We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour to Dharavi” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dharavi

Dharavi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Dharavi like an insider
Top Rated
$15*
and up
Dharavi Slum Small-Group Tour in Mumbai
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tour to Dharavi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Don't go there. Hated the way that the tour guide put such a positive spin on how great all the industries and organisation of the place was. How can people in the 21st century live next to open sewers with no proper sanitation? It was disgusting. I saw a child defecate on the pavement. Men urinate anywhere. Working conditions are cramped, filthy, unlit and hot. It made me really annoyed the way that the tour guide thought it was really good that people had 2 hours of water supply every day! We couldn't take photos. I wonder why?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    24
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is not a place for Tourist to visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Never ever try to visit this place. It is not a place where you can enjoy anything. It is sad that the website has put this under attraction section.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hutments in abundance.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

One of Asia's largest hutment dwellers area. People from different parts of the country and many more who are illegal migrants , stay together, willingly or unwillingly and do some kind of work to earn lively hood to survive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“harsh reality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was happy to have had the chance to visit the Dharavi area in Mumbai. Although it is sad to think that people are living in such conditions, I was happy to see that the people were not starving and that they seemed to adapt and even thrive in a difficult environment. It is an experience that nearly everyone should have the opportunity to live. Our guide from Reality Tours was excellent. He, and almost all of the guides, was raised there and many currently still live there. His insight and sensitivity was invaluable. I would highly recommend going with them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour with 'BeTheLocal' guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It was a very hot and humid day when we went on this tour. We were picked up in an AC car and driven to meet our guide, Hazma, a uni student who has lived here all his life. It was not what I expected at all. It was a place of industry, a place where people lived, worked and went to school. It was huge with about 1 million people living there. It was safe. We walked through the laneways and saw how they would recycle plastics, metals and paper. We now understood where the men carrying sacks on their backs or on push bikes and rickshaws were going. They were collecting recycling products to sell to the recycler who would on-sell to the manufacturer. Very efficient. Everyone needs to work and everyone needs to earn money and this is a perfect blend that helps the environment, because if one place needs help with the environment, it is definitely Mumbai. With so many people living here in one city, there is a lot of trash. We then saw the potters and food stuffs etc and etc. It was amazing to see this city within a city that was a hive of activity. There are schools here where children learn and play. I will do this tour again when I am back in Mumbai. You cannot take photos unless you are given permission. Thank you Hazma.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dharavi also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Dharavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dharavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.