We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JC Chalet

Save Saved
You added JC Chalet to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JC Chalet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Asha Colony, Opposite Hotel Sea Princess | Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Hsinchu, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had ever stayed for 3 nights at this hotel recently, although its room is tight and small, with its price located at downtown Mumbai, it is quite worth than expected. Delicious breakfast ourdoor with fresh air at the back of the building isolated from noise on the street. Very friendly and good serivce from kind staffs. They did help me a lot for everything. I will come back to choose this hotel again next time. The only complaint is to its hot water while taking a shower. It is not hot enought for me although. However I will strongly recommend this hotel to stay anyway...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at JC Chalet Hotel Mumbai and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to receive your encouraging feedback and to learn that the services and facilities have exceeded your expectations. Your review just made our day!

Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom it will be a tremendous source of inspiration.

Thank you for recommending JC Chalet Mumbai to all your friends and acquaintances. We look forward to your continued visits and to welcoming you back. We absolutely loved taking care of you and your entire group from Taiwan. We tried our level best to make it a home away from home.

Please come and stay with us again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    22
    9
    20
See reviews for
23
24
21
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here with very obliging staff. Its a small space but really cozy. The breakfast is basic since its a budget space.Will surely stay here the next time I am in Mumbai! Thaks staff!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at JC Chalet Hotel, Mumbai and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

The team is delighted to receive such feedback as it is very inspiring for all of us. Thank you for recognizing our hard working staff. We have added fresh fruits in addition to a few other scrumptious items to our daily breakfast offerings.

It is feedback from our wonderful guests that helps us become better.

The team and I hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The rooms are a tad bit on the small side but the staff here is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is secluded from the noise and chaos of the main road and is right across the road from Juhu Beach which is just the place to unwind over a glass of wine,

We were given complimentary breakfast daily , the hotel has free wi-fi and their van picked us from the airport and dropped us back there. We also used their van to take us into South Bombay for sightseeing for a very nominal charge. The property is very unique and clean. Close to the airports and lots of really good restaurants within walking distance.

We are scheduled to come back in January upon our return from Kashmir. Looking forward to it. Cheers.

Room Tip: We were in 303 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at JC Chalet Hotel, Mumbai and for sparing your precious time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay and that the overall services exceeded your expectations. It is always a thrill to begin our daily staff briefing with a glowing guest review. It just made our day!

The team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calicut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If I were a hippie way back in the sixties, I would probably have loved this hotel. But I am not a hippie of the sixties and so I didn't exactly love it.
The hotel promised airport pick-up and drop and this they did efficiently. +1 to them, though now they offer only pick-up. That is one attraction gone.
The immediate impression as one enters the hotel and proceeds to one's room is akin to what Gulliver must have felt as he encountered Lilliput. Everything is down-sized. The rooms are tiny, with just about enough space for a bed. There is nowhere to sit other than the bed. I asked for a chair and was provided with one of Lilliputian proportions; but I found it difficult to find space for it. The bathroom is so small that sitting on the toilet, you have to be a contortionist if you want to clean your bottom.
There are more problems. The electronic keys don't work and so they have to use manual keys which they keep with themselves since they have no spare. The AC doesn't cool. The Iranian restaurant that is boasted about in the website turned out to be an open terrace with nothing other than tea or coffee available.
The saving grace was the staff who though inexperienced, were polite and tried to be helpful despite the odds stacked against them.
For the price charged, this hotel is appaling. It is words like 'Heist' and 'Scam' that come to mind. catchphrases like 'Boutique hotel' should not mislead in such blatant manner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community.

It would be a pleasure if I could speak to you over phone to understand your experience even better. I would be very happy to call you at a time convenient to you.

Your detailed feedback helps us understand, learn and improve and at the same time some of your most wonderful comments about our staff make us feel very proud of our team. There is great merit in learning from your experience.

We dropped the ball. Period. There are no excuses and the buck stops with me. We should have offered you a bigger suite.

I have met with the entire hotel team to share your experience and all of us are committed to rectify the opportunities you have listed. We have reinforced our standards in all these areas.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance that I may be of. We hope you stay with us in the near future and allow us to deliver exceptional hospitality and a great experience.

Best Regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director

Golden Lily Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at JC Chalet. The place is very clean, their chef Mr.Pawan was a gem and all the staff we encountered was very good. We have religious diet restrictions and requested Jain food which was accommodated by the hotel without a hitch.

