We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, great rooms but lacks the edge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) to your Saves list
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   SAB TV Road, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase 20% Off
Ranked #17 of 389 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good service, great rooms but lacks the edge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent location for airports and much of the new financial districts. Rooms are of an excellent standard and size with a bit of quirkiness. The service from the experienced staff is top rate but the more junior staff are hesitant and don't always understand. Food is generally excellent but I found the breakfast disappointing. Also we had a bad experience with room service at breakfast time where the order ended up wrong and cold. However the mistakes should not detract from an aggregate good package. One last comment the hotels pricing is darting to stray into the five star bracket... The hotel has somewhere to go to match the service and facilities of many of the five star hotels in Mumbai.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    51
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
25
15
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have organised our resellers meet in Svenska design hotel banquet Andheri, the set up of banquet was perfect and the service provided by them was just amazing. Our reseller meet happend successfuly and I got appriciated for organising it, so I give credit to Svenska as well for our reseller meet success.
Atul Silhare- WEP SOLUTIONS LTD. Mumbai

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

i went to official trip to Mumbai and stayed there couple of days. My room was nice and large.The hotel is conveniently located center of the city. The service is excellent. The breakfast is great and available verity of menu's. i am very satisfied with their service. overall am very happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great food n ambiance ... everything cooked to perfection...
Excellent staff too.. we found the front office manager very friendly n helpful ... I think his name was Roy...
Can't wait to come there again
cheers to you guys.... keep up the great work ...

- a happy n very satisfied customer

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Another good experience and satisfaction. Awesome choice of spread...very good staff, this time for sure ambience was perfect...Really good and word of mouth will be provided accordingly. Keep it up :). Will see you soon.
Regards,
Kinjal Parekh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

our experience at svenska was really gud. food ambience n service all was excellent team cooperation. party really rocked coz of all cooperation by staff , n their service. quite satisfied with our overall experience

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had come on my birthday along with my friends for lunch must say it was a very good place with equally good food and service. The staff is very help full and good at what they do. All in all it was a good experience and value for money.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay)

Address: SAB TV Road, Off Link Road | Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate, Andheri West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400053, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#16 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#17 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#20 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#35 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svenska Design Hotels are a collection of luxury boutique designer lifestyle hotels from Sweden, part of the Worldhotels 5-star Deluxe Collection. The chic and trendy hotel has various food & beverage offerings, including French-style Bistro for all-day-dining; Delicatessen offering fresh breads, bakes & confectionery; specialty Mediterranean fine-dining restaurant; Tapas bar with inventive cocktails and beverages; rooftop al-fresco Indian specialty restaurant & bar; and conferencing/ banqueting facilities.Focused on highly personalized guest experiences, Svenska offers plethora of complimentary guest services, including:- 24x7 Private Butler Service- High-speed WI-FI Internet across the property- Welcome Drink on Arrival- Breakfast- In-room Spa Treatments (Daily 20mins massage)- High Thread-count Egyptian Cotton Linen- Top-end Crabtree & Evelyn Toiletries- Access to Swimming Pool and Fitness Centre- Two Bottles of Mineral Water- Tea-Coffee Making Facility. All these are completely free-of-charge. In addition, each room has 40" Sony TVs and DVD players with a collection of movies-on-demand. Fully-stocked Mini-bar, IPod Docking Stations and Mood Lighting are also standard features in every room. Various other gadgets are also available complimentary on-request, including IPads, Sony PS3 and Nintendo WII gaming consoles with selection of games, and much more. Svenska Mumbai is located in the heart of Lokhandwala Complex amidst North Mumbai's largest, commercial and residential district of Andheri West, Versova, Oshiwara, Malad and Juhu. The hotel is at a walking distance from the Ambani Hospital, leading Bollywood studios, shopping malls, multiplexes, bars, restaurants and coffee shops. It is located 5km from Andheri Railway Station and 8km from Chhatrapati Shivaji Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay) Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svenska Design Hotel, Mumbai (Bombay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.