We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try in Mumbai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China House

China House
Grand Hyatt, Off Western Express Highway | Santacruz East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400066, India
+91 66761234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 6,776 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Szechuan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try in Mumbai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Amazing combination of restaurant & pub. Great way to complete your day with good food & then great music/crowd.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    49
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Chinese, just like the sister restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I have written a review of "Beijing Kitchen" at Grand Hyatt Macau, and also dined in "Made In China" at the Grand Hyatt Beijing, so really knew what I was in for when coming to this restaurant. I was not disappointed. A very familiar design, layout and menu were welcoming elements of this restaurant.

The food was great. The menu does focus a little more on Sichuan style dishes, but i love that! Delivering a truly authentic Chinese menu outside of China is not an easy task and the restaurant has done this well.

Spinach with sesame and Sichuan style chicken were delicious for appetisers. We also had fired lotus root stuffed with potato that was divine. Main course was chilli squid, Sichuan style fried chicken, vegetables and seafood fried rice. I didn't get to try the Beijing Duck this time, but the wood fired oven and set-up is just like the other Hyatt restaurants. I'm sure it would have been lovely.

Overall a great dining experience!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Numero Uno for Chinese Food in Mumbai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was my third trip to China House in Grand Hyatt, Mumbai and the place continues to amaze me with their food. I had promised my family a different experience given my earlier visits and the verdict from them was "yes, absolutely the best Chinese in Mumbai."

Reservations are recommended in this place and you have an option between sitting out (non/AC) and AC. The outdoor seating has a very good ambiance but is not recommended during the summer months - in Bombay, that leaves you say December and January to sit outside.

They have a great dimsum station and the starters are yummy. I am not going to name the dishes as any dish you order is good.

The speciality of this place is the Peking Duck and you need to give the at least an hour to cook. We thought about it but deferred it for the next visit.

The portions are huge and so keep that in mind while ordering dishes. A portion of rice can easily fill four people reasonably.

A great experience.

The downside is that it leaves a gaping hole in your pocket - so the quality comes at a cost!!!

Advisable to go to the place for special occassions unless you are in a mood to splurge!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The best authentic chinese restaurant in Mumbai...Must try the veg pot stickers / sichuan wontons in spicy broth / cucumber salad with black bean....The food there is consistently excellent...A must visit for everyone who loves chinese....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balitmore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Didn't expect to find such good Chinese food in Mumbai, but very impressive and a great change of pace after many meals of Indian food. Only down side the chairs are really uncomfortable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.