including eggs to order. The restaurant staff were extremely courteous, greeted us by name from the second day on nd remembered our preferences. The hotel location right on Marine Drive served us well. Most areas of interest in south Mumbai are within walking distance if you are reasonably fit and not in a hurry. Otherwise, the concierge will flag a cab. The promenade on Marine Drive is a wonderful place for people watching at all hours of the day, but particularly late afternoon and evening as the sun sets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they were extremely happy and delighted to know that you have had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us

Such feedback only enhances their motivation to provide exemplary service to all our guests at the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel is small and intimate. The staff is very polite and accomodating. The security at the entrance is reassuring without being intrusive. The rooms are nice and large with a great view of the Water.

Room Tip: The 03 line seems to be the larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomilRatra, General Manager at InterContinental Marine Drive, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from the Intercontinental Marine Drive.

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback on this forum.We have shared your review with the team at the hotel and they are delighted to know that you found the service up to your expectations and your experience at the hotel was a positive and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future and please do not hesitate to contact me for any further requirements


Warm Regards
Romil Ratra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Marine Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Marine Drive

Address: 135 Marine Drive, Mumbai (Bombay) 400020, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#31 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#38 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Marine Drive 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Marine Drive Mumbai is distinguished by sweeping sea views, intimate surroundings and an address near the Nariman Point business district. A few minutes away are the Gateway of India, Jehangir Art Gallery, St. Thomas Cathedral and the National Centre for the Performing Arts. Nearby Elephanta Caves is a World Heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your InterContinental Marine Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Marine Drive Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)
Intercontinental Hotel Bombay
Intercontinental Bombay
Intercontinental Mumbai Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Marine Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.