You will not find a friendlier staff and a cleaner, well appointed hotel in Bombay, that too by the beach at this price. We also got a discount by booking on booking.com.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us at JC Chalet Hotel, Mumbai and thank you for sharing your review through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay. Your comments about the hotel and the team are very motivating.

My team and I, look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Our travel agent booked us here for a family wedding and we arrived after an exhausting 18 hour flight from Newark. They had their van (complimentary airport pick up) and driver waiting at the airport. We were whisked to the hotel within 15 minutes - it is a nice cozy european style bed & breakfast type hotel.

First the negative - the rooms are a bit on the small side, but in one of the world's most expensive city - it is to be expected.

Now the positives - Complimentary airport pick up, complimentary bottled spring water, toiletories, satellite TV with every channel possible for the kids, flat screen LCD tv's, made to order breakfast by their chef, beaufiful cafe' with a fountain, free WI-FI internet throughout the hotel, sparkling clean, very friendly staff, located bang opposite the beach, close to all the shopping, beach, consulate - you get the idea. It's a really good value for what you pay. Can't go wrong here.

I highly recommend this place. Ask for Mr. Ghanshyam the Manager - he was very friendly and made us feel at home......

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 on the highest floor - it was overlooking a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at JC Chalet, Mumbai and for sharing your views through TripAdvisor.

We are all delighted to receive your feedback and to learn that you will always choose to stay with us when you visit Mumbai. Your feedback is very inspiring and motivating for the team.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to JC Chalet, Mumbai, in the not too distant future.

Thank you,

Warm regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived in Mumbai the day after the death of a prominent political figure and the city was essentially shut down, no taxis or autorickshaws running. This hotel offers complimentary airport pickup but despite plenty of advance notice of our arrival nobody was at the airport to meet us. After a phone call to the hotel manager we were told to get a taxi and the hotel would pay. A reasonable compromise in most circumstances but there were no taxis. We informed the hotel and they claimed that given the situation they could not send the hotel van. This was despite the fact that other hotels had sent transport for their guest and there were a number of private vehicles on the road. Another phone call and we were told we were on our own and to get there as best we could. Entirely by good luck and at considerable expense we did eventually get to the hotel. Our room was small and windowless but aircon and adequate as a place to sleep. The restaurant, if you could call it that, is very basic as is breakfast although the staff there tries hard. On the one evening that we dined there they simply sent out to a local restaurant for takeaway meals and added about 20% to the bill. Staff on the front desk is also very unhelpful. The other problem is that to hotel is at Juhu beach which means about a 1 hour taxi trip each way to the city centre at a cost of 750-1000 rupees. In the hotels defense they did provide a complimentary airport transfer when we left provided we were able to fit in with their schedule but the fact remains that when we arrived and their help was really needed absolutely none was forthcoming.
There is no way I would recommend this hotel. Look for a better option closer to the city centre even if it costs a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCCHALET, Managing Director at JC Chalet, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Unfortunately, the day you arrived in Bombay happened to be the day that the biggest political leader in these parts passed away as you correctly mentioned. It translated into the perfect storm to hit the city. Fearing violence against vehicles on the roads, the police shut down the entire city and issued a curfew, as a result of which we were unable to pick you up.

We did offer you a complimentary drop off once things in the city got back to normal which you availed. Regarding our food, it is all prepared by our chefs made to order in our own restaurant unless you order food that is off our menu, which might have been the case here.

Thank you for recognizing that our staff was helpful. We wish you had stayed with us under normal circumstances. Should you be in our neck of the woods again, please ask for me. I will personally make sure you are treated like royalty.

Best Regards,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JC Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JC Chalet

Address: 6 Asha Colony, Opposite Hotel Sea Princess | Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 364 hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — JC Chalet 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In city centerThis hotel is located in Mumbai (Mumbai Suburban District), close to the beach, Juhu Beach, Prithvi Theatre, and ISKCON Temple. Local attractions also include Shoppers Stop and Rishi Dayaram National College.Breakfast includedJC Chalet offers a complimentary buffet breakfast. Other amenities include a coffee shop/café, complimentary wireless Internet access, and 24-hour room service.32-inch LCD TVsLCD televisions come with satellite channels. Guestrooms also feature complimentary wireless Internet access, air conditioning, and safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your JC Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JC Chalet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.