We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Eco-Haven in Powai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai to your Saves list
Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Central Avenue Hiranandani Gardens | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400076, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A little Eco-Haven in Powai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is very good for a business hotel. Rooms were very spacious with lots of storage space and the King bed very comfortable (there is even a pillow menu). Bathrooms are very spacious and modern with great water pressure for showers and plenty of useful amenities.
Breakfast can be a little chaotic and not too much fruit or western style food when I was there.
Dinner is OK and both buffet and al a carte have good selection - room menu is the same one.
Spa is not great and is a steam room with massage room - which is worth having to revive tired muscles from travelling. The bar is good and has nice drinks selection to relax with after dinner. The best part of the hotel for me was the staff who are both very polite and attentive with nothing being a problem for them. The hotel is very well appointed and has a Bollywood feel in the evening. They make the stay very relaxing and enjoyable. The security attention at the hotel is very high and everyone is scanned entering the hotel so it makes for a comfortable feeling. looking forward to my return next year.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for room to the rear as tooting of horns and traffic can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice.

It is our pleasure to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. Your appreciation is most encouraging and will be shared with the whole team. This will surely motivate them to keep up the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hotel Meluha The Fern ,Mumbai

Warm Regards
Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    90
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
11
7
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here only one full night, and two half nights (due to the ever so practical flight arrival and departure times). The room was good, clean; what you would expect from a five star.

Not that good however were two things:
1. Internet. wifi was slow and often not working. As alternative there is a cable connection available in every room. For each day they charge you for average speed internet the same as the real cost of high speed internet for a whole quarter. Not good.
2. Do not disturb. I arrived at 7 AM and needed to catch up on sleep. Not very nice if you then get a phone call at 11 AM to double check whether you really don't wish to be disturbed ?!?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the comfort of the room, at Meluha-The Fern,Mumbai.

We thank you for your understanding and appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. I hope you can accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered in the hotel. Please be assured that the feedback is being looked into and appropriate action and training is given to the staff for any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

We look forward to your return visit to experience an uplifting experience with us at Meluha-The Fern Hotel, Mumbai.


Warm Regards

Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern,Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rambouillet, France
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is located in the outskirts of Mumbai, in a nice and (relatively) quiet environment. Nice room, well equipped, free internet connection at reasonable speed (higher speed is available, but charged). The service is excellent. Restaurant is good. Overall, it’s the kind of hotel where you feel relax and comfortable after a day in the busy, noisy and dirty Mumbai.
So, this is a good choice, at a reasonable price (about 120 € including breakfast) for a business trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for posting your review about your experience at Meluha The Fern Hotel, Mumbai.

I’m happy to note you had a pleasant stay and have left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

One of the best ecotel hotels in prime area of Mumbai i.e. Powai. All the materials used in the hotel are fixed considering that it will cause less / negligible damage to Environment. That's why its ecotel hotel.

Room Tip: Overall rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experiences with us. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Meluha The Fern Hotel.

Warm Regards

Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have now stayed with Meluha several times and the last one was for 2 days in Sept, 2013. Its a great business hotel, with very prompt service, a good quality restaurant and an extremely convinient location if you office is in Powai. Very well appointed rooms, good breakfast is what i love about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Greetings from Meluha- The Fern!!

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the service and facilities. The team is delighted to receive your encouraging feedback.

Your generous words of praise have been shared with the entire Meluha team for whom it will be truly inspiring.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Thank you,

Warm Regards

Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I just checked out yesterday and returned to my home country. On the 1st day I asked the counter staff how much is the taxi fare to my desired destination. I was told 250 rupees. I agreed as it's my first time to India. To cut the story short, the actual fare according to the locals was only 20 - 50 rupees. The hotel staff took the money, paid some rupees to the taxi driver and pocketed the rest right in front of me! It was too late for me to do anything as I had already boarded the taxi. I could have gave Meluha a Very Good, but when one staff is at fault, the entire management is to be blame as well. BTW, my room is 321, remember that.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sparing your time in giving your valuable feedback.

As discussed over our telephonic conversation today, the duty manager had with you and informed you that there is a fixed minimum charge with various rate parameters as per the destination by the cool cabs, with a minimum charge of Rs 250/- within the radius of 5 kms which was duly informed during your query for booking of the cool cab & same was acceptable by your kind self.

We at Meluha-The Fern, believe in rendering our best services to our esteemed guests & ensure that their stay is memorable.

On behalf of the Meluha team, I feel privileged to gain your understanding on the said so incident, and do assure you of our best services in future as always.

On your next visit, it would be great if you can spare some moments and permit me to meet you in person.

Please contact me should you have any further cause for concern as my team & I will be glad to assist you.


Warm Regards

Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcete
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Meluha is an execellent hotel. The service is superb and the hospitality is unparalleled !
I highly appreciate this hotel and its staff -they are the best in my view !

I fall short of words in admiring their dedication and the professionalism of this hotel and its staff !

Room Tip: Incase you want a morning view of the Central Avenue ask for the rooms facing this street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renu M, Executive Assistant Manager at Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experiences with us. Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Meluha The Fern Hotel.

Warm Regards

Renu Menghrajani
Executive Assistant Manager
Meluha The Fern, Mumbai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai

Address: Central Avenue Hiranandani Gardens | Powai, Mumbai (Bombay) 400076, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#18 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meluha The Fern is one of finest upscale hotels in Mumbai. Boasting of being the first five-star hotel in Hirandani Powai, Meluha is bench marking new standards in Hospitality. All the 141 rooms and suites feature most contemporary luxuries and ensure that guests get customized services. Look forward to a pampering experience here at Meluha The Fern. Well connected to most places in Mumbai, Meluha The Fern is within convenient reach from the International Airport and most other important areas in the city. A luxury hub, the hotel is ideal to be your base when you are in Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meluha The Fern Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meluha The Fern - An Ecotel Hotel, Mumbai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.